We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and relaxing.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Martins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnydene Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and relaxing.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We are just back two weeks today from our second visit to the Sunnydene. We had a really lovely time and a number of factors contributed to this. Aside from great luck with the weather there was the customary warmth and efficiency of Betty and Tony to ensure everything went smoothly. We had some really tasty dishes from the chef Miguel and the staff are all friendly and pleasant. We really liked the poolside room, it feels lovely and quiet and private. It was my eighth visit to the island and ive stayed in three different hotels over the years but the Sunnydene is my favourite. The combination of peace and quiet, friendliness and good food makes it a real winner. On friday evening last we were wishing we could beam ourselves back there for the weekend!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank roseblago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The second visit to this wonderful hotel, this time we took friends with us. Tony and Betty the perfect hosts, were again warm and welcoming. The food was perfect, all of which seemed to be locally sourced and I am sure tasted even better because of it. The gardens and pool were a welcome haven after a day out and about walking the stunning coast and country lanes. As it was one of our friends birthday while out there, the chef made a beautiful chocolate birthday cake which looked as good as it tasted, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

I very much doubt that our second visit will be our last!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Sunnydene again this August (2013) and had a super time. We have stayed at the hotel for many years and Betty and Tony are such wonderful people who make you very welcome and their hospitality is to a very high standard. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the meals are excellent with a varied choice of menu for both breakfast and evening dinner. We will return.
Keith & Margaret
Batley, West Yorkshire

Room Tip: All rooms are good with the 'Garden Rooms' being alongside the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

my wife and I together with my brother in law ,sister in law and friends enjoyed a fantastic ten day holiday in this lovely hotel in late July 2013.We are still dieting to lose the extra pounds we put on due to the really lovely meals we ate during our stay. From the full English breakfast or poached egg on Haddock, ( plus lots of other choices ) to the wonderful three course evening meals where the menu catered for all tastes and was very varied and delicious , we couldn't find fault. it was all expertly cooked and served speedily and always hot. The hosts Betty and Tony are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet and nothing is to much trouble for them. The hotel is spotlessly clean, with great gardens, a pool, ample our door seating and even an 18 hole putting green, by the way my lowest score was 45 strokes, so there's a challenge for you. The hotel is conveniently place, and the bus stops directly opposite. One slight down side of the island this year is that the bus company has changed and fares have doubled from £1 to £2, but do what we did and purchase on the bus a weekly travel pass for £18 and you will save a small fortune. This was our second visit to this hotel and undoubtedly we will return. Malcolm and Gill', Northampton. England.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at Sunnydene and wish it could have been longer. Tony and Betty were very friendly hosts who could not do enough to make sure that we were comfortable. Our room, in the front of the hotel, was very clean and comfortable, and the dinner menu was excellent and changed every day. Our only problem was the choice of "seasonal vegetables" which remained the same every day. The gardens were beautifully kept and it would have been a pleasure to spend some time relaxing in them if our weather had been better. We had a great time and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our 3rd stay at the Sunnydene and we went with 2 other couples, family and friends. Warm welcome from both Betty and Tony for whom nothing is to much trouble. They even remembered that we prefer blankets instead of a duvet from our trip last year. Always ready to do anything they can to make our stay enkoyable. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs can be difficult for those with walking problems as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I went to Sunnydene for a week, we had a lovely time. Our rooms were excellent, clean and well serviced daily. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom.. The hotel is run by the owners, Tony and Betty, who set very high standards of service and cleanliness. The menu for breakfast was wonderful and also for dinner where they were changed each day, and there was plenty to choose from. They have a very good chef, the food was lovely. Always arrived hot and presented well.
The only thing I was disappointed with was the cold water in the pool. It looked very attractive, but I put my toe in and it was freezing. I had hope to go in, but couldn't brave it!!
We were so lucky to have beautiful weather for our week
I hope to go again sometime in the next year. I certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a single room, no 4, on the first floor, overlooking the car park, which was OK as I wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Martins
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydene Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydene Country Hotel

Property: Sunnydene Country Hotel
Address: Sunnydene Country Hotel Rue des Marettes, St Martins GY4 6JH
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnydene Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sunnydene Country Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing