We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnydene Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The second visit to this wonderful hotel, this time we took friends with us. Tony and Betty the perfect hosts, were again warm and welcoming. The food was perfect, all of which seemed to be locally sourced and I am sure tasted even better because of it. The gardens and pool were a welcome haven after a day out and about walking the stunning coast and country lanes. As it was one of our friends birthday while out there, the chef made a beautiful chocolate birthday cake which looked as good as it tasted, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

I very much doubt that our second visit will be our last!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Sunnydene again this August (2013) and had a super time. We have stayed at the hotel for many years and Betty and Tony are such wonderful people who make you very welcome and their hospitality is to a very high standard. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the meals are excellent with a varied choice of menu for both breakfast and evening dinner. We will return.
Keith & Margaret
Batley, West Yorkshire

Room Tip: All rooms are good with the 'Garden Rooms' being alongside the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

my wife and I together with my brother in law ,sister in law and friends enjoyed a fantastic ten day holiday in this lovely hotel in late July 2013.We are still dieting to lose the extra pounds we put on due to the really lovely meals we ate during our stay. From the full English breakfast or poached egg on Haddock, ( plus lots of other choices ) to the wonderful three course evening meals where the menu catered for all tastes and was very varied and delicious , we couldn't find fault. it was all expertly cooked and served speedily and always hot. The hosts Betty and Tony are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet and nothing is to much trouble for them. The hotel is spotlessly clean, with great gardens, a pool, ample our door seating and even an 18 hole putting green, by the way my lowest score was 45 strokes, so there's a challenge for you. The hotel is conveniently place, and the bus stops directly opposite. One slight down side of the island this year is that the bus company has changed and fares have doubled from £1 to £2, but do what we did and purchase on the bus a weekly travel pass for £18 and you will save a small fortune. This was our second visit to this hotel and undoubtedly we will return. Malcolm and Gill', Northampton. England.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at Sunnydene and wish it could have been longer. Tony and Betty were very friendly hosts who could not do enough to make sure that we were comfortable. Our room, in the front of the hotel, was very clean and comfortable, and the dinner menu was excellent and changed every day. Our only problem was the choice of "seasonal vegetables" which remained the same every day. The gardens were beautifully kept and it would have been a pleasure to spend some time relaxing in them if our weather had been better. We had a great time and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our 3rd stay at the Sunnydene and we went with 2 other couples, family and friends. Warm welcome from both Betty and Tony for whom nothing is to much trouble. They even remembered that we prefer blankets instead of a duvet from our trip last year. Always ready to do anything they can to make our stay enkoyable. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs can be difficult for those with walking problems as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynden13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I went to Sunnydene for a week, we had a lovely time. Our rooms were excellent, clean and well serviced daily. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom.. The hotel is run by the owners, Tony and Betty, who set very high standards of service and cleanliness. The menu for breakfast was wonderful and also for dinner where they were changed each day, and there was plenty to choose from. They have a very good chef, the food was lovely. Always arrived hot and presented well.
The only thing I was disappointed with was the cold water in the pool. It looked very attractive, but I put my toe in and it was freezing. I had hope to go in, but couldn't brave it!!
We were so lucky to have beautiful weather for our week
I hope to go again sometime in the next year. I certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a single room, no 4, on the first floor, overlooking the car park, which was OK as I wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our first stay at Sunnydene for 5 nights was wonderfully relaxing and peaceful. The hosts were so attentive and the hotel was immaculate. We paid slightly more for a garden view, ground floor room at the back and it was roomy, clean and warm (the weather not being very warm). We had a twin with large, comfy beds and I have never slept in a quieter place.
We had booked B & B but decided to have all our evening meals in the Sunnydene and enjoyed the excellent food throughout the week. If you book half-board in advance you can save on the daily set menu price.
The hosts were welcoming from the start and because we were early and our room hadn't been cleaned, Betty provided a complimentary coffee and biscuits in the lounge while we waited. Nothing was too much trouble and Betty ensured that rooms were maintained to the highest standard.
A bus to town stopped outside and other buses ran along the main road from the airport, 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are ground floor and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenandnetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydene Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydene Country Hotel

Address: Sunnydene Country Hotel Rue des Marettes, St Martin GY4 6JH
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnydene Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sunnydene Country Hotel Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing