We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
106
28
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
28
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomputting greenthe busnothing is too much troublechef miguelpoolside roomirish couplerelaxing holidaystayed for two weeksbreakfast and evening mealhalf pricelovely hotelhome from homeroom was spotlesschose half boardthoroughly enjoyed our staygreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 135 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well what can we say, our stay at Sunnydene was an absolute joy. From the moment we stepped through the front door to the moment we said goodbye at the end of our 10 days there.
Our room was sadly overlooking the kitchen, at the side but it was a great room and someone has to have rooms like this. The room was very well laid out, we had a very big bed and very comfortable it was. We both usually suffer from backache with beds other than ours, but we had 9 nights in it and no aches.There was more that enough room for our clothes and plenty of coat hangers. It makes a change for the heating to be on in hotels, but we were always warm, especially as the evenings were cold. Oh my the shower was fantastic, I just stood under it for ages, it was a real power shower, so much so I didnt want to get out of it. The tea & coffee were always filled up on a daily basis, and fresh towels daily if needed.
The food was superb, I loved the way the Chef put his own twist on some of the meals, especially the sweets.There was only 1 night I came out of the dinning room unsatisfied, I think I made a wrong meal choice, and I think it was chefs night off too.The 1 pudding that I think didnt work was the chocolate pot with homemade shortbread, it was like eating chocolate spread out of the jar, it was too sickly, but I still managed to eat it all!!!! The staff were lovely, and it didnt take them long to get to grips with who had tea and who had coffee.
We took our car on holiday with us, but didnt use it much, we did loads of walking and Sunnydene was a good base to set of from and to do a circular route. The buses altered when we were there, but we did the circular route of the island on the Saturday as they changed the day after, a great way to see the Island and get to grips where places are.
I would recommend anyone to go over to Sark, we had a great day out there, the views were stunning, if you hire a bike you see nearly all the island too.
I like small hotels like the Sunnydene as you get more personal service, and Betty and Tony certainly made our holiday a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The majority of all the recent reviews are spot on. This is rated a 3 star 'small' hotel, but is definitely a 5 star in disguise. We have stayed in so called 5 star hotels which don' t match up to this one. Tony and Betty are, as everyone else says, excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel itself is spotless, tastefully decorated and furnished, and in no way tired, as a lot of smaller hotels tend to be. The room my wife and I had overlooked the (heated) swimming pool, and was very clean with an exceptionally comfortable king sized bed.
We had booked on a B & B basis with the intention of going out to eat as we like to try out different restaurants. However, having decided to eat in the hotel on our first night, we were so impressed with the comfortable restaurant, service and especially the food that we never ate out once! We are relatively small eaters so we didn't opt for the 3 course menu (it would appear that most of our fellow guests were on full board) but instead chose a main course off the a la carte. Every meal was superb and we could not fault anything.
We especially liked the fact that we were able to have a pre meal drink in the relaxing bar before Tony took the meal order. There was a comfortable wait before Betty came through with a tray to take our drinks and show us to our table. Small touches but very welcome.
We wouldn't look for anywhere else to stay on Guernsey if ever we go back.

A word of warning. The bus routes and numbers were changed one week before our arrival. The only bus that stops outside the Hotel is the 81, and the only bus that now goes to the Airport is the 11. All the buses always end up at the terminus in St Peters Port except the 111 which plies its trade between Pleinmount and The Bridge. Also we discovered that if you are waiting for a bus anywhere on the island around 3pm then the routed buses can suddenly change to a school bus and fly past you at the stops! Finally tourists can no longer buy an Ormer card, every trip is £2 (not £1 as for locals) regardless of distance. We bought a travel card for £19 each, which was excellent value as we would have spent £80 had we purchased a ticket every time we boarded a bus. Even the locals were confused as to what bus went where and at what time as were, we think, some of the drivers!! Once you get the hang of it though it's a great way to see the island!

Room Tip: We appeared to have the only room actually in the hotel which overlooked the swimming pool. Reckon this was probably the best view on the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sunnydene is an amazing place, the hosts are great and the food even better. Nothing is too much trouble for them and you just feel like you are going home each time that you arrive.
Breakfast is something else and not for the feighntgearted!

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had our return to Guernsey, after an absence of 22 years at the end of September this year. As with most of the summer the weather was dissapointing but the accomodation was much maore than hoped for.
The atmosphere was warm friendly and the food was excellent. Breakfasts were both traditionla and lighter contimnental as you wished with a very good choice in both respects. My wife doesn't eat meat but there was always an excellent choice of evening meal with both fish and vegetarian courses every night.
Most of the guests had been there on several occaisions previously and this always speaks well of a hotel.
With a bus stop directly outside the holtel plus a short walk to get you onto the circular bus route round the island hiring a car was virtually unnecessary.
Other than the somewhat inclement weather we had a truly great holiday. And come to think of it it didn't rain all day every day.

Room Tip: There is a choice of in the main building, where we stayed, or by the outdoor pool. AAccess for wheelchairs is available on the ground floor of the main building and all the rooms by the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisLee1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After a 20 year absence we decided to visit Guernsey again and after looking at the various hotels on the internet we chose to stay at Sunnydene Country Hotel in St Martins. What a wonderful choice this was. It is one of the best hotels we have visited. In addition to being very well run, spotlessly clean, has an excellent bar, large comfortable lounges, etc, etc, it has one of the best chefs on the Island. His three course meals, which have multiple choices, are to die for and although we originally booked B&B we quickly changed this to the half board equivalent for most of the holiday. Without going on too much, his breakfasts are excellent and cooked both to perfection and to individual preferences. Needless to say we have already booked in again for next September and this time it will be half board all the way. It even has it's own 18 hole putting green!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews