We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
106
28
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
28
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomputting greenthe busnothing is too much troublechef miguelpoolside roomrelaxing holidaystayed for two weekslovely hotelbreakfast and evening mealhome from homeroom was spotlesschose half boardthoroughly enjoyed our staygreat hostsoverlooked the gardenswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 135 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was our first trip to Guernsey and we simply could not have chosen a better hotel. Tony & Betty were excellent and their personal attention was much appreciated.

We spent a good deal of our week holiday walking. The Sunnydene is well placed being less than 15 minutes from the coastal path. Betty was very helpful in explaining the local bus system which proved to be invaluable. In fact we did not bother to hire a car. We set off in the morning along the path, always finding a good cafe or bistro for some lunch, then when we tired hopped on the bus for a ride into St Peter Port. It was again a simple and straightforward bus ride home. That said we did walk back from town one day, Tony greeting us with a very welcome pint of the local Bailiwick.

We originally chose half board, just in case. We actually stayed to dine each evening as the menu was good value and the range of dishes available kept us busy.

The evenings were spent getting to know the other guests, discovering that some had been returning for a number of years such was their delight with the Sunnydene. There was always a good mix of people from the UK and the Continent-plenty of stories and trips out to share.

The room was compact yet not too small. Enough space to move round. We both slept very well as the bed was so comfortable. The en-suite is modern and a great relief after a days walking.

We had only booked for the week and walked the whole coastal path (except the Samson to St Peter Port stretch) There are many places we did not get to see and we are already planning a return trip to Guernsey and YES we will be booking the Sunnydene again.

Simply excellent, well done Tony and Betty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sleep_deprived_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A very comfortable week in a friendly and welcoming hotel. Betty & Tony made us feel very much at home and nothing was too much trouble. If we ever return to Guernsey in the near future we would certainly book into the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubytuesday40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Enjoyed a weeks relaxation and being looked after by Tony & Betty. Very clean rooms with all facilities. Food excellent with good choice both for Breakfast & Dinner. Pool warm and also enjoyed the putting, even when in the rough( almost every hole!)
The countyside location was ideal for walking and the islands bus services very good for exploring. Bus stop outside hotel which goes to St. Peterport and you can easily link up with other destinations to see a lot of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I visited this hotel with my brother who had visited the island several times previously . It was my first visit and we both agreed that the accomodation and friendly service could hardly be bettered. Tony and Betty could not have been more attentive and helpful to us and went out of their way to cater for our advanced years. My brother is 86 and finds stairs difficult so he was allocated a room on the ground floor, ( a double room with no supplement charged). The food was excellent .and the staff courteous and helpful. It was clear to us that both Tony and Betty,with their Irish charm , take a personal delight in making the stay of each and every guest,an experienc to be treasured.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry-allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

A friendly welcome from Tony and Betty greeted us on our arrival but I have to say I was slightly disappointed with the room. Whether the rooms are different in size I don't know but ours was on the small size, not the smallest I've ever stayed in but certainly could have done with some more room. The shower/toilet was also very compact and the shaver socket on the side of the mirror was so close to the wall that you couldn't use it. By the end of our stay I was also starting to get a bit fed up with the background music in the restaurant.
On the plus side however were the breakfasts - a good choice of cooked items - all cooked to order plus a choice of cereals, fruit and breads. The room itself was spotlessly clean and the garden is nice to look at. Plenty of information and good advice from the owners about what to see and where to go.
It's on a bus route (6S and 6AS) so handy if you haven't got a car but the only downside is that the last bus back from St Peter Port is 2045.
Bottom line - would I stay here again - possibly but only if a bigger room was available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews