We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Returning for a stay we were welcomed like old friends nothing was to much trouble the staff even remembered some of our likes and dislikes. It was like retuning home this visit we stayed in one off the chalets very spacious and comfortable a real good nights sleep. We shall certainly be returning again hopefully in May next year can't, wait

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Seeing guests come back is always a pleasure as we know we must be doing OK, and usually things are better than they were the last time the guest was here as we are improoving all the time,

Look forward to seeing you again in May

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable week at the Wayside Cheer from 18th August.
The outside of the hotel gives a somewhat misleading impression of the hotel we felt. However, the rooms were very clean and functional and were fine for our purposes.
The big plus point for us was the friendliness of the staff who were all very helpful , even to the extent of arranging some flowers for my wife for our arrival.
We stayed half board and the food was very good with a good selection to choose from each day and it was well cooked and tasty when it arrived. It was, however, something of a challenge t the wasteline as the portions were very generous ! The breakfast was excellent too !
For us we would have prefered a firmer mattress as the one we had was a lot softer that the one we are used to but I suppose that everyone is different.
The hotel is ideally situated for those who like the west side of the island and the beach was a very short walk from the hotel.
Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly look to return on our next visit to Guernsey.

June and Stephen Chamberlain

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Another happy guest, that always pleases all the staff here as their hard work has been noticed, thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My Mum (who is 88) and I stayed at the Wayside from 22/8 until 29/8 except for Fri the 24th as my neice was getting married so we stayed that night in the 4 star hotel the reception was in. This hotel cost us 50 pounds more than the Wayside and to be honest we couldn't wait to get back to the Wayside on the Sat as the beds were by far more comfortable.
Donna put us in a chalet which was ideal for my Mum as it was very quiet and she was able to rest.
The food was great and the staff were wonderful.
All in all great value for money and we would certainly stay there again.
Thanks Ken Donna Carla Chef etc.
Ann and Nell

Room Tip: Chalets are great just beside pool and very quiet so you get a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

So Happy that you were deighted with our comfortable beds, and you enjoyed your visit with us,

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My son and I spent 10 lovely days in the chalet part of the hotel, right next to the pool. The other guests were very polite and friendly to talk with. Our breakfast was always fresh and the lovely Donna and her staff accommodated him as if he was a part of their family. Dinner was just as good and as always so was Paul and David (bar staff) with serving him his pint of milk every evening and the restaurant manager was very kind and patient with our slow and relaxed choosing. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was really fresh and white, no mould or nasty marks.The closet space was very ample. The beach eas just a hop, skip and jump away as were the buses. Everyone always had a smile on their faces. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraNiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks You for your review, so glad you had a nice stay, hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As an 80th birthday present, I took my mother to Guernsey for a week and our local travel agent booked us into the Wayside Cheer.

We had a double room which was spacious and very clean. The room we had got all the afternoon sun and was gloriously bright in the evenings. The shower was very clean, good water pressure and the rooms were cleaned and towels replaced every day.

We did not use the bar in the evening, but it seemed very busy and friendly and the staff there were always courteous and helpful. A lot of the guests who were just booked for bed and breakfast seemed to eat in the bar where meals were available, as the food was very good.

We had half board and the standard of the food was brilliant!! The breakfasts were well cooked and huge, there was a wide choice. There was a three course meal provided every evening, with a choice of at least four dishes in each course. The food was great quality, really well cooked and the choice was very good and varied. There was at least one vegetarian choice on each course, which was brilliant. The staff in the dining room, run by Donna, were lovely; nothing was too much trouble for them. Our waitress, Cynthia, was so kind, so polite, so smiley and helpful and everyone made us feel very welcome. The food here really is brilliant and far exceeded my expectations.

The decor of the hotel bar itself looks a little dated, but it is an older building and has all necessary amenities. There is wi fi in the hotel, but this works best in the downstairs bar area as the granite in the building interferes with the signal in some areas. Wi fi in the room itself was a bit hit and miss as the signal wasn't strong enough, but there was a strong signal around the pool area in the garden.

The pool is very nice; very clean and available to use all day when the weather is warm enough.

The location of the hotel is ideal. The bus stop is literally across the road from the back of the building, and all buses that pass go into the town from there. There are a lot of buses to choose from and they seem to be every 10 minutes or so during the day. The beach is beautiful and again, just across the road behind the hotel. There are coves and beaches all along the coast, and from the Wayside Cheer it's possible to walk miles along the beaches and rocks to explore lots of them. A great base for surfers or kayakers as the next cove is a very popular spot for these activities. There is also a Nature Trail starting approximately 50 yards from the hotel, and even a pillar box within 5 minutes walk.

A lovely walk is along the beach path to Port Soif and a Guernsey Cream Tea at the very friendly Surfside Cafe just by the beach! :o)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back catch all the sunshine in the afternoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I am so pleased you had a good time and your mother had an 80th birthday to remember.

Thank you for your kind review, it's very much appreciated

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed for six nights while working on the Island, was going to be arriving early so e-mailed ahead to ask check in time, although it was an afternoon check in time I was told to come early and would be accommodated which was great. The chalet I was given was clean spacious and had all mod cons. I only managed to eat in the hotel once due to working late and missing the cut-off time but have to say the roadkill burger is recommended and the cooked breakfast was brilliant, we did however manage a few drinks in the bar each night, by the third night it felt like we in our local pub thanks to the friendliness of the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to any travellers workers or families as a very friendly, clean, well run hotel. I will hopefully return to holiday here rather than for work.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicko1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and joining the "Happy Guests Club" who visit with us on business then want to come back with the Family for a holiday,
We have dozens of guests who return sometimes more than once a year because they know we care about them and look after them while they are here, many become good friends with us and other guests somtimes reurning as groups, look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is just a post to mention and warn tourists about this small hotel. used to good hotels on the island, but everything fully booked at this time of the year, only rooms available at the Wayside, well I had an awful stay, miserable hotel, stayed only 1 night, this hotel is one of the worst on the island of Guernsey.

Room Tip: No idea about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

I was not going to respond to this, as firstly noone here remembers this guest, and certainly there have been no complaints recorded in July, as there is no specific complaint just warning that we are the one of the worst hotels in Guernsey (not true by the way) I decided to look at the guests other reviews.

It would appear that this guest frequents some of the best hotels in the world even those that the likes of George Clooney and President Bill Clinton uses, the Wayside is not on the list of such celebrities but we have had The Bachelors and Jimmy Cricket stay with us on several occasions.

I suggest that if anyone who is finds that the Islands Finest Hotels are full, either accept that we are what we are, one of the Islands finest hotels in our category. (Note 3 weeks ago we were upgraded from a 2 Star to a 3 Star Hotel) or do not book with us at 1/3 of the Price of the top hotels expecting the same kind or rooms and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
165 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
4.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#1 of 2 in Torteval
202 reviews
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cheer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cheer Hotel

Address: Les Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $69 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Cheer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest Guernsey Hotels. The Wayside is an ideal family hotel overlooking the beautiful sandy Grandes Rocques Bay. A large car park is available on site and other parking is close by and buses stop about 60 Mtrs from the with half Hourly buses to St Peter Port and Hourly buses that go around the Island each way. The hotel has a heated Outdoor Swimming Pool (Heated Mid June to Mid Sept, Weather Permitting)the pool is situated in the lovely gardens. A Recent addition is the popular Terrace where you can Drink and Eat outdoors. Our Award Winning Meals are served daily in the Lounge Bar, Diner and the Restaurant. There is also a games room with a variety of bar games. Other amenities include a spacious TV lounge for residents only Free Wi-Fi in Most Areas, Regular Entertainment is available at the weekend until 11.30 and Midweek karaoke till 11.00. About once a month we have a Cabaret Show in the Ballroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wayside Cheer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wayside Cheer
Wayside Cheer Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing