We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury treat that could so easily be even better”
Review of La Grande Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A luxury treat that could so easily be even better”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Part of a special package that included car ferry from Portsmouth and two nights in this 4 star hotel with a fitness centre and indoor pool, we turned up very late in one of the windiest and wettest nights of a very wet and windy winter to a warm welcome.
La Grande Mare manages to keep its occupancy rates high, despite its somewhat remote (but glorious) setting, linked as it is to a large golf course and small nature reserve. It achieves this by a diversification that includes time-share apartments, golf lessons, a health club and a top ranking restaurant that bustles with local and repeat trade.
Our suite was spacious, but the furniture and fittings were slightly incongruous being designed for self-catering rather than a hotel stay. This meant lots of cupboards with kitchen utensils and a rather odd seating plan with the only sofa at right angles to the wall-mounted TV. The bed and other furnishings were well designed, practical and comfy. However, the attention to detail did not quite follow through, for example, the top-end Bose bedside radio requires an aerial to pick up anything other than the 2 local channels and the iPod Dock would benefit from a lightning connector to use with the latest iPhone or iPad. The TV had a "hidden" small selection of Sky channels which I stumbled upon by chance by selecting the analogue setting.
Of course, these are trivial grumbles and the cheerful hotel staff and excellent quality of the food more than made our stay memorable. The restaurant was full on a Friday evening, the menu was varied and imaginative, though not innovative; they were perhaps understandably playing very safe. the wine list was perfectly ok.
So why only 4 stars - and would we have given it 5 on a warm, sunny day with lots of outside activities to take my mind away from minor techie gripes? I suppose because it so wants to be at the top of its game that it covers too wide a base and doesn't completely satisfy any one part of the market. Would I go again, yeah, probably.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phlashmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Phlashmair
Thank you for the lovely review and I have noted your techie gripes and am seeing what can be done to improve the on Island radio signal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    73
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
93
168
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great one night treat at La Grande Mare. Room was excellent - it was a good size, had good facilities and was quiet. Dinner was of high quality, a good variety of options and an interesting wine menu. Service was excellent - many thanks to Sheev and his team who looked after us well throughout our short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Richard J
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us recently.I will share your review with my team as I feel they will be delighted to hear how highly you rated us all at La Grande Mare.
The Hotel is open all year round and we would be delighted to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What could be better for Valentines? Afternoon tea by a fire, beautiful meal, lovely overnight stay in a suite and large breakfast mmmmmmm. Use of the health suite too, so you feel a hundred dollars, and free use of the towels.

Room Tip: Front rooms look towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear George d
Glad to hear how much you enjoyed the Valentines experience with us at LGM
I do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful suite with sea views and superb food. Head waiter and staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Cuisine was exceptionally good. Suite included 4 poster bed! Price for the stay was very reasonable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear StanleyC
Many thanks for the great review
It was good to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the four poster too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Yet again I have chose la grande mare to have a short break:,why?
because the quality of the hotel,the service,and the restaurant are all 5 star.
The staff are highly professional and attentive,the rooms are large and luxurious.
The restaurant is superb with a fine menu at a price that cannot be beaten.
You can choose a 2 coarse for £10-95 or 3 courses for £12-95.with a head waiter who
is very good at his job!!
There is all the facilities you need,pool,golf,steam room and jacuzzi .
It will not be long till I come back!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor seem to be slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morsy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Morsy 2010
Lovely to hear how you enjoyed your short break here at La Grande Mare.
Thank you for the glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent an enjoyable couple of days here. It is in an excellent location with just a short walk to the seafront. For sporty types there is a golf course attached to the hotel and a well equipped gym, decent sized pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. I was there on business so no time for golf (sadly) but I used the gym and pool. Very clean and well maintained all round.

My room was comfortable and warm (it was a cold weekend) and included some nice extras such as a good selection of teas and coffees, iron and ironing board. The staff were friendly and helpful and have been trained well in personal skills. When was the last time you were greeted by name in the restaurant or bar of a hotel?

I ate in the main restaurant which is popular with nonresidents. For this reason booking a table is advised. The menu is extensive and reasonably priced. Not surprisingly there is a good spread of sea food on offer. They boast an impressive wine list with sensible prices.

I would highly recommend this hotel and am planning to return for a leisure break sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Coffs51
It was music to our ears to read what a thoroughly enjoyable stay you had with us recently.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Front of House made us feel very welcome as soon as we set foot through the door, and this set the theme for a very enjoyable evening with delicious food. The braised lamb was amazing, and the choice of wines to accompany the food was spot on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastronomer-Piers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Gastronomer-Piers

Delighted to read of your positive dining experience at LGM and many thanks for the Highly recommended status.
I can assure you that it means a lot to us here,so thank you for going to the trouble to write such a positive report.e
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
570 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Property: La Grande Mare
Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Grande Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing