We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food but service variable”
Review of La Grande Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went for an evening meal at the hotel and chose the Dine with Wine summer menu for which my wife had paid for a Quidsin voucher.

Evening did not start well as they had lost our booking but the manager retrieved the situation and we were shown to a nice table overlooking the outdoor pool. Unfortunately the table had obviously just been vacated as there were glass rings on the table which were not cleaned before or after we arrived.

We ordered pre-dinner drinks and then our food order. we noticed that other tables had been offered bread but in the end had to ask for ours.

Starters were delicious and the wine that comes as part of the menu was also very nice. the main courses came. I had Sea Bass and my wife had beef fillet medallions. Both were delicious. unfortunately the wine for this course did not materialise despite all the tables around us being provided with theirs. a quick glance at our table by any member of staff and they would have realised we had not been served our wine.

The deserts were equally as delicious as was the desert wine which came when our deserts were served.

The restaurant manager was very apologetic about the wine for our main course and waived the cost of our pre-dinner drinks.

Overall a good eating experience, good service slightly marred by forgetting a few things. they were busy but personally that is no excuse when the wine is actually part of the meal and the experience they are selling.

Will be returning I am sure in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear GGGSarnia
Thank you for your recent review.
I was delighted to hear how you enjoyed your Dine with Wine menu recently and I note your observations which I have discussed with the team.It was good to hear how the restaurant manager looked after you when problems arose.
Hopefully we are making some adjustments to the lineup of our service team and are sure we will be improving on our existing standards
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for La Grande Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 372 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Depends what you want, but Guernsey is one of the most relaxing places on the planet, from the time you land at the airport I think you step into tranquility and La Grand Mare adds to this too. Whether you wish to walk or catch the bus from outside the Hotel you can get anywhere you wish to go, enjoy the islands many Restaurants, Peacefulness and old fashion politeness, This will be my 14th year here for a holiday

Room Tip: Value for money,
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi LynR
Thank you for your review
We will always be trying to improve on our standards and the value we offer too.
Look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a quids in deal. It was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was fantastic. The views from the room were spectacular and there was everything in the room that you could think of including a mini kitchen area! Would recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you Carolyn for your recent review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.
Do come and visit us again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we have taken up two quids in offers over the last couple of months one was for a three course meal which i have to say was excellent the food and service were spot on and the wine kept on coming which was also included in the deal everything was faultless and would highly recommend La Grande Mare to anyone for any occasion and will defiantly be going again sometime soon!

On the other occasion we brought a quids in over nights stay with breakfast and evening meal as a birthday gift for another couple and once we had received there feedback we had wished we'd taken up the offer ourselves as again the room, service and food was excellent and couldn't be faulted, so we will be looking out for that offer when it comes around next time!!

So well done La Grande Mare will be seeing you again very soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonBrouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Jasonbrouard
Thank you for the glowing report.
The team and I are delighted to hear about your recent stay and how much you enjoyed it.
The Hotel is open all year around and makes a great get away,even for Islanders !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I had our Wedding at La Grande Mare on the 4th May and we had the most amazing day! Planning our big day with Archana (the Functions Manager) was a pleasure and nothing was ever too much hassle. The food, accommodation and service was all faultless and La Grande Mare made our Wedding Day very special!
We will definitely be returning again and again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Congratulations Aimee glad to hear how well the big day went.
Look forward to seeing you all again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past and have returned after a gap of ten years. The hotel has evolved and the golf course is nicely maturing. We liked the inclusion of a less formal menu in the restaurants. Our room B5 was just about perfect for us. Lovely views of the golf course and the sea. Vazon has a huge sandy beach, which is mostly empty of people. The are two cafes serving the usual beach side food. I would recommend La Grande Mare to anyone has a place for a great stay for both a golfing or a beach Holiday. There is a great bus service in Guernsey, which was very useful on Liberation day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breeze999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Breeze999
Many thanks for the review
It was good to hear how much you enjoyed all the improvements made since your last visit
Please don't leave it so long till your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiancé and I live on the island and decided to take up on their quids in offer for an overnight stay, including a three course meal. Well, we stayed in suite E1, it was an absolute beautiful room! The bed was very comfy, the place was clean and the view just topped it off. We went for a swim and the pool was nice and warm. The only downfall was the tiles have come off at the bottom of the jacuzzi, but that didn't effect my whole view on the place. Afterwards we went for our three course meal. The staff were very friendly and helpful and showed us to our table. The starters were delicious. I had lamb with creamy mash as a main and it was the best lamb I've ever tasted. The mash also felt like it melts in your mouth, loved it!! The desserts were just as good! We had an English breakfast in the morning and once again, the food was delicious! We will definitely be staying again in the future and most definitely be going just for a meal on an occasional night out. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeAndThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Jade and Thomas
Thank you for the superb review
Glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit
Pop back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
595 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $200 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Grande Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing