We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of La Grande Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grande Mare
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I had our Wedding at La Grande Mare on the 4th May and we had the most amazing day! Planning our big day with Archana (the Functions Manager) was a pleasure and nothing was ever too much hassle. The food, accommodation and service was all faultless and La Grande Mare made our Wedding Day very special!
We will definitely be returning again and again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Congratulations Aimee glad to hear how well the big day went.
Look forward to seeing you all again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 391 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past and have returned after a gap of ten years. The hotel has evolved and the golf course is nicely maturing. We liked the inclusion of a less formal menu in the restaurants. Our room B5 was just about perfect for us. Lovely views of the golf course and the sea. Vazon has a huge sandy beach, which is mostly empty of people. The are two cafes serving the usual beach side food. I would recommend La Grande Mare to anyone has a place for a great stay for both a golfing or a beach Holiday. There is a great bus service in Guernsey, which was very useful on Liberation day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breeze999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Breeze999
Many thanks for the review
It was good to hear how much you enjoyed all the improvements made since your last visit
Please don't leave it so long till your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiancé and I live on the island and decided to take up on their quids in offer for an overnight stay, including a three course meal. Well, we stayed in suite E1, it was an absolute beautiful room! The bed was very comfy, the place was clean and the view just topped it off. We went for a swim and the pool was nice and warm. The only downfall was the tiles have come off at the bottom of the jacuzzi, but that didn't effect my whole view on the place. Afterwards we went for our three course meal. The staff were very friendly and helpful and showed us to our table. The starters were delicious. I had lamb with creamy mash as a main and it was the best lamb I've ever tasted. The mash also felt like it melts in your mouth, loved it!! The desserts were just as good! We had an English breakfast in the morning and once again, the food was delicious! We will definitely be staying again in the future and most definitely be going just for a meal on an occasional night out. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeAndThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Jade and Thomas
Thank you for the superb review
Glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit
Pop back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just spent a long weekend at La Grande Mare, in Guernsey. The hotel and surroundings were stunning. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even Twinkle the Cat was lovely. Our room B5 was great, extremely clean and comfortable, it overlooked the golf course so views were terrific. The Bistro and Golf Club food good quality and good value. The only downside was we didn't stay longer !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello there Travelsin2013
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and Twinkle the Cat !
The Hotel is open all year round and is an excellent destination for short breaks,so we hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.Check out our website for special deals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took up a quids in offer £130 for 2 of us, dinner, bed, breakfast and afternoon tea, with a four poster room. We couldn't fault anything, staff were lovely, all the food was good (and we are quite picky!) and the room was lovely, best night's sleep we have had in ages - thanks Grand Mare, if we weren't leaving the island we would be back very soon!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Guernsey32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guernsey32
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
It sound like you enjoyed a well earned rest.
Hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and i have been fortunate to stay in La Grande Mare twice a year since 1996. We again visited the hotel in March 2013.The standard of accommodation is excellent especially after recent refurbishment and level of service from the friendly staff is consistently very attentive.The Managing Director even went beyond the normal call of duty by driving to collect us when stranded due to a very rare heavy snowfall !!
The varied food menus provide both formal and more casual dining experiences and are always thoroughly enjoyable. I also enjoy the indoor swimming pool and gym which are very modern and always extremely clean.
There is always a certain ambience at La Grande Mare that we don't find at any other hotel and we look forward to returning in July this year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Ken
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday even with the heavy snowstorm we encountered,it was no problem to pick you up in the 4x4.
Hope you enjoyed the curry fest that night and those beers looked wonderful !
The team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting. The reception & dining areas have been nicely renovated but our room was very dated with floral furnishings and an old wooden bed which took up most of the floor space. Most disappointing was the old shower which just trickled out a few drops of water. After the sparkling new downstairs, the room was a disappointing contrast. Evening meal was fine but a 25 minute wait for breakfast nearly made us miss our tee off time!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travellers7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Travellers 7462
Thank you for your review.I was delighted to hear how you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant.
Sorry to hear about the problem with the Bathroom a new pump and shower rail have now been fitted to the room you stayed in.Its unfortunayte that it went wrong during your stay.
We are currently finishing off a further renovation of six of our Hotel bathrooms and several room makeovers so please let me know next time you stay with us so I can personally supervise your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
487 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $133 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your La Grande Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing