We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our week in guernsey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our week in guernsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week in guernsey and stayed at the hougue du pommier hotel. Malcolm the manager and his staff were excellent always willing to help. The bedroom were spotless the food delicious would highly recommend a visit

Room Tip: All rooms are excellen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    107
    53
    42
    18
See reviews for
65
192
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice pool, well equipped with comfortable loungers; likewise the gardens in a quiet country location ... Comfortable bar, with reasonable prices, and a pleasant section for meals ... Well cooked buffet breakfast ... Heating on throughout when it needed to be ... Large comfortable conservatory ... Bus stop just outside ------ We had 4 bar meals; 1 was excellent, 2 very good, and 1 a fisherman's pie that was horrible: it was deleted from the bill, and we were later told that it had been taken off the menu due to many complaints (check !) ------ Our room (31) was dissapointing: in an outlying block, the entrance door to which was directly opposite our room. This door was a poor fit and had to be slammed shut, or it was left open & banged ... Guests above could be heard walking about ... The LH wardrobe door hit the pelmet above the curtains when halfway open ( ANNOYING !) ... The shower had to be stepped up approx. 26 cm. ( 10 ins.) to get into, so anyone with limited mobility may have problem ... However, overall, we still enjoyed our stay here, but would advise viewing other rooms first if possible ...........

Room Tip: included in review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

lovely friendly staff from reception to cleaning staff. Nothing was too much bother and lovely relaxed atmosphere

Delicious food and realistically priced. Nice comfy area to sit and relax with a drink before your evening meal.
Bus stop only a minutes walk from the hotel which offers a hourly bus service into town 1/4 past the hour to town and on the hour coming back.

This is my 2nd stay in this hotel and will definitely pay a return visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 831izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had stayed here a few years ago and wanted to return with the Chihuahua. The hotel is dog friendly and happy take our furry friends. In had a lovely room on the ground floor with a verandah and easy access for the fields for the Chi.
Unfortunately on Guernsey dogs are not allowed in bars or restaurants so we didn't eat there.

The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very happy. The staff are very helpful and courteous. At first we had a nice room but with twin beds, but when we asked the staff for a different room they upgraded us to a suite which was very roomy and pleasant.
Food in the bar was reasonable and tasty. The beer was excellent and we spent a lot of time in the lovely garden relaxing.
The hotel is in a very picturesque and quiet location convenient to bus stops and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the coast. We would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting friends, the outside appearance of the hotel is very pretty, however the inside was a little tired. Our room was quite spacious, warm and clean, however the decor was a little jaded. Our shower was broken on arrival, we reported this to reception and they fixed it within the hour. Although the decor needed updating the staff were friendly and pleasant, this would not deter us from staying here again as our overall experience was positive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and if/when we return to the island we will be staying here again.

We were met by warm friendly staff in all areas from reception, bar, waiters to cleaners.

The food is fantastic and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Property: Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing