We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dog show”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were over from jersey for a dog show what a great place.they welcome the dogs and staff were brilliant look forward to staying again

Room Tip: Go for deluxe if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    112
    54
    42
    18
See reviews for
66
197
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My car wasn't booked for me despite 3 calls to check. Then they charged £10 on my checkout bill for booking it. Forgot to mention that!
The food is 5/10 at best. Not sure if much is actually made on premises or by Iceland.
Finally there was no bath only a shower, which had problems with the regulator. Wouldn't have minded but think should have been advised.

The beds were okay, a little bit lumpy and made up with rather tired blankets. The towels could do with being replaced too but were the softest I have come across.
The building and grounds are lovely it's just the decor that needs attention.
Staff are nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nICK j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

From arrival to departure the experience was superb. All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble Breakfasts were good and we ate in the dining room at night: a bonus for us was that the food was not only good quality, but was served correctly and always piping hot, We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Always ask, the hotel will try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoryroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

From beginning (email contact) to end the service was excellent - all the staff were friendly and made good recommendations about where to go etc. We ate in the restaurant every night and thoroughly enjoyed the dinners and the breakfasts. The rooms were quiet, very clean and recently decorated. It was lovely to stroll round the gardens and to sit in the conservatory in the early evening . A lovely building full of character. 10 mins from Cobo bay. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Booked through Jersey Travel for a 5 night break to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Hotel and grounds looked gorgeous in pictures. Hotel smelt very stale and was dated. Our room proved no better with a tatty bathroom which had broken floor tiles (easy to cut feet on), dirty shower door, broken towel rail and the bathroom door had to be slammed to shut it! We had an adjoining door, locked fortunately, to the next room which meant that you could hear everything - not nice. Our beds actually had sheets and blankets which didn't fit well meaning we were very cold at night. Breakfasts were OK and served quickly. Bar restaurant meals were standard, not much imagination in the menu. When we were leaving the reception was empty, my husband found a woman who just said 'You've got your cases, I've got the key - OK' and walked off!!! How rude can you get. I definitely would NOT recommend this hotel to anybody

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get Room No. 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I recently had a evening away with 2 friends, were we stayed in this hotel, The waiting staff were great.... the hotel smelt a little musty, and decor was a little dated, but the rooms were clean and the bathroom was nicely tiled... The down side to this place, when myself and 2 friends checked out, and older gentlemen whom worked for the hotel was rude to my 2 friends by saying " People from Jersey are rough", which my 2 friends are very far from, and are 2 beautiful fun loving girls.... Basically I will never stay in this establishment ever again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a Christmas/New Year break at the Hougue Du Pommier, arranged through Shearings Holidays. We flew from East Midlands Airport on 22nd December (1hour 5 mins) and were met and taken to the Hotel by a minibus. We were allocated a ground floor suite, which was spacious, clean and comfortable. For the whole time there (11 nights) we found the whole staff worked very hard to make us feel welcome, and could not have been more attentive to all our needs. The food was supurb, but the Christmass Day Lunch, and the New Years Eve Buffet were extra special. Breakfasts were normally self service with plenty of choices, while evening dinners were usually 4 course waiter service. To sum up, a small, friendly Hotel, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Can only comment on our ground floor suite which was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Property: Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing