We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in every aspect of service and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First class in every aspect of service and quality”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at the Le Friquet hotel in March 2010 and were so impressed with the hotel that we booked again for September.On both occaisions we were not disappointed.The location is very central but i would say that a car,(Hire cars on the island are very good and reasonably priced) is essential in order to maximise exploration of the island.The rooms are excellent and the service can only be described as exceptional.
On both our visits we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to have the opportunity to select alternative venues for our evening meal.However the quality and service were of such a standard that we dined at the hotel every night.As I have said the service was excellent and the staff so helpful,attentive and above all appeared to be so very happy to be serving you.
We hope to be going back again and again to Guernsey,not to enjoy Guernsey per se but purely to experience the joy of staying at the Le Friquet Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belvoir39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    123
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
86
257
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I chose this hotel from a selection we viewed last year, as we wanted a Honeymoon haven, we were not disappointed. We liked the idea of the hotel previously being an old property with some history, but is modern and well kept. We couldn't fault the food, cleanliness of the room and hotel in general. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to enjoy using the outside pool, and sat in the well kept garden on a couple of occasions. The prices in this hotel are very good compared to others we viewed. We are going to return to this hotel as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CashierSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The hotel is cosy and welcoming. My room was excellent, the bonus being a new bathroom, and a view across the fields.
the choice of food was great as there were lots of fish courses to choose from all beautifully fresh.
All of the staff were smart, friendly and efficient, couldn't ask for better.
The only downside was the bus. It only runs e]very hour, but it does stop right outside the hotel, there is another bus though which can be caught if you take a 5min walk up to the top road.
All in all a lovely experience

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane18069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Any hotel to me is simply a base, a place to sleep but when the wall mounted shower head disintegrated having being previously damaged and refitted gingerly to look good rather than be used it really upset me. I did not think that anything would actually be done but Reception took it on board and promised to have it repaired. That next evening we returned to a whole brand new shower, solid and working better than before. Astonishing service!
That degree of service and genuine concern seemed to be inherent amongst the whole of the staff. If any of them read the reviews its a big thanks from me. We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BishMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefriquet, Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for recognising our efforts! Yes we do read the reviews (good and not so good) and we do genuinely care about the service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

As a regular visitor to Guernsey, we have stayed in a number of places, and all have been very good. In 2009 we stayed at Le Friquet for the first time, and this year we had no hesitation in returning there. Staff are very welcoming, the surroundings are very peaceful, and they have a chef who can produce the goods. His desserts are to die for. Very clean and relaxed. We shall return with anticipation

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hygro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Visited for a few days break - liked it being central so it was easy to get around the island. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast very good, clean and efficient overall. Facilities average but though it was good value overall.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analemmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Having stayed at this hotel when travelling alone in the past, i decided to revisit recently in company of my children (16&12).

Again i was greeted on arrival by a smiling member of staff who i felt i already knew because the hotel will organise your whole trip for you (better plane fares than i could get online !!) so in 2 phone calls to the hotel had organised flights and accomodation and even had a hire car waiting when i landed. (all paid for in one card transaction no rip off card fees i would have paid to the airlines)

This time i stayed in apartment 5 an amazing 2 bedrooom fully equipped flat with everything you could possible need should you wish to cater for yourself. The apartment was spotlessly clean and i can ensure you i am very fussy about cleanliness but the apartment passed with flying colours.

However to stay at this Hotel and not sample the BEST Carvery in the Island would be unforgivable the quality and choice on offer as good as anything that i have eaten in all my travels. As i think i mentioned in a previous post i believe you can judge the quality of a restaurtants food by the amount of locals you find eating there and at the Falcon carvery be warned at the start of lunch and dinner service watch at for the tsunami of locals that flood into the restaurant to be greeted by the most helpful and friendly staff you will find anywhere lead by the ever smiling James.

All the staff will bend over backwards to fulfill your requirements and don't be afraid to ask for something that is not on the menu (i have a fussy daughter) if they have it the kitchen will prepare it for you. As well as the Carvery a full A la Carte is also offered which we tried on our final night and again quality food at reasonable prices same amazing service and a good well priced wine list as well.

Again being lazy we did on a couple of occasions treat ourselves to breakfast in the restaurant and what a joy to have the hot food cooked to in the kitchen rather than what seems to be the trend these days to have a buffet (where everything seems to be dry and overcooked) between us we tried our eggs fried, poached and scrambled and they where all cooked to perfection as was everything else.

In conclusion this is a lovely home from home hotel set in stunning gardens (with a lovely swimming pool although the british summer did it's best to put us off using it !)
The staff are friendly and welcoming and will go that extra bit to make your stay that little bit more magical. This hotel really beats going to one of those chains where you could be staying in any town or city but not know the difference.

Would i stay again? "Without a doubt"
Would i recommend " Certainly"
Would i recommend to friends "100%"

Thank you to the reservation staff for arranging everything, so nice to book something and talk to a person not a machine.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay one of the best Holidays ever.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layerroadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing