We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal attention & good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've just had three nights at Le Friquet, and I must commend it. Staff are really attentive and helpful, and that counts a lot.
Our room overlooked the exit drive; perfectly pleasant, and easy for someone disabled who doesn't want to climb too many stairs.
The food is par excellence. It really is good, beautifully served, and very well priced. Nice choices, too.
We liked the way the maitre d' remembered who we were.
Beware the armchairs in the guest lounge, however - you can easy nod off in these lovely, soft, comfortable chairs. It's OK to do that, but please don't snore!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kinglake23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 497 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just come back from 6 nights staying at this lovely hotel. I took my mum and dad as a treat. We all like the hotel. We stayed in room 32 (conservatory suite) and room 31 which is a single. My single room was lovely, and the conservatory suite was amazing. I suggest anyone who can afford to pay just that bit extra to upgrade to this suite you will not be disappointed. The food was lovely especially in the evening - we stayed on a half board basis. The hotel and its grounds are well looked after. But I must say the star quality of this hotel is its staff. From the moment you enter reception you made to feel very welcome. Especially Sheev and Lukas who working in the bar and restaurant they make that extra effort with everyone. So we say to all the staff "keep up the good work". Whoever owns or manages this hotel you certainly have staff in a million.

Room Tip: Conservatory suite is a must. And if you are look for a lovely quite single room go for number 31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our booking experience boded well and we were not disappointed. Reception was quick and efficient but most of all welcoming.
The facilities in the air conditioned room could not be faulted, including two bathrooms (whirlpool bath) and an enormous dressing room. There was an overwhelming feeling of relaxed discreet quality service delivered in a relaxed friendly manner, nothing was too much trouble.
Dining both at breakfast and dinner was always something to look forward to with quality well presented food served by a team who clearly enjoyed their jobs. A wide choice of fresh (local where possible) food and good sized portions and a varied selection of wine to accompany this.
I have never before been moved to write a letter of thanks to a hotel but with this one I did.

Room Tip: Superior room was ground floor and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a little gem this hotel is. The staff friendly, accommodation good we had a superior room, food good and the gardens kept immaculate. I would opt for a room overlooking the garden next time as our room faced the road which I found noisy on our first night's stay there. We are planning to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Le Friquet is an average 3 star accommodation. Try to get a room overlooking the garden if you can, as the road noise is a problem on the other side (we had room 27 on the noisy side). much as I do not have a problem with daily changing of bed linen I do however like fresh towels, these you have to ask for! Food is average. On the plus side the waiting staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefriquet, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Smeaty, Thank you for posting your comments and for your kind words about my staff. We all remember your stay with us and we all tried hard to to deal with your requests as they arose at the time of your stay which included moving one of your rooms to another floor in order to assist with walking difficulties and then back again as the view from the new room was not acceptable. I am happy to confirm that bathroom Towels are changed daily and am sorry you found you had to ask for this to be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Le Friquet restaurant offers an excellent selection of food and wine. The Carvery is really good value.
Service us attentive and the Manager is particularly helpful. There is always a recommend wine of the month worth a try.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First impressions when you drive in through the well kept gardens and pool which the hotel overlooks is that this is going to be good and it is! The Lady on reception was bubbly, cheery and very smiley! We had a superior room (on the ground floor). This was clean and furnished well, there were 2 'bathrooms'!! one main and one off the walk in wardrobe. Air con. Breakfast is good with all the choices. We had dinner one night (stayed for 4 nights), the food was good (not excellent). The dining room is smart and some of it overlooks the garden. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room 30 on the ground floor. very bright. room has no neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
830 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
605 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $84 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing