We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW a star in Guernsey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW a star in Guernsey”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our booking experience boded well and we were not disappointed. Reception was quick and efficient but most of all welcoming.
The facilities in the air conditioned room could not be faulted, including two bathrooms (whirlpool bath) and an enormous dressing room. There was an overwhelming feeling of relaxed discreet quality service delivered in a relaxed friendly manner, nothing was too much trouble.
Dining both at breakfast and dinner was always something to look forward to with quality well presented food served by a team who clearly enjoyed their jobs. A wide choice of fresh (local where possible) food and good sized portions and a varied selection of wine to accompany this.
I have never before been moved to write a letter of thanks to a hotel but with this one I did.

Room Tip: Superior room was ground floor and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    123
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
86
257
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a little gem this hotel is. The staff friendly, accommodation good we had a superior room, food good and the gardens kept immaculate. I would opt for a room overlooking the garden next time as our room faced the road which I found noisy on our first night's stay there. We are planning to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Le Friquet is an average 3 star accommodation. Try to get a room overlooking the garden if you can, as the road noise is a problem on the other side (we had room 27 on the noisy side). much as I do not have a problem with daily changing of bed linen I do however like fresh towels, these you have to ask for! Food is average. On the plus side the waiting staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefriquet, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Smeaty, Thank you for posting your comments and for your kind words about my staff. We all remember your stay with us and we all tried hard to to deal with your requests as they arose at the time of your stay which included moving one of your rooms to another floor in order to assist with walking difficulties and then back again as the view from the new room was not acceptable. I am happy to confirm that bathroom Towels are changed daily and am sorry you found you had to ask for this to be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Le Friquet restaurant offers an excellent selection of food and wine. The Carvery is really good value.
Service us attentive and the Manager is particularly helpful. There is always a recommend wine of the month worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First impressions when you drive in through the well kept gardens and pool which the hotel overlooks is that this is going to be good and it is! The Lady on reception was bubbly, cheery and very smiley! We had a superior room (on the ground floor). This was clean and furnished well, there were 2 'bathrooms'!! one main and one off the walk in wardrobe. Air con. Breakfast is good with all the choices. We had dinner one night (stayed for 4 nights), the food was good (not excellent). The dining room is smart and some of it overlooks the garden. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room 30 on the ground floor. very bright. room has no neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked a short break directly with hotel whose staff went out of their way to ensure we could depart from Stansted which was much more convenient for us instead of Gatwick. The hotel is ideally located and only a 10 minute drive to the West Coast of Guernsey. Hotel is comfortable and clean. All the staff were very cheery and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble for them. Very relaxing and surrounded by pretty gardens with a sunny terrace. Well maintained heated swimming pool in sheltered grounds if you don't feel up to braving the sea! Cooked breakfast is very tasty with locally sourced produce and lashings of beautiful bright yellow Guernsey butter for your toast. Will definitely want to stay here again next time we are visiting family on the island.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the road can be noisy in the morning with "rush hour" traffic if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caff_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was not at the hotel to stay, but because a friend was treating me to lunch. Having said that, the hotel looked extremely comfortable and clean and it was set in pretty and well-looked-after surroundings.
The meal was well-prepared and beautifully presented. My local crab salad tasted very fresh indeed and the locally sourced Le Heche Farm ice-cream was a taste experience of its own.The staff were relaxed and yet attentive. Waiters came several times during the meal to see that everything was as it should be. I liked the fact that much of the food on the menu is locally sourced.
I would return again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LindaLeVasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing