We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed our first visit to Le Friquet last year so much that we made a return over the Easter weekend and we where not disappointed. The location is great with easy access to many attractions either walking or by bus. The hotel gardens are very pleasant. We were delight with our standard room, which was tastefully decorated clean and important over the Easter weekend, warm. Quality of the food and service was excellent as ever. We look forward to our next short break in the not to distant future

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 513 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while I was working in the Island. The room was decorated in a more 'country house' style as supposed to being super modern but it was spotless and very cosy and quiet with a lovely soft bed and tea and coffee making faciltiies as well as a nice supply of biscuits!

The staff were very friendly and very helpful - they carried my heavy suitcase up and down the stairs to my room and let me stay until 5pm on the night I was due to fly off island for just £20 - very reasonable.

The food in the restaurant was delicious - warm, fresh and tasty and served with a smile. There was a great wine choice too and a very good fresh seafood collection.

The hotel is a good location - only a 3 minute drive from the nearest Waitrose and 5 minutes from the stunning West Coast of the island. Theres plenty of car parking here too.

All round - very impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just come back from a very cold stay in Guernsey and yes i know its cold everywhere at the moment but do feel that hotels restaurants attractions etc should realise this ? and provide more than one source to keep warm !

Anyway all in all we had a pleasant stay ! Can i recommend Herm Castle Cornet and German Occupation Museum to you all ? all excellent and also The Deerhound Restaurant !

One final thing,make sure if you are driving to buy a parking disc from tourist information ? your best £ 3.25 spent for the whole stay on the island ! along with the filter system lack of signs and sheer amount of vehicles on the road even the best of drivers will be tested !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustaRealisticCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013, with the spring package, which meant we got chamapnge on arrival and a 3 course meal included in the price. We also upgraded to a superior room. The room was a really good size with an enormouse king size bed. The bathroom and bedroom were well decorated and clean. The bathroom had a big corner bath and a really good shower. The staff were one of the highlights of the stay; always friendly, informative and smiling. We had breakfast each morning; the smoked haddock was my favourite. The evening meal we had was very tasty, although extremely rich! Sadly it was too early for the outdoor pool to be opne, but I expect this would be great in the summer. I would definitely come here again to stay, and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a superior room, as these are much more spacious. Rooms facing the garden would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had an overnight stay at this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the hotel was fantastic. Helpful and friendly staff, nothing seem too much trouble for them. The hotel was clean and warm, food was good. Would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from one week break at this hotel in one of their apartments. it was perfect everything you needed to hand. The weather was very cold due to guernsey having thier worst snow for 30 years. The apartment was lovely and warm, and the gardens looked lovely covered in snow. We would recommend this hotel and their apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked a three day fly drive package and was not disappointed. Everything as advertised - huge choice of breakfast, you don't need to eat again till dinner. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, nothing was too much trouble and eager to please. We had the carvery for our first meal - delicious, excellent quality and choice and great value for money. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $93 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing