We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great weather not so!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked in after a flight on a Aurigny Airlines who allowed a piece of baggage each, the room was quite large on the second floor away from any possibility of noise which is as we requested. They took cases up to our room all the usual facilities TV, Tea/coffee, Air con, Hairdryer, phone, large double bed, good pillows (extra in cupboard) no clock though. In bathroom bath, with shower over, complimentry toiletries, inc shower cap, light over mirror with shaver point. The dining room was quite large the meals and service was excellent, loads of choice a la carte, cheaper earlybird menu and also half board. The grounds and pool (heated) was fantastic a small changing cabin and loads of loungers and tables. At all times the staff made it easy for us answered all questions with a smile we would go again.
PS If you book direct with them take advantage of £8 a day car hire.

Room Tip: A room back from road is quieter, the suites looked very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 512 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Mum and I stayed between the 10th & 14th July for the seafood/car hire inc break. We were in a standard twin for the first two nights then we transferred to a superior room for the remainder of the stay. (only because at the time of booking; 1 month earlier, we were unable to book 4 consecutive nights in the same room& so we were quite happy to pay the extra premium). The reception staff were very good and very knowledgeable of the area, very welcoming too. The restaurant staff were very efficient too both at breakfast time and evening time. The housekeeping staff were very pleasant in the morning. The food was superb! A varied choice and plenty of fish options (even for breakfast). If you dont want to go for the table d'hote menu then you can use your 'allowance' against the a la carte menu or the fish board. The Carvery is a good option too. The garden is lovely and well looked after. Well worth a peramble. The pool is in a quiet setting and well maintained. Car hire arrangements were super and no problems too.

Any negatives?
Surprisingly, as in our case, the standard twin room was much bigger than the superior room and quieter and had a full length mirror. There were a couple of side lamps not working in the superior room. In either room, we didnt receive any chocs or wine (which I should have noticed) but not really a major problem.

Overall, a great hotel. Clean, comfortable, good value, superb food, restaurant service, front of house and wonderful setting. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MezzoLorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having spent 7 wonderful nights at this hotel, I would like to advise people of how wonderful the hotel is. The service was excellent, the standard of room and hygiene were excellent and all the food we ate was of the highest quality. What made our holiday so complete was the friendlines of all the staff who are a credit to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is consdering visiting Guernsey. Once again, a very big thank you from my wife and I for a wonderful holiday. Ken & Sue Swift, Lancashire.

Room Tip: Conservatory suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Location: Castel

Hotel: small, pleasant hotel with nice garden

Surrounding: Castel is a small town with a few shops. Hotel has the nice garden with pool and bar. Around 5 minutes by foot, there´s Le Friquet Garden Center. It´s a large shop with plants and garden accessories. It´s nice but only if you want something to buy.

Rent a car: We rented a car in La Barbarie hotel, where we´ve staied two nights before. We had a car from Europcar (Ford Ka, 70 EUR/2 days, full insurance). Definitely, you need a car if you want to make trips around Castel. There´s a few nice beaches and bayes.

Accomodation: we staied in this hotel for one night. We had an apartment. It was large with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and livingroom. It was clean but nothing special and furnishings was old fashioned.

Breakfast: buffet style. There´s cold buffet wit cereals, cheese and ham and then you can order hot, typicall English breakfast.

Food: there is a good restaurant. We had a la carte menu - two lobsters and the food was good and tasty. You could order also fish plate for two with scallops, lobsters, crabs and fishes and it looked very good. But if you want this, you had to ordered day before.

Drinks: you can have drinks in the restaurant or in the bar. The bar is next to the restaurant, it´s small but pleasant.

Services: restaurant, bar, pool, garden, free wifi in the room and also in the bar

Staff: nice and helpful

Advantages of this hotel:
- nice garden with bar and pool
- clean accomodation
- good restaurant with tasty food

Disadvantages of this hotel:
- you need a car to really enjoy your holiday in Guernsey, but it´s the same in all island

What you can do there:
- swimming - pool
- trips

Our opinion: we visited Guernsey and Sark and we staied in four hotels - three in Guernsey (La Barbarie Hotel, La Friquet Country Hotel, The Duke of Normandie) and one in Sark (Le Petit Champ). La Friquet Country Hotel was not so nice. It was pleasant, clean, with good food, but without atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humenikova_Beata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Le Friquet is not a trendy boutique or city style hotel. But my wife and I found it to be the perfect base, bang in the centre of the Island, enabling us to enjoy all the many and various delights awaiting round every corner. We chose a Superior style, double bedded room which had an adjoining toilet and washbasin, dressing room and copius storage draws ect. in the bedroom. A large bathoom with shower and a whirlpool bath kept us clean and everything was well serviced. One could say that the style was a little dated but it well suited us. The dining room proved to be excellent with a variety of delicious evening meals and a very good breakfast menu. We met some lovely fellow guests who all appeared to share our enjoyment and satisfaction of the hotel, its food and especially the helpful and happy staff. Thank you Le Friquet, we hope to return.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Room or the one with the conservatory, quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in June 2011 and enjoyed our visit so much we took advantage of the revisitors offer. My wife & I were , surprisingly, even more delighted with not only our welcome as returning guests , but our room, [garden view] , the food, the pool, and general standard of upkeep. If it means anything, we were even more sad to leave this time. Thank you all , we'll be back for more .

Room Tip: room 3 is a self catering suite in which we stayed the first time . We doubt that anyone could be ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Superb hotel. Did exactly what they said in the brochure and more.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Hotel is centrally situated on the island so you might have difficulties without transport. Local buses are good, but not always timed to convenience. Buses are also very cheap, any journey no matter what the length, £1.

Food at hotel amazing, we had carvery most nights and came back with more weight than when we arrived.

Room was very very good although having said that, we did book the Conservatory suite superior room on the ground floor so cannot comment on the standard room. Its worth paying the extra for this room if you can.

Downsides;
Not too much to complain about, just little niggles. The gardens were beautiful but looked as though a little tlc would not go amiss. (The grass was quite long and had obviously not been cut recently.) They needed a general tidy up. Thats all really

Do watch out for the house cat! He is very very friendly and if you have a ground floor room, you might easily shut him in, but he really is a lovely friendly chap

We would thoroughly reccomend this hotel and will be returning

Room Tip: Conservatory Suite is worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $94 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing