We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guernsey Holiday June 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having spent 7 wonderful nights at this hotel, I would like to advise people of how wonderful the hotel is. The service was excellent, the standard of room and hygiene were excellent and all the food we ate was of the highest quality. What made our holiday so complete was the friendlines of all the staff who are a credit to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is consdering visiting Guernsey. Once again, a very big thank you from my wife and I for a wonderful holiday. Ken & Sue Swift, Lancashire.

Room Tip: Conservatory suite.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Le Friquet Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 494 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Location: Castel

Hotel: small, pleasant hotel with nice garden

Surrounding: Castel is a small town with a few shops. Hotel has the nice garden with pool and bar. Around 5 minutes by foot, there´s Le Friquet Garden Center. It´s a large shop with plants and garden accessories. It´s nice but only if you want something to buy.

Rent a car: We rented a car in La Barbarie hotel, where we´ve staied two nights before. We had a car from Europcar (Ford Ka, 70 EUR/2 days, full insurance). Definitely, you need a car if you want to make trips around Castel. There´s a few nice beaches and bayes.

Accomodation: we staied in this hotel for one night. We had an apartment. It was large with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and livingroom. It was clean but nothing special and furnishings was old fashioned.

Breakfast: buffet style. There´s cold buffet wit cereals, cheese and ham and then you can order hot, typicall English breakfast.

Food: there is a good restaurant. We had a la carte menu - two lobsters and the food was good and tasty. You could order also fish plate for two with scallops, lobsters, crabs and fishes and it looked very good. But if you want this, you had to ordered day before.

Drinks: you can have drinks in the restaurant or in the bar. The bar is next to the restaurant, it´s small but pleasant.

Services: restaurant, bar, pool, garden, free wifi in the room and also in the bar

Staff: nice and helpful

Advantages of this hotel:
- nice garden with bar and pool
- clean accomodation
- good restaurant with tasty food

Disadvantages of this hotel:
- you need a car to really enjoy your holiday in Guernsey, but it´s the same in all island

What you can do there:
- swimming - pool
- trips

Our opinion: we visited Guernsey and Sark and we staied in four hotels - three in Guernsey (La Barbarie Hotel, La Friquet Country Hotel, The Duke of Normandie) and one in Sark (Le Petit Champ). La Friquet Country Hotel was not so nice. It was pleasant, clean, with good food, but without atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humenikova_Beata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Le Friquet is not a trendy boutique or city style hotel. But my wife and I found it to be the perfect base, bang in the centre of the Island, enabling us to enjoy all the many and various delights awaiting round every corner. We chose a Superior style, double bedded room which had an adjoining toilet and washbasin, dressing room and copius storage draws ect. in the bedroom. A large bathoom with shower and a whirlpool bath kept us clean and everything was well serviced. One could say that the style was a little dated but it well suited us. The dining room proved to be excellent with a variety of delicious evening meals and a very good breakfast menu. We met some lovely fellow guests who all appeared to share our enjoyment and satisfaction of the hotel, its food and especially the helpful and happy staff. Thank you Le Friquet, we hope to return.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Room or the one with the conservatory, quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in June 2011 and enjoyed our visit so much we took advantage of the revisitors offer. My wife & I were , surprisingly, even more delighted with not only our welcome as returning guests , but our room, [garden view] , the food, the pool, and general standard of upkeep. If it means anything, we were even more sad to leave this time. Thank you all , we'll be back for more .

Room Tip: room 3 is a self catering suite in which we stayed the first time . We doubt that anyone could be ot...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Superb hotel. Did exactly what they said in the brochure and more.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Hotel is centrally situated on the island so you might have difficulties without transport. Local buses are good, but not always timed to convenience. Buses are also very cheap, any journey no matter what the length, £1.

Food at hotel amazing, we had carvery most nights and came back with more weight than when we arrived.

Room was very very good although having said that, we did book the Conservatory suite superior room on the ground floor so cannot comment on the standard room. Its worth paying the extra for this room if you can.

Downsides;
Not too much to complain about, just little niggles. The gardens were beautiful but looked as though a little tlc would not go amiss. (The grass was quite long and had obviously not been cut recently.) They needed a general tidy up. Thats all really

Do watch out for the house cat! He is very very friendly and if you have a ground floor room, you might easily shut him in, but he really is a lovely friendly chap

We would thoroughly reccomend this hotel and will be returning

Room Tip: Conservatory Suite is worth paying the extra
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from this homely country hotel with really delightful food, set in lovely well kept gardens with an outdoor swimming pool, cleverly surrounded on three sides by a hedge to keep the wind out. All the staff including the cleaners and dining room staff were most polite and friendly. The reception staff were amazingly helpful considering it was a very busy hotel although we dd find one member of the reception staff let the side down on occasions with her manner! We have now been three times to this hotel and will definitely be back, overall a gem of a hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jax1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A fabulous hotel set in beautiful grounds. Welcoming and friendly staff throughout hotel. Food is varied and very well cooked. Nice to have a choice of Carvery and A La Carte menu.
Plenty of parking space. Outdoor pool area looked lovely for the summer months, with ample chairs and changing area.
Hotel spotlessly cleaned and maintained throughout

Room Tip: Choose a room on first floor at back of hotel, as road at front is quite noisy [although windows are...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank owenNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $83 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing