We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a lovely hotel if you are looking to stay on the beach in a quiet part of Guernsey. We went for the walking and weren't disappointed - it was very easy to get around on the buses as long as you checked the times carefully. The room was on the smaller side but spotlessly clean, bed extremely comfortable with a beautiful balcony and perfect views of the Cobo Bay sunset. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was first class - we stuck to fish every night and weren't disappointed - it was excellent value too. We were also delighted to have haddock at breakfast. Perhaps the only drawback was that although the rooms were no smoking, smoking was allowed on the open balconies and we had heavy smokers on either side of us which spoiled sitting outside once or twice in the evening. Also, I imagine it could be noisy some evenings because the outdoor drinking and eating area is at the front of the hotel under the balconies, although while we were there this wasn't a problem. For those who like walking, this is a perfect hotel from which to walk around the island.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel, with balcony have exceptional views of the sea and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliatk168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    137
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
85
314
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now with work, and have booked my parents in for their wedding anniversary.
The rooms are very nice, and always good service. A teatime drink out on the decking is a must with the sun still out, great views and very relaxing. They are covering the closure of the Rockmount next door with a sports bar at the back, which is always busy with the football crowd in. Will stay there again and again with my business in Guernsey!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mattzzzz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent 5 nights in this hotel in March 2014. I immediately liked this hotel when I arrived. Although I had booked and paid for a single I was in as double. Beautiful room, comfy bed, lovely bathroom/shower and tea-tray. The only downside was my view which was of a building site on both sides. The inn behind the hotel is being refurbished and there is also a house being built at the back. The builders start at 7am and don't finish until 5/6pm. The loud noise is not completely shut out by the windows. This was more annoying than disruptive and was outwith the hotel's powers. I wasn't in my room very often during the day so I didn't bother asking to be moved. I never ate in the hotel's bar but I did have breakfast every morning and it was lovely. The staff were really nice and helpful and the ingredients were all local and of a good standard. Fresh fruit every morning, baked goods, cereal, cooked breakfast and tea/coffee to order. I didn't use the spa as I didn't have time! The wi-fi is a bit hit and miss. It worked in some public areas and in my room but other areas are black-spots. The walls are bit thin and you can hear your neighbours but there's not a lot the hotel can do as it's quite old. The hotel is on the opposite side of St Peter Port but there is a good bus service every half hour which takes you there in 20 minutes. There is also a bus service which takes you around the island for £2. The buses are clean and on time and the drivers are very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view ( the fron rooms) as there is a lot of building work going on in the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoragDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Have just come back from a two-night stay and had a great time. The room was huge and the bedroom really well equipped. Fruit and chocs, plus yummy biscuits.
The staff are all great and they even called me on my late ferry trip from Jersey to see if
I wanted sandwiches put aside.
I didn't eat in the restaurant, but it seemed popular and the lady in the guest bar was brilliant and very professional, making me feel comfortable as a lone female traveller.
I didn't have a sea view, but was happy with my room, and had it when eating breakfast in the restaurant. Get there early for the lovely fresh fruit, which goes quickly!
As mentioned here, the wifi works, but not necessarily in the lounge areas ( mine was fine in my room), and the walls are a little thin - but it is a build of the age when these things were more acceptable and would cost a fortune to rectify. They have done so much else to update it that it's really not a big issue.
Stay here and you won't regret it - old style service and a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashellseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a truly lovely hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in March and booked rooms with sea views-a must if staying here. The rooms were a good size and very clean. Fruit and chocolates were ready waiting for us! The health spa is small but excellent. We used it twice for a gentle relax before dinner. We ate on the Friday and Sunday nights of our stay and were not disappointed in either the drinks service or the food and the service that came with it. All the staff were attentive and caring, with excellent attention to detail whether it was during breakfast or dinner, not a fault to be found, even providing vinegar for the vegetarian roast, albeit slight of hand away from other guests!!

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view, the sunset is unmissable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed for two nights in march staff very friendly and helpfully evening meal and breakfast were excellent . Our room on the second floor had a great sea view
Room was clean and well appointed
Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Second floor sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. The room was clean and well appointed and of a good size with a bathroom with a bath. What really made the room however was the fantastic view through the large window and patio door of the bay from which it was possible to watch the sun set into the sea. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant staff pleasant enough. I guess the dinning experience depends on personal preferences, I see others have rated it highly, we chose to eat elsewhere after the first night. A plus point buses into the town and the around the island service stop close buy and are excellent value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing