We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and stunning views”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here 15-17 november for my husbands birthday and will be returning next year also, this hotel is ideally situated across the road froma gorgeous beach with long walks to the next stretch with beautiful rock formations. The staff are mainly foreign and you can tell they all enjoy there job. the rooms are very clean and to a high standard, the food is excellent and very very tasty and good value for money. We spoke to many people who all said that the hotel was a cut above the rest and they were right. If you want peace and quiet this is the place to go, but also if you want a fun night out this is also the place to go they cater for everyone. I cant thank them enoughg for making such a special birthday memorable.

Room Tip: If you have little ones ask for a room away from function hall, but all functions stop at midnight s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 610 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Cobo Bay Hotel a number of times during the passed twenty years at different times of the year and it has been consistently first class. The quality of the food, service and the location are beyond doubt the best available, the staff are all professional, courteous and friendly, many of them have been at the Cobo Bay Hotel for as long as we have been going. The view from the restaurant and the front bedrooms has got to be one of the best in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themancbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb on the West coast with a bus service just up the road so a hire car is not an essential. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathroom just what one needs with little extras like fruit in your room on arrival. ALL the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We will be using this hotel again and why they are only a three star baffles me beyond belief. Just sit out at the front of the hotel with a drink and watch the sun go down to end a perfect day.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was just fine as you can sit out at the front of the hotel if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a truly wonderful stay in the Cobo Bay Hotel in September 2013. Even though the weather did not live up to it,s sunshine island tag the hotel was great. Comfy room with good sized bed, a lovely view of the sea and a private balcony. After a splendid breakfast we were ready to tackle a day of site seeing and when we returned the evening meals were excellent with local seafood starring. The service and attention by the staff was pleasant but not overpowering. In all respects a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Cobo Bay has a fabulous location at the heart of Guernsey's west coast. The balcony rooms are very comfortable and have superb views of the bay and the wonderful sun set. There is a modern shower room and a number of very thoughtful touches in the room.
There is a road between the hotel and the beach but this quietens down in the evenings and does not cause any trouble when sleeping.
Breakfast is excellent with a good range on offer and it was very well prepared.
Plenty of car parking at the rear of the hotel but it is also very close to the local bus stop.
There is a small parade of shops a short walk from the hotel for all the essentials.

Room Tip: With this location you have to go for a balcony room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On the beach-side of Cobo Bay , you should definitely pay extra for a room with sea-view and balcony if available as you will not be disappointed. When the sun is shining the balcony/terrace is the perfect place to wind down the day with a drink watching the sun-set. The hotel has a great outside space where drinks are served and I would imagine during the summer this is extremely popular.
The breakfast offered a great choice of both hot cooked and cold buffet choices and the waiting staff were always on hand to ensure the dining experience was up to expectations.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, WIFI and an iron and ironing board.
The room was small but with the large balcony/terrace this did not really matter.
I would certainly return to the hotel and my only critique would be that the reception staff did not have the best knowledge about the Island and what it had to offer which should perhaps form part of their training.
All in all well done for an extremely pleasant break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for a few days between being in Europe and our daughters wedding. As we do not live in the UK we wanted a break away from the UK Mainland but not a long flight.
We booked the hotel directly via the hotels website and our subsequent requests for Dinner Reservations etc were all dealt with very efficiently.
We booked one of the four poster bedrooms overlooking the bay. The room was excellent with a small sitting area, hugh bathroom and private balcony (unfortunately during our stay the weather was against us so we never got to use it).
Special mention to the staff...top notch!!!
The restaurant for breakfast as noted in other reviews was excellent and all served to you after being freshly cooked to order.
Dinner too was excellent and we decided to eat on both evenings in the restaurant. Other reviews have commented on the price... we thought it was very good value compared to other establishments we looked at on the island.
The room and hotel was very clean and the huge flower displays in the hotel were fantastic.
Due to the weather we did not get to use the terrace for drinks..
We would highly recommend this hotel if holidaying in Guernsey...

Only one minor niggle... we arrived before 2pm check in time to be told very abruptly that check in time was 2pm and that was that.... no checking to see if our room was ready......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
485 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
630 reviews
2 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $88 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing