We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time gem”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second time gem”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from our second very enjoyable stay at the Cobo Bay hotel. The food was superb and we really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace watching the sun go down. The staff couldn't be more friendly whether you were served in the restaurant or on the terrace. Whether it was positioning umbrellas, patio heaters or providing blankets on the cooler evenings nothing was too much trouble. We have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wongsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    143
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
326
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just returned from staying here for nine nights. It could not have been nicer!!! The rooms were updated, clean and comfortable. The hotel and dining staff (especially Sandrine) were all so helpful and accommodating. Guernsey is a lovely British island and we loved every minute of our time there. We would always return to the Cobo Bay Hotel--the very best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zircon1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous five night stay at the Cobo Bay Hotel. When booked, a small mistake was made and we were upgraded to a top floor balcony room with sea view........ and what a view! Simply the best we have ever experienced. Sunsets are to die for. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day. The staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Evening meal was a little pricey hence we only had one, but it too was superb.
I would recommend the five night offer from Sunday which has tempting offers included and if you push the boat out for one of the top rooms, 201 or 206, I'm sure you will not be disappointed. We will be returning soon.
So why not a 5 rating? No air con or pool.

Room Tip: 201 or 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I have a birthday a week within each other, so decided to go away for a short break - Cobo Bay Hotel staff were excellent, very attentive and friendly. We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights and it was very good and also topped by excellent views and sunsets each evening.Breakfast was always relaxing and so much choice and again excellent views especially if kite surfers in the bay!! Pub next door was nice and busy, good food and very good service. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the CoboBay Hotel and would recommend it to anyone - we hope to be going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A really friendly comfortable hotel. It was my first stay here, 6th to Guernsey. The welcome was warm, the room clean and comfortable and well equipped with a hot drinks tray, a bowl of fruit and much appreciated bottles of water. The view was what I came for, nothing like seeing the sun set over the sea and the ever changing shore. The food and service in the restaurant was impeccable, the breakfasts were first class, the large bowl of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Sea view best, corner room has more light and a more sensible window to,open for overnight ventilati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Guernsey and was made all the more special by the first class service and comfort provided at the Cobo Bay Hotel. Our room was excellent, the staff are friendly and very professional and the breakfasts are wonderful. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times, not only is the view stunning, watching spectacular sunsets the food is the best we have ever had. Staying at Cobo Bay has given us a huge desire to return to the Island and would not look at any other hotels other that Cobo bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great views from the balcony rooms and the restaurant. Restaurant next door owned by same people so you can bill to your room. Good food, very nice staff.
Hotel is basic but yet has nice amenities, great bar, good restaurant. Only drawback is the road which services west side of island runs directly in front of hotel. Can be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citytraveler3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing