We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great views from the balcony rooms and the restaurant. Restaurant next door owned by same people so you can bill to your room. Good food, very nice staff.
Hotel is basic but yet has nice amenities, great bar, good restaurant. Only drawback is the road which services west side of island runs directly in front of hotel. Can be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citytraveler3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    141
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
323
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just spent the last bank holiday weekend staying at the Cobo Bay hotel. We have stayed there a few times and always had just the most incredible stay. Not only is hotel located (in my opinion) on the best stretch of coastline on Island, but the place oozes class and sophistication. We had a balcony room, which gives the most stunning sunsets and these need to be seen to be believed. You could spend hours just admiring the sea and the ever changing canvas it provides. We ate in the hotel resteraunt on a few occasions and the meals are again the best we have had. The attention to detail and service is first class. All in all this is how a hotel should be run, like clockwork.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are just dreamy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The success of this hotel is the staff, they are friendly and very efficient. From the cleaners through to the reception staff, they organise and set up the hotel perfectly. The restaurant and bar staff where the food is presented and served with 5 star quality with a friendliness that make eating there pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble, We were stuck on the Island for two days due to weather problems cancelling the ferry and being the day after Liberation day the ferries were all full, it was made all the easier by the staff who went the extra mile to ensure we weren't inconvenienced. Thank you Cobo Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great, the views are worth the extra cash,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeomanterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A 7 day holiday on the beautiful Island of Guernsey staying at the Cobo Bay Hotel... perfect! I can honestly say I could not find any fault with the hotel at all. The rooms are large, clean and spotless, serviced daily. Tea and Coffee making facilities of course. but a nice touch as well are the complimentary fruit bowl and bottles of spring water.. also replaced daily. Not many hotels do that... and that's the sort of nice touch that I like... attention to detail. The food is to die for...well prepared and cooked by an excellent chef.. and the menu is varied and plentiful. The staff are marvellous...efficient and courteous at all times...and the whole thing is run like clockwork by the 'hands on' manager Romano...nothing is too much trouble. Overall...I rate this hotel and staff as one of the best that I have stayed in...and would highly recommend anyone to book their holiday there. The hotel is on the west coast of the island where all the best beaches are... and the Cobo Bay is just 50 feet from the beach...in fact just across the road. The numbers 7, 7A, and 3 buses run past the hotel at frequent intervals and you can go any where on the island for £1 each trip. On the number 7 you can go all around the island and see all the sights and beaches ,,, take your pick and make note of where you are all for £1. If you fly into Guernsey...the island bus route goes into the airport will take you to the hotel for £1. If you want a bit less upheaval and the luxury of a taxi it will cost you about approx £12. Car hire for a small car...will cost about £120 for a week and if you hire anything bigger you will find a lot of bother on the narrow roads on the island...one of the most popular cars on the island is the FIAT 500...'nuff said! To sum things up... yes! Ticks all the boxes..great hotel, great people...top class management..top class service. I'm going back again for sure!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and get a front facing balcony room... and watch the sunsets! Magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is a real mixture. On the plus side great views, excellent and polite dining service, good restaurant, comfortable and clean rooms, On the 'not so sure' - thin walls on the first floor rooms, front desk staff lacking warmth and when I order room-service coffee I don't expect the instant variety I cold have made in the room myself! However, overall an OK choice and if the sunsets happen the views are stunning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19eagle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Three of us (one disabled) had our second stay there in March for 7 nights. This really is a fantastic hotel. Very clean (I'm a little OCD and therefore very fussy) and very friendly and attentive staff (though not in your face like some hotels, which is preferable). We again had balcony rooms looking out over the sea, heaven to wake up to in the morning, coffee on the balcony. I know some people don't like the traffic noise at the front, but actually it is barely noticeable over the lovely sound of the sea. We even sleep with the window open, so it can't be that bad. The staff were all very kind to my disabled Mum, for which I thank them. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short or long stay. We have been going to Guernsey several times a year for many years and this hotel was a good find. Unfortunately, the Vegetarian food choice is still very unimaginative and is the only thing that lets the Hotel down (there does not seem to be an awful lot of Vegetarians in Guernsey). But I have had communications with the owners and I am quite sure that it will improve in the future. The Meat and Fish dishes look divine and I was told that they were very good indeed. A big thank you to Romano and his team who run this Hotel so well and in particular to the very hard working housekeeping staff, who kept our rooms immaculate. We will be going again later in the year and I am quite sure, for many years to come.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms overlooking the sea and lovely view. A little traffic on the road in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmyLedZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for five nights at this delightful hotel – friendly smart staff, cosy bedroom, comfortable beds, superb breakfasts (we didn’t take dinner during our five night stay), good value. Fruit, biscuits and bottled water in the bedroom were most welcome.

Derek and Judy (Chesham)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing