We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay in Cobo!”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Me and my partner took advantage of the 4night Condor break offer and were surprised how smoothly everything ran. We are in our twenties and the hotel had everything we needed, modern, clean, great surroundings, friendly staff. We took full advantage of our complimentary breakfast and the hotels Terrace facilities. Having been going to Guernsey for over 15 years with the family I will be sure to re-visit again and will be checking out the hotels offers in advance. Very good for a three star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 612 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is located on the west coast right next to the sea. We had a 3 night stay, travelling over by ferry with our own car. There is a large car park at the back of the hotel so no problem parking. We booked a sea view room which had a small private balcony. The hotel had two restaurants, one outside and a large well decorated one inside. We ate in the hotel (inside) twice during our stay and the servive and food was excellent. The restaurant manager was very good and made us feel very welcome, remembering our names immediateley. Breakfasts were also excellent (we went bed and breakfast).
We did attempt to eat outside one night but it is very popular and needs to be booked in advance. The only slight drawback is that the road runs between the hotel and the sea so having a sea view room meant we also got the traffic noise at night. The local beach is huge, sandy and pretty, good for an evening stroll of for families with children.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We have just got back from our honeymoon at Cobo Bay Hotel. It deserves all the positive reviews it has had on here. We paid extra and got a room with a balcony (which was communal, but we didn't find that to be a problem) and the view over the bay was beautiful, particularly at sunset. The restaurant menu at dinner was fab, and there is also the option of eating out on the terrace, which has an equally tasty menu. The house wine was of a very good quality. I am unable to eat wheat or dairy, and I found the restaurant staff really helpful in accomodating me. The room was clean and pleasant, and the atmosphere at the hotel was cheerful and relaxed.

The only tiny criticisms are that breakfast was slightly chaotic, and on several occasions we were served the wrong food, but this was always quickly rectified. There is also a busy road between the beach and the hotel, but that is certainly not something the hotel can do anything about!

The health centre in the hotel was lovely - we enjoyed the sauna and the hot tub. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony do have a beautiful view of the sunset and the bay, but avoid if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darth1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Cobo bay hotel and with friends and had a very nice 3 days - the room was lovely, well equipped with everything you could need, very clean and comfortable. We didn't try the restaurant but the food did look very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar was a great place to relax. The outside terrace is lovely but not really warm enough for us to enjoy. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked to order. The farmhouse hotel where we were able to visit and use the pool was well worth a visit. We hired a car and found getting around a little bit scary to start with as the roads are so narrow but we soon got used to that. The tax free shopping is a real plus and electrical goods and perfume are worth a look at as much cheaper than UK. St Peter port kept us entertained for shopping and eating venues.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsiehot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I go to Guernsey a lot and was recommended to stop here.
Excellent all round, bed was delightful, Breakfast good, nothing to fault really other than I got lost trying to get back to St Peter Port

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N8225Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hotel was modern, hugely comfortable, and had some lovely luxurious additions - the shower and massive bed were 5*!!

Large pub next door with great food at very good prices - but the food and sun-terrace looking out to sea at the hotel are enough to see you never have to use it!

Great location with beach right in front of the hotel. Surf school 1 mile down the road.

Cant recommend Cobo Bay enough!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

An exceptional hotel, with quality service and food :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelyn_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
2 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: $115 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing