We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cobo is always our 1st choice!!!”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cobo is always our 1st choice!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Cobo Bay is situated in a excellent venue on the beach. The hotel is very clean and has a friendly atmosphere, nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff.
Their is a great choice of food with the restaurant and the Rockmount next door.
The rooms are very comfortable with sky tv and having a sauna and hot tub in the health suite is a great bonus.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have a superb view out to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    146
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
333
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Having recently stayed at the Cobo Bay Hotel and will definitely stay there again on my return to Guernsey. The hotel is impressive and really well equipped. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and have stunning views over the bay.

The restaurant which looks out over the bay and offers quality food and impressive wine list is definitely worth a visit. The fact that the local people book to eat at the restaurant is always a good sign!

There is an outside Terrace area that serves food and drink which certainly adds to the hotel. Nice to be sitting outside and I would imagine this is really popular during the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Cobo Bay Hotel, booked through Airmiles.
Had a lovely time.
Staff excellent, especially in the restaurant .
Great choice of breakfast and well cooked.
Would stay there again.
Hired a car but, there is a very good bus service. The only downside to that is the last bus from town is 8 pm. I understand that later services are added as the season moves on.
Book it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarniasiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

If I was to try to fault this hotel I would have to think hard and start getting picky. Like we had difficulty finding a space in the car park a couple of times but you get that everywhere and it only shows how popular the hotel and restaurant is. I can honestly say that it is the best hotel we have stayed in for all round satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdrawbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and I just returned from the Cobo Bay Hotel, where we stayed for 4 nights. The service we received from the reception staff (both during the booking process and on arrival) was very good - extremely polite and helpful.
The room (206) was very nice - clean, very light and airy, big comfortable bed, with a lovely balcony overlooking the beach. The only drawback was the road noise. The hotel is right on a busy main road, and you do suffer from loud road noise during the early morning. Having said that, it's not a problem at night, and it was lovely to go to sleep to the sound of the ocean.
The bathroom was big, with a very comfortable bath and loads of hot water, and the shower was equally nice.
Breakfast again was good; a selection of continental and cooked dishes to be had - a great way to set you up for the day. We also dined in the restaurant on our first night for dinner, and found the food to be some of the best we had on our trip to Guernsey.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel, and I don't think you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

myself & my fiancee have just returned from a two day stay at the cobo bay hotel ( 22/03/11 ~ 24/03/11 .from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome .
we were also lucky enough to be given room 204 ( centre top balcony sea view ) as soon as we entered the room sharon said that she felt comfortable & that i had picked a very good hotel , we have stayed in many .
the staff were more like 5 star staff than 3 star , polite , helpful at all times & were there when you needed them .
we dined in there award winning restaurant & the food & service was second to none .
we will be going back to guernsey & the only place we will stay is the cobo bay .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Situated across the road from a beautiful bay this hotel is an absolute gem. We stayed for four nights in a beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean double room with balcony, looking across to the beach. There was a huge and very comfortable bed, with individually controlled soft lighting and separate reading lights, two bedside tables, a desk, lounge chair, wardrobe with safe, flat screen wall hung t.v and, of course, ensuite. Check in was smooth and efficient and after using the lift, we arrived in our room to find a complimentary plate of fruit and two (glass) bottles of water - not to mention generous amounts of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.
The ensuite was spacious - ours had no bath but a large shower with a very powerful shower head. The tiling was contemporary and spotless, the toiletries plentiful - there was even a dental kit with spare toothbrush and toothpaste. The towels, fluffy and soft, were changed daily and our bedding was changed after the second night. A honeycomb cotton robe with slippers was provided.
As with the accommodation, so with the food. Breakfast is taken in the award winning restaurant and is plentiful and delicious. Choices can be made from both a buffet and cooked menu and the staff are friendly and efficient. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening - there is a half board package which we were not aware of - but the Rockmount next door, owned by the same company, serves copius amounts of delicious, competitively priced food and is family friendly. It is popular, however, and it might prove difficult to find a table here in high season.
At the front of the hotel is a terrace, not in use when we stayed but possibly noisy in the Summer although the residents lounge in the hotel was comfortable and quiet.
The hotel also offers a health suite and private sun terrace which we explored but did not use.
Nothing is too much for the staff who are friendly and happy to chat and the attention to detail is what makes this hotel special. The complimentary t.v. guide in our room was opened to the correct page every day, the instruction to "please make up my room" was written on the side of a chubby lavender bag rather than a piece of card, when a face flannel was used in the ensuite, a third flannel was left.
But, what made it for us, was being able to sit on our bed and watch the sunset across the bay - wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowslip49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoboBayHotel, Manager at Cobo Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Cowslip,

Thank you for leaving your flattering comments, which were gratefully received by all the staff & management at the hotel, and we hope to welcome you back to Cobo Bay Hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,

Luke Nussbaumer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
856 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing