We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and charming place for relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vazon Bay Apartments
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scenic and charming place for relaxing”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the beach and sitting round the hot tubs with a beer in the evenings. The man who runs the apartments can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay and is very friendly. There is also a great restaurant called crabby jacks close by which serves seafood and grills (although the quality was variable) and excellent ice cream. The beach is expansive and uncrowded and very close. Outdoor pool in the complex is good but sometimes a bit too cool for the young uns. Very relaxing but a danger of getting bored after a few days. I would go back in the future though, on the whole an enchanting place which the locals are rightly proud of.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graemedyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

From our first visit to Guernsey in 1988 to last week, this was our 6th stay at the Appartments. So it goes without saying that we like it there. Nothing has changed over the years. Richard is Richard, helpful and friendly. The accomodation is clean, spacious and well laid out. We have never had any problem at all. The beach across the road is great to stroll along and watch the sun set. Crabby Jack's is no hinderance to encouraging you to return to this spot. In all, another faultless holiday spent in what we call 'one of our favorite places'. Thanks to all who help make it so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Quilpusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week - in the deluxe bungalow. Very well laid out, kitchen and 2 en-suites were of a high standard. The owner is very friendly and polite. Close by to Crabby Jack's, and with a pool and hot tub on site, would definitely recommend a stay here!! Although not in St Peter Port, I think the views on the West Coast are amazing at night - with the sunset on the horizon. The price is on par with other accommodation on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dklon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second stay at Vazon Bay Apartments, although the first time was more than a decade ago.

The apartment sleeps 4 but there were just the two of us this time. What brought us back? First the owners are wonderful people who can't do enough to make sure you are having the best stay possible. It is in an excellent setting, particularly as the sun sets over the bay. The rooms are big enough and the kitchen is well equipped. With Crabby Jack's bar/restaurant about a minute away, a co-op less than five minutes away and a regular bus service at the end of the road, there is little else to ask for. The beach is less than 5 minutes' walk.

Taxis from St Peter Port cost around £10, but there are plenty of busses - so no big need for taxis.

Already saving for next year! Maybe two weeks next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davysims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from 1 week stay in the bungalows. Could not fault these for a great family holiday. The bungalows were clean, modern and very well equipped with Wi-Fi and good quality appliances and Sky TV. Our 9 year old loved the rabbits which you could take back to your bungalow to look after and the free pool table. Great pool and the whole site felt very safe for older children to wander or cycle round on their own. The owner Richard was very friendly and made it his daily mission to make sure all his residents were happy with their stay. When our ferry was delayed until 11pm his offer of the use of one of the apartments for the day was a god send with a 1 year old. If you are looking for a good old fashioned beach holiday would strongly recommend you book one of the bungalows which are a perfect spot for exploring the island with all the home comforts to come back to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshirePudding50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here in late August 2012.We viewed the apartments whilst we were staying in Guernsey in 2011 and the owner was so nice and friendly whilst showing us around,that we couldnt wait to return and stay there this year.And we certainly were not disappointed.!.We had apartment no1,which is a lovely apartment situated at the end of the L shaped complex.The double bedroom has its own small balcony with a wonderful view across Vazon Bay.Very spacious,very well equipped.The apartments all face the pool.Which is ideal for families.Our 9 yr old loved it and made some lovely friends.Nice for parents to sit outside the apartments and watch the children without worrying about their safety.She also enjoyed playing with the rabbits onsite.Nothing seemed too much trouble for the owner who walked around a few times daily checking that everything was ok for his guests.The apartments are slightly dated inside but very clean.Everything you need is nearby.The sunsets over Vazon Bay are amazing.!!.We had a wonderful relaxing holiday and have already booked to return next year !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lizzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Our family of grandparents, parents, uncle and toddler stayed in one of the bungalows for a week. All the necessary gear for self catering, even a coffee machine. The owner let us use his BBQ and adjusted the temperature of the jacuzzi just for us. Tidy rooms and modernized en-suites with powerful showers. Our son loved feeding the rabbits, visiting the goat and swimming in the spa pool. So wonderfully close to the beach!. Highly recommend Crabby Jacks next door for sea food, pizzas and steak and the Cobo tearooms for awesome crab salads.

Room Tip: Bungalows seem more private and positioned to catch the sun all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nx F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.8 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
587 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vazon Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vazon Bay Apartments

Property: Vazon Bay Apartments
Address: Rue des Goddards, Castel GY5 7BG
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vazon Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, just yards from the award winning Vazon Beach. Family run, purpose built apartments, set around large, heated swimming pool with toddler area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vazon Bay Apartments Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing