We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place, we would love to return again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waves Apart-Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waves Apart-Hotel
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place, we would love to return again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was a really good find and absolutely everything we could have wanted as a family. The apartment was very well appointed with a good stock of the food basics and all mod cons including a dishwasher and a filter coffee machine. The beds get particular mention as the most comfortable I have ever slept in (apart from my own bed of course). Hadrian the owner could not have been more helpful, even offering to lend me his car when I realised I had left my wallet in a shoe shop in St Peter Port with only 40mins before closing time. It is opposite the best surfing beach in Guernsey and there is a bus stop directly outside which takes you all over the island (use the excellent Ormer card). We really loved it, a brilliant find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Guernsey itself is a wonderful place to spend your vacation. And we were very lucky to find a free apartment at Waves. It's located at the west coast of Guernsey - right on the waterfront. And if you dont feel like taking the car to St Peter Port for example (which is exactly at the oppposite side of the island) - there's a bus stop right around the corner. The suite itself has all amenities one could wish for - the kitchen is perfectly equipped, the beds are sooo comfortable and the bathroom including the steam-sauna-shower... just wonderful :-)
Joanna and Hadrian are very friendly and always there when you need assistance or advise. All in all.... stay at Waves and you definitely will have a great time :-)
We will come again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_of_5_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

I wanted to get away from work and stress and Waves was the perfect place to do so. It was like going into luxury hibernation! The apartments have absolutely everything you need to escape. The beds are divine - huge and sooo comfy. I slept better than I had in months. I totally recommend it. It is great for everyone, a solo escape seeker like me, a family, a large group... just fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed in the Sark suite at Waves for 4 nights during the last week of July 2010. We couldnt fault the apartment at all. It was better than a home from home. Cozy beds, ensuite in all rooms, peace and quiet, Sky TV, WiFi, a fridge full of goodies, dishwasher, washing machine, everything exceptionally clean, great views from the front and fantastic sunsets over the sea. We will return at some point as there is lot on the island we didnt see. The only downside is that as soon as word gets around about how great waves is then it'll be hard to find a vacancy. Ooops, I better keep quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G0TSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

We were suppose to arrive when the 'ash cloud' first decended on us in April, but they were more than understanding and allowed us to re-arrange to another date in May at no extra charge.

When we arrived the place was just what we needed. Clean, tidy and safe for a 18 month old to run around. We had a three bedroom apartment with large veranda to front and back.

You can select pillow and duvet type wanted when you book and these were avaliable for our stay. Just made the stay just a bit more personal to us.

The location was brilliant being just steps from the beach where we went each evening to make sandcastles. The veranda also made a safe play area while we relaxed and enjoyed the view. Also had large resturant and shop just a few minutes walk away.

The service was good throughout our stay. Warm coissants provided every morning for breakfast with milk, cereal and yogart when we arrived. Also a bottle of wine in the fridge. All the utensials you could need throughout your stay are provided. The apartment was cleaned on the return from a day out which was really nice.

We had such a nice holiday we did not want to come home. Have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We recently stayed at Waves for a Guernsey stag party weekend. 19 lads, all in our 30s, wanted to do something different than the Pragues of this world that have been done to death. Guernsey was a shot in the dark as we had no real idea of what the island would be like. We had a tremendous time and the accommodation at Waves was a major contributing factor. The owner, Hadrian, was massively helpful in the lead-up to and throughout the weekend; he really couldn't have done more to help us. Really pleasant apartments, great location, top continental breakfast, very reasonably priced. Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone - not just large groups - as it looked very family friendly as well.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilpLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We had a wonderful long weekend at Waves. We had never visited Guernsey before and found it a real gem. 'Waves' supplied us with info on places to see and go. The only thing I would point out is that we went out of season and that some of the museums were closed but there was plenty to still see. I must point out that 'Waves' itself was excellent, it really was like home from home, which is fantastic when travelling with a baby. Luxuries in the apartment such as a dishwasher, washing machine and Sky plus made the stay particularly comfortable. I would highly recommend 'Waves'.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isleey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.3 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Apart-Hotel

Property: Waves Apart-Hotel
Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Apart-Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Apart-Hotel is a blend of boutique hotel, self catering accommodation and serviced apartments. Waves is located at Vazon Bay on the West Coast of Guernsey, a popular surf beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waves Apart-Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing