We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmopshere, good food”
Review of Fleur du Jardin

Fleur du Jardin
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmopshere, good food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is my second review of the Fleur, but as the other one was for Sunday lunch I feel it is justified.
Even though it was a midweek evening, it was very busy and some prospective customers who hadn't booked were either being turned away or decided to wait for an hour or more.
The menu is extensive and the changing selection of specials was excellent.
You were also able to mix and match from the two menus.
The starter of mozzarella and Parma ham was simple, but well done and tasty.
Main course of steak was cooked perfectly, no complaints.
Dessert of white cheesecake with Maltesers was ok, but didn't quite live up to expectations as it was slightly dry.
But a minor blemish on an excellent meal in a restaurant with good atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveGCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Intimate setting, good menu choice, nice food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In 1968 I holidayed here with my parents so it was nice to return 45 years on.

The welcome was warm, the bar area small, but there is a good choice of lagers and a couple of ales. The menu is presented on a clipboard which is a bit different. The choice is broad and the dishes have imaginative combinations. Service is not quick but the food is worth the wait - well presented and my steak was beautifully cooked.

I'd happily return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Revduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lovely place great atmosphere. Really good food. I had Turbot, excellent. Huge car park. If you fancy a beer or two walk or get the bus, it goes right by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Breeze999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Fleur du Jardin is situated in the countryside and is an old farmhouse, which is quaint. The staff are lovely, very friendly, especially the lovely French sommelier. We always make a point of going there either for lunch or dinner as often as we can

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieFuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel and its restaurant have been very much disappointed. I ate a sea bass and the plate was warm but the fish was cold and crude oil, it was disgusting. The waitresses very rude and unpleasant, never smile. The plates were late very much in being served and they were very expensive and scarce. I will not return never again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fibbs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur du Jardin also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to Fleur du Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing