We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Undercliff Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Undercliff Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Trinity B&B and Inns
Camberley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I am still congratulating myself on having found such a terrific B&B. Richard and Ida could not have been more helpful - they went out of their way on numerous occasions to ease our stay. The breakfasts are a treat with a lot of variety - I particularly enjoyed the seasonal fresh fruits as well as the delicious cooked breakfast. Our room was comfortable and clean. My friend and I were thrilled to find that the swimming pool was kept so well heated that we could swim every day, despite the weather. The location suited us very well being so close to excellent cliff walks and a bus service to return us to the Guest House. We enjoyed our evening meals at 'The Black Dog' pub just down the road. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing few days away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from Jersey and spent a lovely relaxing week at Undercliffe.
It looks beautiful from the outside and you feel at home as soon as you step inside.
It is so different from the usual guest house and much nicer than a large impersonal hotel. It is run by Richard and Ida Huson who are perfect hosts and do all they can to make sure you have a perfect stay. Richard is more behind the scene and sets you up for the day with a fabulous breakfast,(try the porridge its so creamy). Ida is so lovely she serves breakfast with a smile, and goes out of her way to make sure your stay is special. The heated pool is a real bonus and it really is warm so very relaxing. The beds are very comfy so a good nights sleep is guaranteed. The area is very quiet, safe and friendly. 2 min walk down the hill and you have The black dog and a hotel where you can get a good meal. The bus into St Helier stops at the hotel. We arrived as guests but definately left as friends, and we can't wait to go back. Linda & Colin Bryan 60+.

Room Tip: Dont think any room is bad but if you dont want to be upstairs ask for a ground floor room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colb508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Undercliff is a B&B. Run by a husband and wife, it is a clean well maintained base for exploring the Isle of Jersey. Don't be put off because it is located in the north of the island. If you have hired a car, to be recommended, then you can get everywhere quite quickly and not have the parking problems associated with being in the main towns.
Our room was of a good size although the shower was 'challenging' in that it was a mite small and awkward for me.
However, that is a small point and should not detract from the fact that this is a well run establishment serving breakfasts to suit all requirements.
Parking is off-road in their own car park opposite the B&B. A short distance further down is the harbour of Bouley where you can swim or visit the local, The Black Dog - we didn't.

Room Tip: All rooms here seem to be good and have no noise problems - enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

For the last 18 years we have been returning annually to this wonderful guest house set in the hill above the beautiful Bouley Bay. Run by Richard & Ida who are the most friendly and accomodating couple, always prepared to go that extra mile. The breakfast really set you up for the day, always something slightly different to get you started. Keen walkers will love the coastal footpaths & fantastic views accross to the French mainland. A holiday for really relaxing and recharging the batteries - we are going back once again next week and really can't wait....

Gino Ginelli

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joethetaxi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been staying at the Undercliff for the past ten years, and this year we returned for our honeymoon. Richard and Ida have always made us feel very welcome, and this year was no exception - they decorated our room with balloons, flowers and a wedding garland amongst other things. What a wonderful welcome it was. We cannot recommend the Undercliff highly enough, it's set in a beautiful quiet location, everything is so clean, the service is excellent and the breakfasts are delicious, with a definite trend towards healthy eating. Thank you again to Richard and Ida, we look forward already to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My partner and I have spent many years stay at this lovely Guest House in Bourley Bay. The friendliness of the our hosts and the cleanliness of the rooms are second to none. At first we stayed doing B&B and then decided to try the self catering cottage and would highly recommend both options. We have just returned from yet another wonderful week at Undercliff and have already booked to return again in September. Liz and Baz, Kent

Room Tip: All great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were looking forward to our stay at the Undercliff Guest House having read the reviews which highly recommended them.However were bitterly disappointed with the service we received on arrival which meant that we decided to stay elsewhere. Despite the fact that my fiance had spoken to the proporietor several times to book the accommodation we required for 3 nights and had a few hours before rung to confirm arrival time, we were not made to feel welcome. There was a ridiculous converstation regarding the fact we were not in posession of a piece of paper they were insisting they had to have as "things had to be done properly" despite the fact my fiance had the copy of the booking he had made and they would not confirm that the room they had available was in our name as they had to have this piece of paper from us which we did not fact. I worked in the hotel trade for a long time and would never have treated a customer like that. There was no effort to resolve the ludicrous situation on behalf of the proprietors who were actually very snooty and I felt rude towards us and so we left very upset by the experience. We had had 2 wonderful stays in other Jersey hotels during our break and a wonderful stay in Sark and in each case had been made to feel very welcomewith superb customer service and it is unfortunate that a hotel which is in such a lovely position and is clearly beautifully maintained and cared for made us feel so unwelcome. We will not be going back or recommending it and I have made my family aware of the experience and they also will not be recommending the Undercliff to their numerous friends who visit the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Greenhills Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay View Guest House
Bay View Guest House
#2 of 20 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seawold Guest House
Seawold Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Undercliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Undercliff Guest House

Property: Undercliff Guest House
Address: Les Charrieres de Boulay, Trinity JE3 5AS
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Trinity
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Undercliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undercliff is a tranquil family run guest house. Due to the ever increasing popularity of self catering, for 2017 we will be converting existing guest rooms to 5 self catering rooms and 3 Self Catering Junior Suites ( both these rooms types will benefit from free Continental breakfast inroom) All within the same quirky building, all modernised to a 4 star guest house standard with bigger beds, bigger TV's, bigger ensuites, and more stylish. We also have a one bed Countryview Apartment, 2 bed Sea view Apartment and our 2 beautiful Sea view 3 bed Villas, all situated in a unique location on the north coast very near Bouley Bay harbour and beach. One of the main attractions of Undercliff is that it is situated literally a few yards from the beautiful north coast cliff paths where you have stunning views of the coast of France and the outlying reefs. Also located a few minutes drive from the famous Durell Wildlife Centre and the main town of St Helier is only 15 mins drive away. With free WiFi, gardens , swimming pool and car parking Undercliff makes a perfect base to enjoy all that Jersey has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Undercliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Undercliff Guest House Hotel Trinity
Undercliff Guest House Jersey/Trinity

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing