We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing different experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durrell Wildlife Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. The weather was in our favour so that certainly helped as it was dry and sunny the day we got there. Lovely to be on the doorstep of the Durrell Wildlife Park and have unlimited access during the park's opening hours. The pods are very comfortable and cosy with the wood burning stove to add cheer and comfort. Do take a decent torch as no light in the shower/toilet room. You have one pod for your bedroom/living space, a deck, table and chairs, sun loungers. Your kitchenette and bathroom are separate. Advice if staying this time of year take plenty of layers as it does get a tittle chilly in the night and buy an extra bag of wood/kindling for your stove as we ran out of wood for the morning. A thoroughly enjoyable evening with no TV and just listening to the sounds from the park. A superb way to switch off and relax. Awesome adventure for kids as they can have a separate tepee to the main pod.

Room Tip: If wanting a quiet evening maybe ask for a pod that isn't next to Lemur Lodge as this is where e...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Durrell Wildlife Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at this great camp, it really blows your mind with just how comfortable the pods are.. fully carpeted, with a full on very comfortable bed, and the bonus of a small wood burner to add to the romance!
The pods are set out on a decked area, with also a separate fully fitted kitchen & fully fitted bathroom areas. The decked area also has a patio with table, chairs & a pair of sun loungers.
This is all set up just over the fence from the Aye Aye Lemurs in the wildlife park, with there loud calls making you feel like your in Madagascar!
There is a BBQ area right next to the camp reception area, which we used.. also the café at the entrance to the wildlife park was also excellent for light bites etc.. open on Friday evening till 8.
Another evening we went out to eat in a local pub.
Unlimited entry to the Wildlife Park is included in your overnight stays, which we just loved and spent a number of hours watching the animals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked this holiday as something different to do . What an amazing expierience! We are so glad we did. The pods are clean with everything to make your stay most comfortable.Bed linen and towels provided and ice packs available whenever you need them. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and no one interferes with you. We were feet away from the Lemurs and got to see them play everyday. With unlimited access to the park you are never short of something to do. No time limits to come and go to the camp site. We would thouroughly reccommend this holiday and we are planning our next visit. A big thank you to ranger Ashley and all the other staff for such a memorable time.

Mnay thanks Eileen and Mick

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a fantastic idea and a brilliant place to stay. Comfortable and spacious pods, relaxing atmosphere and you simply can't beat breakfast on the terrace watching the Lemurs playing in the trees literally only yards away.
The Durrell Wildlife Park is a joy to visit, so the unlimited entry enables you to enjoy this to the full and you must take advantage of the 'after hours' opportunity.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We managed to get a cancellation at Durrell, and it must have been fate! What an amazing place! We are a family of four, my children are 13 and 9, and my husband has MS, so mobility is an issue, he is unable to cover any distance on foot and relies on a wheelchair. At the camp this wasn't an issue. There are 2 'pods' that are accessibility pods but as we had a cancellation, these were not available. We took our own wheelchair but did hire a mobility scooter from the park.
The pods are amazing (I have to admit I was sceptical). There are 2 main areas, the sleeping pod and the kitchen/bathroom pod. These are set on a well maintained decking area with a table and chairs with a parasol and sun beds. Lovely to sit out with a cold glass listening to the noises of the park.

The kitchen is well stocked with good quality crockery and implements. There is a toaster and on stove kettle, bread bin and chopping board. Lovely big wine glasses, plenty of cutlery and a cooler box to keep the wine, milk, etc cool. The freezer packs are provided and we found it best to change them in the morning and when we returned in the evening. There is a light in the kitchen and a wifi dongle, 2 ring stove and a sink unit.

The bathroom had a beautiful shower, sink and toilet (with good quality paper provided). The shower didn't really pose a problem for my husband, the wet room in the accessibility pod would have been better, but we managed fine. There is also an airer to dry towels (towel packs are available to hire - excellent quality)

The bedroom pod is amazing! The one we were in had a pine double bed which was of superb quality with equally good quality pillows and quilt. You almost sink into the bed! The children had a single mattress on the floor. There is a wood burner which is really cosy in the evening! A bedside light and solar torch is provided. The floor is carpeted, which is lovely! A hanging rail for clothes is provided and a large lidded underbed box, along with 2 bedside cabinets. Very roomy.

We were in pod 8 which is the furthest away. This was lovely as it was completely private. In the centre of camping area is a green where the children played, all the kids mixed, it was lovely. It was perhaps one of the most relaxing holidays we have had. We thought that we would be kept awake by the noise of the animals in the park but you soon get used to it. The lemurs start about 5am, but I quickly went back to sleep and didnt notice it as the week progressed. In fact it was quite comforting to hear the tamarins, lemurs, flamingoes and cranes. It was a fantastic break and a very different holiday, I am so glad we were able to get the cancellation. All the staff are extremely helpful, sylvie who took the booking, Ashley and vicky who work at the camp, were all very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

We did one of the twilight tours with ed, this was excellent. It should only have been an hour but was closer to 2! If you are contemplating this as a holiday, do it! We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

12 of us have recently stayed at the Durrell Wildlife Camp in the very spacious pods and teepees. 8 adults and 4 children.

The facilities are great! The beds extremely comfortable and the cooking and washing facilities more than adequate. Bed linen and bath towels are provided along with a shower mat and also a tea towel. These you can ask to be replaced whenever you need to. One small criticism would be the lack of a light for the bathroom. Not so bad for females needing a loo visit in the night, but for the boys.... haha!
The pods become sauna hot during the day but as we were out and about wasn't really an issue. They cooled right down again in the evening and we did use our log burner which was lovely.

I absolutely loved hearing the lemurs "kicking off" every now and then and even their 5am "shout out" really didn't bother me.
Included with the cost was access into the zoo which was great. We didn't feel
like we had to see everything all in one go.

Ashley and the rest of the staff on site are very happy to help and very informative.

Not something we'd be able to afford every year but something we would definitely like to do again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstCPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a great place to stay, the pods were comfortable and the kitchen and bathroom facilities top notch. There was everything you need, loads of hot water and a lovely fire should you need it, just take a lantern for the bathroom.The layout was really good meaning you didn't feel like you we're being overlooked by the other campers. Being woken by the Lemurs was different but we soon looked forward to hearing them. Having free access to the park was one of the highlights, we visited everyday and at different times which meant we got to see the animals doing their thing. We sat for ages watching the Lemurs and the kids loved the gorillas and orangutans. Seeing (once we found them) the Tamarin monkeys roaming free was a highlight. All the staff we met both on the park and the camp were helpful and obviously love their job, Fiona who did the animal talks was very good. We look forward to coming back and seeing how the camp surroundings grow and hopefully there will be some bears as the boys wanted to see them. I highly recommend the camp and the park.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
3.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
840 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
763 reviews
6.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,988 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrell Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrell Wildlife Camp

Address: Les Augres Manor, La Profonde Rue, Trinity JE3 5BP
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Trinity
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Trinity
Price Range: $173 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Durrell Wildlife Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind down in the wild at Durrell Wildlife Camp, an exclusive luxury getaway experience, and let the sights and sounds of our zoo in Jersey transport you to the forests of Madagascar. Each spacious camping pod has a double bed, wood burning stove, outdoor deck with sun-beds, as well as showering and kitchen facilities. Pods can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. Tipis are also available for up to 2 children or teenagers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durrell Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrell Wildlife Camp Jersey/Trinity

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing