We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Relaxed Straight Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durrell Wildlife Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a fantastic idea and a brilliant place to stay. Comfortable and spacious pods, relaxing atmosphere and you simply can't beat breakfast on the terrace watching the Lemurs playing in the trees literally only yards away.
The Durrell Wildlife Park is a joy to visit, so the unlimited entry enables you to enjoy this to the full and you must take advantage of the 'after hours' opportunity.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We managed to get a cancellation at Durrell, and it must have been fate! What an amazing place! We are a family of four, my children are 13 and 9, and my husband has MS, so mobility is an issue, he is unable to cover any distance on foot and relies on a wheelchair. At the camp this wasn't an issue. There are 2 'pods' that are accessibility pods but as we had a cancellation, these were not available. We took our own wheelchair but did hire a mobility scooter from the park.
The pods are amazing (I have to admit I was sceptical). There are 2 main areas, the sleeping pod and the kitchen/bathroom pod. These are set on a well maintained decking area with a table and chairs with a parasol and sun beds. Lovely to sit out with a cold glass listening to the noises of the park.

The kitchen is well stocked with good quality crockery and implements. There is a toaster and on stove kettle, bread bin and chopping board. Lovely big wine glasses, plenty of cutlery and a cooler box to keep the wine, milk, etc cool. The freezer packs are provided and we found it best to change them in the morning and when we returned in the evening. There is a light in the kitchen and a wifi dongle, 2 ring stove and a sink unit.

The bathroom had a beautiful shower, sink and toilet (with good quality paper provided). The shower didn't really pose a problem for my husband, the wet room in the accessibility pod would have been better, but we managed fine. There is also an airer to dry towels (towel packs are available to hire - excellent quality)

The bedroom pod is amazing! The one we were in had a pine double bed which was of superb quality with equally good quality pillows and quilt. You almost sink into the bed! The children had a single mattress on the floor. There is a wood burner which is really cosy in the evening! A bedside light and solar torch is provided. The floor is carpeted, which is lovely! A hanging rail for clothes is provided and a large lidded underbed box, along with 2 bedside cabinets. Very roomy.

We were in pod 8 which is the furthest away. This was lovely as it was completely private. In the centre of camping area is a green where the children played, all the kids mixed, it was lovely. It was perhaps one of the most relaxing holidays we have had. We thought that we would be kept awake by the noise of the animals in the park but you soon get used to it. The lemurs start about 5am, but I quickly went back to sleep and didnt notice it as the week progressed. In fact it was quite comforting to hear the tamarins, lemurs, flamingoes and cranes. It was a fantastic break and a very different holiday, I am so glad we were able to get the cancellation. All the staff are extremely helpful, sylvie who took the booking, Ashley and vicky who work at the camp, were all very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.

We did one of the twilight tours with ed, this was excellent. It should only have been an hour but was closer to 2! If you are contemplating this as a holiday, do it! We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

12 of us have recently stayed at the Durrell Wildlife Camp in the very spacious pods and teepees. 8 adults and 4 children.

The facilities are great! The beds extremely comfortable and the cooking and washing facilities more than adequate. Bed linen and bath towels are provided along with a shower mat and also a tea towel. These you can ask to be replaced whenever you need to. One small criticism would be the lack of a light for the bathroom. Not so bad for females needing a loo visit in the night, but for the boys.... haha!
The pods become sauna hot during the day but as we were out and about wasn't really an issue. They cooled right down again in the evening and we did use our log burner which was lovely.

I absolutely loved hearing the lemurs "kicking off" every now and then and even their 5am "shout out" really didn't bother me.
Included with the cost was access into the zoo which was great. We didn't feel
like we had to see everything all in one go.

Ashley and the rest of the staff on site are very happy to help and very informative.

Not something we'd be able to afford every year but something we would definitely like to do again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstCPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a great place to stay, the pods were comfortable and the kitchen and bathroom facilities top notch. There was everything you need, loads of hot water and a lovely fire should you need it, just take a lantern for the bathroom.The layout was really good meaning you didn't feel like you we're being overlooked by the other campers. Being woken by the Lemurs was different but we soon looked forward to hearing them. Having free access to the park was one of the highlights, we visited everyday and at different times which meant we got to see the animals doing their thing. We sat for ages watching the Lemurs and the kids loved the gorillas and orangutans. Seeing (once we found them) the Tamarin monkeys roaming free was a highlight. All the staff we met both on the park and the camp were helpful and obviously love their job, Fiona who did the animal talks was very good. We look forward to coming back and seeing how the camp surroundings grow and hopefully there will be some bears as the boys wanted to see them. I highly recommend the camp and the park.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very relaxing stay, with plenty of room in the main tent,and in the adjacent kitchen/shower/WC tent, (take a torch/lantern as no light in the shower/WC area) all on a good sized decked pitch, also with 2 sun-loungers, 4 chairs and a table.The camp staff are very friendly, and we had the lemurs for company only a matter of yards away in the wildlife park...great view of feeding time and a free early morning wake up call from the lemurs, brilliant. We also made use of our visitor passes for the wildlife park, visiting 3 times during our stay.
If you take your car over on the ferry (the crew on condor ferries were fantastic, especially during the rough crossing going to Jersey), we found the fuel 10p a litre cheaper in Jersey.
Road signs/directions not the best, but it is a lovely drive round. Free parking near beaches away from St.Helier & St.Bralades, but you will need a pay and display scratch card for parking in St.Brelade & St.Aubins. We used the pay on exit waterfront multi-storey parking in St.helier or went to Gorey and parked by the beach there, Gorey has a good store, chinese or lovely fish and chips for example.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We'd originally intended on staying in a cottage for our trip to Jersey but chanced upon the advert for Durrell Wildlife Camp and thought we'd take a punt on something which looked very different.
What a great decision! In common with other reviewers, I can't speak highly enough of the standard of accommodation. Everything was clean, well maintained and cared-for. The location is spectacular and the experience of sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and listening to the various sounds of the Wildlife Park is unique. The lemurs are certainly 'vocal' but that just added to the stay. It was great to watch them from the Lemur Lodge.
The camp has obviously been created with the intention of a unique and memorable experience. Everything has been done to make the pods and the areas around them private and yet not so much as to be impersonal and to take away from interaction with other 'glampers'.
As with other reviewers, it's difficult not to pick out the personal care and attention you get when you stay at Durrell. Ashley and Sylvie particular did much to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and that sort of attention shouldn't be taken for granted when thinking of somewhere to stay.
One obviously wants accommodation to add to a holiday and in the case lf Durrell Wildlife Camp, it became a central part of the enjoyment of our holiday - much more than we'd expected. As with others, we've already booked to return and are thoroughly looking forward to it. I'd not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a fantastic experience. Proper beds, clean, crisp bed linen, with your own shower and kitchen. Everything was spotless and in perfect working order. We had the teepee as well, which was great - a lovely big space for older children. Ashley, the camp manager was really helpful and so was Sylvie. Many thanks!
Being so close to Durrell was just fab. We went along the short walk to get in just about every morning. The free entry meant that we were able to take our time seeing it all. We'd then drive out in the afternoon - Often to one of the great beaches which are close by.
The lemurs roaming in the trees around lemur lake are only a couple of yards away from the camp, amazing to watch and listen to them while relaxing by your pod! They do make a noise, though our 5yr old was unfazed. We've already booked again for next year.!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parasitegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
3.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
876 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
856 reviews
6.4 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrell Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrell Wildlife Camp

Address: Les Augres Manor, La Profonde Rue, Trinity JE3 5BP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Trinity
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Trinity
Price Range: $208 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Durrell Wildlife Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind down in the wild at Durrell Wildlife Camp, an exclusive luxury getaway experience, and let the sights and sounds of our zoo in Jersey transport you to the forests of Madagascar. Each spacious camping pod has a double bed, wood burning stove, outdoor deck with sun-beds, as well as showering and kitchen facilities. Pods can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. Tipis are also available for up to 2 children or teenagers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Durrell Wildlife Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrell Wildlife Camp Jersey/Trinity

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing