We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with some but not others” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Water's Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Water's Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trinity
Southampton
Level Contributor
169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Agree with some but not others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent four nights at the Water's Edge and found that we agreed with some of the reviews on here but not others. First of all, the hotel does need a revamp as the decor is tired and dated. However, we ate three times in the restaurant and the food was outstanding all three evenings as was breakfast each morning. The setting naturally is spectacular, with views across to the French coast. The room was also a decent size, the bathroom excellent and the bed very comfortable. If a revamp is done, this could be a spectacular hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tongo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    76
    40
    26
    17
See reviews for
56
115
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I really am not sure what is going on with this hotel. The previous reviews have been very mixed, with some guests giving it 5 out of 5 and others rating it terrible. Well, here's our experience. The hotel's setting is absolutely breathtaking - amazing views over the bay, water's edge is literally outside the door and the sea is fabulous for swimming in, eating in the restaurant either at breakfast or for dinner provides panoramic views over the water and coastline, and we had a (partial) sea view from our room, with the noise of the ocean so close very nice indeed. However... the room itself left a lot to be desired. Thread-bare carpets, two single beds pushed together to create a make-shift double (with two separate single duvets!), beetles on the floor, shabby old-fashioned wallpaper, tacky 70's and 80's style mis-matched furniture and the bathroom... well, that was the worst part. The bath itself was an old, plastic salmon-pink affair with a thin, mouldy white curtain draped in it. Above the bath hung a shower (which although powerful enough,) was held together at the head of the hose by sticky tape!!! The floor was covered in disgusting old linoleum with a horrible pattern, the type of stuff I haven't seen since I was a child. The toilet kept filling up high with water and you had to pump the handle a few times to get it to flush. The wash-hand basin was white and new and did not match anything else in the bathroom! There was also an old electric bar-heater attached to the wall which looked filthy and to be quite frank, dangerous. We complained about the bathroom and the receptionist, busy eating a snack, answered that it was the biggest bathroom in the hotel (completely missing the point). We were assured that the shower, however wold be fixed and she noted the problem in a little paper book (the shower incidentally, never was fixed,and we had to bring this up again, at departure we were given £10 off our final bill as an apology). We were staying with another few couples in the hotel and their rooms, however, had newer bathroom suites and their rooms appeared to be cleaner and more up to date than ours. The breakfasts were good (again, though, inconsistent - some of us got served right away, others had to ask where their food was, and simply got told it would come when it was ready). Like previous reviewers, I agree completlely that there appears to be a lack of any managerial presence. I just can't work it out - with a location like this, surely they should try much, much harder. And why are they not addressing the issues that have been written here by many reviewers, time and time again? A real shame. Not cheap and not worth the money - the only saving grace is the fabulous location.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 4th floor with a sea view as these appeared to be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spikesicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia N, Manager at The Water's Edge Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are sorry to read about your unpleasant experiences. At the end of September 2012, the owners cancelled the lease of the Hotel Group that had been leasing it for 4 years. During the annual closure, October to 27 March, we are undertaking extensive repairs and renewals to all guest rooms, kitchens and public areas.

We will re-open with a new experienced team and will be offering comfortable guest rooms, good quality service and food.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sonia Neal
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trinity hotels

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stunning views, beautful quiet location, but yet only 2 minutes from Gerald Durrell's zoo, 15 minutes from Gorey Castle & 20 minutes from the capital St. Helier.
The staff were very pleasant & helpful. Thomas, Pav & Fran went out of there way to make our stay a special one.
A very rare sight, infact a first, was to see a member of staff arriving on a speed boat, across the harbour, to serve breakfast(Fran!). What a joy, made us all laugh.
Thankyou very much for making my Mothers' holiday a very special & memorable one.
Well done x

Room Tip: sea view is exceptional, but mine was a double room at the rear of the hotel & it was a large ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is in a fab location with beautiful views over the bay. There is no traffic noise at all and no road between the hotel and the sea. It's worth paying extra for a seaview. Some rooms have balconies and it worth asking for one as the sound of the sea is mavellous. We ate Bouley Bay Lobster in the restaurant which was delicious and well cooked. On the downside the hotel has an unloved feel with no evidence of a "hands on" manager. Having said that most of the staff were very polite and helpful. We also heard rumours that there are plans to knock the hotel down and build flats on the site ( which would be a real shame) which might account for the lack of attention to detail on the room maintainance. We used this as a base to walk round the island using the bus service which stops right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: There is no traffic noise at all and no road between the hotel and the sea. It's worth paying e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyandbev_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We saw an advert for this hotel in a newspaper and, at first glance the price for flights and hotel seemed to cheap. We were a bit sceptical but booked anyway. We arrived on a Saturday evening late. When we woke on on Sunday mornings to the incredible views outside our window we could not believe our luck. The views and the location are genuinely breath taking. During the week our room was kept very clean, we received great service from the staff, excellent food (we were on half board and so glad we pre-booked the evening meals as they were delicious). We cannot fault this hotel in any way. We recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel is 2.9 miles from the town. There is a cheap, regular, approx hourly bus but we hired a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a shame they are running this hotel down due to its closure .. and it shows (apparently they are making it into flats but dates to when this is happening has not been confirmed - hence no money being spent on it!!!) as it could be a truely wonderful place to stay. It was expensive for a very basic, dated room, bed was old but just about ok to sleep in, tv rarely worked due to no signal, bathroom was cleaned every day with fresh towels and floor hoovered .. the bed was rarely made and linnen changed only once during my two week stay. Walls to rooms are quite thin! Gardens and pool area not looked after although the pool was clean and well used. Breakfast was basic but ok, didn't stay for an evening meal so can't comment. Wifi only in lounge which closed when the bar closed at 10.30/11pm or reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful and yes parking is an issue but then it is a very popular bay!

Although it is a dated hotel that needs money spent on it to update it this unfortunately just isn't going to happen, which is sad as it is quite special ... and yes there were issues but I enjoyed my stay very much ... it's a wonderful location with so much going on ... I would happily stay there again ... if it hasn't closed when I next go over .......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizgiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Rooms smelled so badly it was hard to breath.

Car parking is difficult because the hotel allows non-residents (day trippers to the restaurant) to use the carpark. Non- resisdents also allowed to use the pool.

Wall paper peeling.

Not clean.

Difficult to sleep because walls and floors so thin, one can hear every noise from other customers.

How the management could allow this to happen is beyond belief because the location is great. There must be another agenda on the go.

I have stayed in some very cheap and dodgy places and this was one of the worst and it certainly was not cheap.

I would have rather slept on a beach and that is not a joke.

Did not eat at hotel owing to silly prices.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you do get a sea view and bring a dust mask or gas mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
6.4 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Greenhills Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
6.2 mi away
Biarritz Hotel
Biarritz Hotel
#3 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water's Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water's Edge Hotel

Property: The Water's Edge Hotel
Address: Les Charrieres de Boulay, Jersey, Trinity JE3 5AS
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Trinity
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Water's Edge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the cliffs of Bouley Bay, the privately owned Water's Edge Hotel, overlooking the Bay, quaint Harbour and the distant French coast, has one of the most spectacular views in Jersey.The Water's Edge Hotel, a 3-Star hotel, with a 5-star location, is the ideal place to escape the day to day routine, with 45 guest rooms,its own private gardens, outdoor heated swimming pool between April - September and direct beach access.Modern 2-bedroom Self Catering Chalets with Sea views are also available on site.For the energetic, there is a 5-star PADI Scuba-diving centre, also offering snorkelling, kayaking and canoeing.The stunning cliff path network commences a few yards from the hotel. Enjoy the finest walks, where the scenery is wild and the terrain ruggedly beautiful, with steep heather and bracken-clad cliffs that soar high above Bouley Bay and beyond.Adults and Children can enjoy our fully equipped Games Room, featuring pool tables, video games, big screen TV, WiFi and seating area.There is a choice of four dining options, in Pebbles Restaurant, Al Fresco Rooftop Terrace and the Lounge Bar, which offer casual dining from the a la carte menus, as well as set menus. The Black Dog serves traditional pub food.Within 5 minutes drive, visit the famous Durrell Wildlife Park. The Island's capital, St Helier, located four miles away, is a charming, compact shopping haven, where designer boutiques and high street names sit side by side.Located only 6 miles from Jersey Airport and 4 miles from the Condor ferry terminal. There is a daily bus service which picks up directly outside the hotel, although we highly recommend hiring a car, in order to maximise your stay by visiting Jersey's attractions and beaches.We look forward to welcoming you to The Water's Edge.Mark NealGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Trinity
Hotel Waters Edge
Waters Edge Jersey
Waters Edge Hotel Jersey
The Water's Edge Hotel Jersey/Trinity

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing