We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! Took our breath away!!”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned (today) aug 16th from our week stay in the Merton Suites part of the hotel. When we arrived the staff on reception were extremely welcoming and helpful and advised us on car parking and how to access. Ww were also given a welcome pack which was fully explained. When we arrived to our suite we opened the door to WOW!!! An amazingly clean, trendy, comfortable large suite with all facilities including a dishwasher. Complimentary tea, coffee, dishwasher tabs were replenished daily and suite service staff were extremely friendly and chatty. The pool was across the road and was the cleanest pool I have ever been in (I'm quite fussy like that!) Lifeguards always watching and cleaning throughout the day. Very child friendly and we ate once in the italian restaurant which was lovely. Children went to the kids club a couple of times which they enjoyed too.A stone throw to everything really but we also walked quite distances as St Helier isso beautiful! This has been the first holiday when we have arrived home slightly saddned to have left such a fantastic hotel and place. I cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not attend but we will certainly be returning again next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shopping65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Really enjoyed our week at Merton Hotel. All the staff were very polite, helpful and cheery. Good numbers of staff always on hand. Although the hotel was busy and fully booked the size and layout of the premises ensured it didn't feel overcrowded.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quite! As others have said maybe a little to warm at times. Breakfast and Dinner choices really superb. Something for everyone whatever your taste. Food quality excellent. Enjoyed all the facilities, especially the large indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, sauna & steam room.

Ideally situated around 10 mins walk into town centre and just 20 mins drive away from Jersey airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a party of 8 into the Merton from August 9th to 16th. This was our 3rd visit
The hotel has gone down from last year
2 years out of 3 Flowrider was broken
Lacks attention to detail, eg, numerous ligtbulbs were out. Toilet roll holders broken etc
Food was not as good. Less choise at breakfast. Coffee was awful, very weak like dishwater
Machine for toast were a disaster, burnt the toast
Some food obviously microwaved, eg Yorkshire puddings were too hard to cut.
No fresh fruit this year.
Some parts of the dinning hall were very dark and off putting
Not all staff understood English,, and had to show the waiter a fork so he knew what we wanted
On good entertainment was Tuesday, a Japanese illusionist
Drinks very expensive
We are returning to Jersey next year but will look for a different hotel
Shame

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Kishin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymourgroup, Director of Sales at Merton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.
We will immediately review all areas to ensure that light bulbs and other equipment are in full working order and to our usual high standards of maintenance and safety.
We always request that complaints are made at the time so they can be rectified straight away whenever possible
The Flowrider is unfortunately out of order due to a mechanical issue. We are hoping that a new motor will be fitted within the next few months. We can only apologise for any disappointment caused by this, and have done all we can to make alternative arrangements.

In closing, we would like to assure you that we take all complaints very seriously to ensure that all guests have a great stay at The Merton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Loved the hotel, good location. Great swimming pool and choice of restaurants. Great choice at breakfast time and very good quality. We all looked forward to breakfast time everyday. Staff all helpful. Our only grumble was the bedrooms got too hot and stuffy even when the temperature cooled down. The hotel has tried to help with fans but really need air con. Would definitely stay there again if we go back to Jersey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Classed as a family hotel we thought it would be overun with "kids" how wrong we where.
Lets start with Reception: Fantastic welcome by very infomed staff. The room had everthing in it Tea-Coffee - Hairdryer -Bathroom soaps & shampoes. Very clean and plenty of drawer and hanger space.
The hotel is very well looked after and ALL rooms are spotless (Public Areas - Bars - Swimming Pool and so on). One area that is worth a mention is the public toilets: SPOTLESS.
The Breakfast is unbalivable, you had so much to choise from and the staff where VERY polite and could not do enough for you.
The entertainment was differant every night and a good variety.
We dinned in Bonnetis most nights and the food and service was excelent, The Polish Lady that greets you at the door cannot do enough for you, a credit to the hotel.
We travelled around the island but it was always a pleasure to come back to the hotel each night
we stayed at the hotel for 5 nights.
Great Hotel
Great Staff
Fantastic food
Would we stay there again, whithout a dout.

Room Tip: Ask for a a room overlooking the Garden overlooking Bonnetis (room 345)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our first time in Jersey - we loved the island and found the perfect family hotel. My daughter (12) made loads of friends and had a fantastic time. Only issue was the lack of food choice. We booked B&B - the breakfast was great - however the choice for food in the evening was limited in the hotel and nothing else in the area. Definitely need a car in order to experience the local cuisine.
Entertainment was good most nights! Bar is expensive and corkage outrageous at £7 per bottle. But yes we would go there again!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Merton, we stayed in the Dodo suites. The room was stunning, extremely clean with high quality fixtures and fittings. The quality of the food really surprised us, for a buffet style restaurant, it was exceptional quality, all seasoned to perfection. Breakfast was also delicious. We have all returned about half a stone heavier! The facilities are all great, we used the gym and the pool, the children loved the pool especially the rapids and the slide. We spent every night in the Star Room, the children's kids zone live is brilliant for kids, the energy and enthusiasm of the staff really shows. The Chocco Latte being the highlight of the night! Each night there was different act, never failing to entertain, from wresting to magic and illusion to tribute singers. It was great because we didn't need to leave the hotel, having two young children this was ideal. During the day we visited Jerseys many beaches and attractions but the hotel made the holiday extra special and we are booking again for next year if we can get a room! its very popular and books up quick.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can, definitely worth the extra, makes the holiday feel 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, St.Saviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $117 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, UK
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing