We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We've just spent 3 nights there and it really is a good hotel. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfy, and there was plenty going on at the hotel. A very good choice for families, as there is lots for the kids (and adults). It's about 15 mins walk into town, but there are 3 eating places within the hotel itself, plus a cafe in the indoor pool complex across the road, so you have a good choice :-) would recommend it :-)

Room Tip: We had a sea view, a it was spectacular :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    477
    145
    37
    10
See reviews for
706
433
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Friends plus my wife and I stayed for a long weekend to attend a ballroom dance function at the Jersey Town hall with music provided by Jersey's own big band of 18 players.
Our hotel choice was the Merton and the Big Band were playing there which they do most Sunday mornings.

Having stayed there some forty years ago the changes were dramatic. The front entrance from years ago is no longer although you can tell where it is if you look at the opposite end from the current entrance.
Gone is the picture inside that showed the Swastika flying over the doorway, from the war years that hung in the foyer.

Now the hotel has been pleasantly modernised and enlarged, there are quite a lot of floor level changes as you move around.
The main restaurant and the Italian specialty restaurant are located on lower floors or basement level. These are both excellent venues in all respects the main restaurant is buffet style service with a good selection at breakfast and dinner. The Italian Restaurant is the quieter and smaller of the two and has a good ambiance about it. The food is excellent and served in a proper manner by attentive staff. There are snacks available in the bars and the American Diner type ice cream parlour.

The rooms are not large but good size with 3 chairs good size wardrobes and plenty of separate drawers. The bathroom is not large only one person at a time size but the facilities are good and the shower excellent.
Parking is about 50 yards from the hotel in its own parking area and requires a free parking voucher from reception to avoid clamping.
There is a Spa and indoor outdoor swimming pool with wave machine that seemed very popular.

The Starlight Room is the hotels own entertainment venue, there was a German themed Beer festival going on whilst we were there complete with Ledehosen and Hats with feathers.
Lots of Oompah music was being played beyond midnight. it did not bother us but could be a nuisance if your room is adjacent.
On our last day parties of school children arrived, they behaved quite well but were noisy and destroyed the quiet pleasant mealtimes we had enjoyed up till then. So it may pay to ask if School parties and Oompah Bands will be in the hotel during your stay.

The hotels location is on the perimeter of the town about 10/15 minutes walk down hill into the shopping area of harbour area.
Driving into town is difficult because of the tortuous narrow one way system that exists to keep the traffic flowing. In the evenings we used Taxis, approximately £8 will get you to most restaurants.
The hotel is a twenty minute drive from the airport and is best accessed via the tunnel on the main road as you pass the town, Use the centre lane, left is town centre and right will send you past the tunnel. At the roundabout straight over into Green Road then keep bearing left until you see the Merton Board by the traffic lights that tells you second left, it is a blind turn you have been warned!

To summit up we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, our only quite feeble grumble was the difficulty in accessing the self service toaster at breakfast time.
We will probably be going to the Merton again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriumphEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the third time we have been to the Merton and, as before, we were impressed with the whole package (as were the friends we travelled with). The reception is friendly yet professional, there is no stuffy, snobbish atmosphere and the range of the breakfast buffet was almost too good (what do you choose?). All the staff are smart and professional. The hotel is large enough to get lost in, but rooms are well signposted and there is a choice of catering to suit all tastes. The late autumn deals are a great idea and we would certainly take advantage of one of those again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bretgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from the merton ..very clean hotel ,breakfast good.skimming pool great even in the rain ...very relaxed .everyone chatted to each other even met a lady who lives 3miles away and hope to meet up soon .

Room Tip: Use floor 6 out of the way and can replace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdauncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

from the 8-15th of October myself and partner where back at the Merton Hotel for the Jersey Rally annual pilgrimage to the rock.

Once again we where greeted very nicely by the reception staff and where happy to hear it was our 8th time.
A slight mix up with the beds as we had twin singles, but that was soon sorted by Ryan Watson and a double bed and new room was allocated in 10 minutes. so happy days there.
It was nice to get back into the Lobby bar for a pint of Mary Ann special. It was good to see the Jersey Rally regulars back and we had fun. Again breakfasts and meals where excellent and we did our usual Bonnettis restaraunt, but tried the Belvedere for a meal which was just as good. One thing the staff certainly work for their money there, but the still give us an excellent service. The only downside to this year was the sports bar upstairs only had a fosters pump on and no beer pumps and with the Jersey Rally party on the saturday night this was a problem as people had to go to the star bar. One thing that did annoy me was that customers being charged £3.40 for a can of beer and this needs to be rectified. Overall glad to be back and already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6R4ONLINENEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked for the soul & motown weekend what a fantastic show both nights,who would believe after seeing these people doing the acts they stay in hotel & mingle with guests just chatting about everday life fantastic.
The hotel is superb,very high standards from customer service to the food served at the buffet could not find fault with this hotel.A little tardis as someone else said make sure you make use of the late sports bar upstairs we didn't leave till gone three in the morning.
Will definately be staying again & booking extra nights.Well done Merton Hotel you made our weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here with my mother in August and had a lovely time. The hotel was clean, although a little dated - but that didn't spoil our trip. The staff were friendly and helpful - it was a good location to base ourself for a short break.

The pizza in the Italian wasn't very nice, but the other food we had was fine. The milk shakes in the diner were amazing! The entertainment was fun and reminded us of a holiday camp.

The swimming facilities were great, with a boy wave rider for the kids - the lads that worked on it seemed lovely.

Overall great break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 81_Rebecca_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#3 of 5 in St.Saviour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: Belvedere Hill, St.Saviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, UK
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing