We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here with my mother in August and had a lovely time. The hotel was clean, although a little dated - but that didn't spoil our trip. The staff were friendly and helpful - it was a good location to base ourself for a short break.

The pizza in the Italian wasn't very nice, but the other food we had was fine. The milk shakes in the diner were amazing! The entertainment was fun and reminded us of a holiday camp.

The swimming facilities were great, with a boy wave rider for the kids - the lads that worked on it seemed lovely.

Overall great break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81_Rebecca_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited the Merton in May this year and enjoyed it so much that when we got home we booked again to go in August. The staff were very friendly. The room was adequate for our needs and was cleaned on a daily basis. The food was superb and always plenty to choose from. The entertainment was also excellent and there was something on every evening. We have already booked to stay at the Merton again next August.
Phyl T

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Merton for a short break from 24/9/13-27/9/13, what a lovely surprise.
Reception staff very welcoming and helpful throughout. Our room on the second floor across
from reception provided everything we needed, including the softest whitest towels in any hotel we have stayed in. The only disappointment was no airconditioning, it was hot. The restaurant was exceptional, both the professional staff and the selection of superb food, The hotel itself was just like a tardis, it looked just ordinary from the outside, but inside there was so much to discover all the bars, games room,gym, entertainment rooms and we had great entertainment for the 3 nights we stayed Trips out could be booked and the coach picked us up from and dropped us at the hotel. Go with Alex from Waverley coaches, he was so informative and entertaining.
All in a superb break with very high standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxx099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our fourth visit to The Mertyon Jersey. Excellent buffet with plenty of choice. Friendly staff, adequate room always cleaned well. Gym could be a bit bigger but that would not put me off doing a fifth visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the high standards for a 3* hotel and the reasonable price for staying there.I used to live in Jersey and was looking for a base to go on a trip of nostalgia and visit old friends,The merton was ideal for this.There was plenty of choice for breakfast although my husband did moan about the fried eggs being hard.The rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily, our room looked across the sea and the only downside was no aircon.
My friend came to visit with her young daughter who had made a sponge cake at school, the hotel provided plates and cutlery so we could have a piece with our coffee, the staff were very friendly.We didn't eat in at night because the tennerfest had begun but the restaurant comes highly recommended by the locals.There was no entertainment midweek except for a pianist in the bar so I cannot comment on it. I have visited many hotels on the island to dine in etc and this hotel ticks all the boxes for a 3*

Room Tip: higher floor has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0151angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked this break within a few weeks of travel as a deal came up on Travelzoo. I did wonder what the hotel was going to be like but I needn'y have bothered. Everything was great including the staff who are friendly, helpful, approachable and plenty of them.
Dining in the large Belvedere restaurant is a treat in itself as you just help yourself from the wide selection on offer. There is something to suit all tastes, but as I cannot eat onion or peppers the chef was happy to give me a plate of plain vegetables each evening, then I just chose my meat.
I would definitely recommend the half board option as eating out in Jersey is quite expensive. If you did choose to pay for a meal in the hotel it will cost you £24.50.
The location for us was perfect as we like to walk and if you cut through the lovely Howard Davis Park you can be in St.Helier in under 10 minutes. If you go out of the bottom entrance you can reach the beach in 5 minutes.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very well maintained and is a credit to everyone working there. The General Manager, Mike McInerney is a hands on Manager which is nice to see and I congratulate him and his team for making our holiday so enjoyable. If we ever return to Jersey, this is the place we will head for. We flew with Blue Islands Airline out of Bristol and I must say they were brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pc1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recently spent 6 nights at The Merton Hotel, which included the Dominic Kirwan weekend. First class service from the time we booked in at reception. The room was clean and tidy and well decorated with a view of the garden.The food was good when you consider it was 'buffett' style, very wide choice of meats every evening, indeed there was something to suit all tastes.The Staff were all very friendly and made you feel welcome. There are a number of bars to pick from for a drink. The Star Room was well decorated and very welcoming. The table wlasse had booked for Dominic Kirwan was in a wonderful position with a first class view of the Stage. We will have to return for the Dominic Kirwan show next year. The swimming pool and gym etc were

Room Tip: Room 370 has a good view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,723 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, St.Saviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $97 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, UK
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing