We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for classic car weekend. Very good position, safe car park. Breakfast good choices, ate in Bonetti's each evening where food and service were very good. Particularly liked the scallop starter.
Room perfectly adequate with small bathroom. Shower however was excellent, better than 5* hotel we stayed in night before trip.
Family friendly hotel with good pool, activities for children and entertainment for all.
Definitely worth using as a base for touring jersey.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Spring Bank Holiday and loved every moment of my stay. I may not have made full use of the hotel's facilities but what I did see and use were great.

Breakfast was a full buffet so you were not going to go hungry. Nice too.

Service at check-in was great.

Room was as good as expected, clean nice hot shower.

Walking distance to St Helier - all great.

Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank partingtonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son loves this Hotel mostly I think for Aquadome. As he has special needs I always feel that he is safe at the Hotel whether around the pool or when he wants to go to the amusement area.
I just wish they had one like this elsewhere as I really must visit Guernsey next time

Room Tip: I did have a view of the sea this time but the view of the aquadome was also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 June for a week in a Durrell suite. The building and the suites are very modern and very well maintained. The bed was very comfy and snugly and the bedding and towels were of very high quality and very clean. We were extremely impressed by the standard of housekeeping, every day those ladies left our room gleaming. They were also lovely ladies and so friendly when we met them. When my husband had a nose bleed one night and I had to leave a wet pillow case for them to deal with they left a really sweet note saying it was no problem for them. Very impressive customer service. The suite is very well equipped and we liked how you can't see the other suites from the balcony. The balcony was huge and we loved having the choice of a table and chairs outside or inside - and used both! Loads of room in the smeg fridge to keep our wine well chilled ( one small criticism why doesn't the lobby bar do cocktails or sell Sauvignon Blanc - we'd have spent far more if it did, instead the local Waitrose kept us well supplied ). We will definitely go back and far preferred this suite to our stay in a suite at the Longueville manor

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis for the May half term holiday flying from Southend airport which is just a 45 minute flight!
The Merton offers such great facilities for families, my girls are 4 and 7 and were most impressed with the fabulous swimming pool. The pool has very shallow areas for small children, a water chute slide for older children, plus the fun Flowrider which simulates surfing. There are also gym facilities and a snack area for after swimming.
The staff are well mannered, very helpful and impeccably turned out.
Our family room was clean and very comfortable, the girls loved their bunk beds and there was plenty of space for the four of us. Overall I thought the room was slightly tired looking and could do with a bit of a facelift and this was highlighted when we went to view the new self catering suites which are sharp and modern looking.
Moving onto the restaurants they offered various types of food, Jersey Joes Diner was very disappointing, the food was poor as was the service. The belvedere buffet restaurant and Bonetti's were excellent, food was of food quality and variety with The Belvedere offering a 5:30 sitting just for children so they could then join the Kids Zone club at 6:30-8:30. The Kids zone was very well run, my girls thoroughly enjoyed themselves and couldn't wait to get there followed by a live Kids Zone show in the Star room, the hotels bar and function room. After the kids has been entertained it was the adults turn with various tribute and Caberet style acts. The Gary Barlow tribute was brilliant!
The location of the hotel is very convenient with everything within reasonable walking distance and excellent bus connections which we used to get to Durrell wildlife park and The Amaizing (that is the correct spelling by the way..) Adventure park. We got all the bus info from the very helpful information desk at the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to any if my friends and family, good value for money and an enjoyable week :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinksmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very well run family orientated hotel. Swimming complex brilliant for children of all ages 0-100years. Easy walking distance from St Helier town centre. Only five minutes from ferry. Restaurants to cater for every need. All of the staff very attentive, our only problem was the herd of elephants in the room above making sleep sometimes difficult. The hotel management did their very best to correct this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked the Merton for a half-term break on a b&b basis with our two children, aged 10 and 7. We chose the hotel based almost entirely on its Aquadome, which is located across the (small and quiet) road from the hotel. We weren't disappointed - the kids swam in the indoor and outdoor complex every day, and also learned to body board and surf in the Flowrider, which was very good value for money. The whole complex is very well put together and offers plenty of relaxation for adults as well as fun for kids.

The hotel itself attracts a broad clientele - while we were there, we saw plenty of families but also retired couples and groups of friends, as well as organised tours from other countries. We had a family suite, which was two rooms (one with double bed, one with bunk beds) and a bathroom. This was clean and neat, and serviced well daily.

The food and facilities in the hotel were good. A kids club runs from 6.30pm to 8.30pm nightly, with further kids' activities until 9.30pm for older children (eg: dance time). There is a creche for smaller kids. There is a kids' tea from 5.30pm in the main buffet restaurant (The Belvedere), but this is quite expensive for the food on offer - £10.50 per child. Jersey Joes, on the main level, serves hot dogs, burgers and similar American-style food for far less money. The other restaurant is Berlotti's which is a nice Italian. Breakfast is served in the Belvedere buffet-style, with a good selection of hot and cold food. We didn't eat there in the evening as again, it seemed expensive (£20+ per adult), and we're not big fans of buffets.

There is a small play garden at the back for younger kids, and a games room with pool tables, air hockey etc. Nightly entertainment is well planned - plenty of tribute bands and also some wrestling and sumo, so all tastes catered for.

The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk into St Helier so you don't need to hire a car. If you do hire a car, there is a free car park near the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and quite efficient. Overall, a good hotel, and probably the best value for money for families on the island.

Room Tip: We were close to the Kids Zone on the ground floor, but weren't disturbed by that at all. On the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,721 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, St.Saviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, UK
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing