We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hi went here for the first time for my birthday, after a small hiccup i got the room i paid for, not quite the sea view i wished for but a spacious on-suite romm non the less. Breakfast was more than adequate, hot and tasty. Staff were helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceres42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hotel De Normandie. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with and thank you for the upload of the photos- If you come back I hope you will enjoy our new look swimming pool and rooms which are being renovated over the Christmas period whilst we are closed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Debbie GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 734 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here while working in Jersey. A short bus-ride from St Helier and close to the sea. We stayed in a basic room but it was comfortable and clean. Food is simple but well prepared with generous portions. Has the benefit of a bar and a small car park. Would use this one again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel De Normandie. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location ideal for your holiday. We have great deals direct when you come and see us again so don't hesitate to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a very basic hotel. You get a bed, you get your breakfast - which, by a coincidence, is very basic as well.
Yes, you can order a Full English (or any variation of it, like a vegetarian one) or an oatmeal, if you're into that kind of food, or you can just settle for the continental version part, which, however, is very limited - cheese, for example, seems to be a 'weekend-luxury', as there was none on Monday morning; on the bright side, there's fruit. Yoghurt is not in individual pots, but in a large bowl, to spoon yourself some, which is not very suitable for 'hygiene-freaks' like myself..
The location is... average. Yes, it is totally walkable to the city centre and is right by the seaside. But there are many more central locations available, as well as many more secluded ones. So I'd call this 'a compromise'.
Rooms are clean and tidy, there's a TV, nice bath with shower over it, tea/coffee making - standard package. Beds not on the top of a comfort though. In double rooms there are simply two single beds put together, rather than one big double. Single beds are OK though.
If you are offered to pay extra for the 'sea view' from your window - don't bother. Yeas, there is sea but not much of a view. However, it certainly is slightly nicer that the one with a roundabout and a corner shop.
Dinner times at a restaurant are very limited, however, that is a common issue in Jersey - no food is served after 10.

Finally, the most dreadful thing - parking. Even if you are a king of parking and absolutely love squeezing your car into a 'can of sardines', you might have trouble getting it out of there, as you can simply be blocked (double parked) by somebody. That's why everyone has to leave their car keys at the reception (!), but it certainly adds to your travel time and personally I wouldn't like a receptionist to drive a car I am responsible for, even through the parking lot.

Room Tip: In my experience, double rooms tend to have a better view than single and twin ones. Getting a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your very detailed personal opinion on our Hotel. We have noted your remarks and and whilst taking them very seriously I would to comment that we pride ourselves on being the best value 3* Hotel with a fantastic location along with the standards and service for our guests to enjoy. Your score of 3/5 despite your comments shows you must have enjoyed your stay with us somewhat so hopefully you will come back and see us in the future and enjoy the refurbishment upgrades that are taking place whilst we are closed over this Christmas period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed at this hotel on the 9th october 13 till 16th october 13.We payed for bed and breakfast. We had a friendly welcome when we arrived, We thought the hotel was very clean and good value for our money. We could use the swimming pool and Jacuzzi every day from 7am till 9pm which was very good. Breakfast was between 7.30am and 9.30am, there is a buffet breakfast with unlimited hot drinks, water or fresh orange/apple juice. You can have as much fresh fruit, cereal and toast as you want as well as a cooked full English or porridge. The beach is just across the road from the hotel which is lovely, there is a little corner shop across the way from the hotel and a pub/ restaurant which has just had a refurbishment and is great for meals. In October months in jersey they have a tennerfest on which means you get a 2 course meal for £10 or 3 course meal for £13. which is good value for money. In jersey we went to the Durrell wildlife park which was a great experience but if the weather isn't great when you go you wont really see many animals as they will be inside hiding. We also went down to the main town St Helier which is a 10 min walk from the hotel, we found a travel agency as you can get a ferry across to France - St Malo which also is a good experience. the ferry is only £30 return each. you can ask reception in the hotel for the details of were to book this. Apart from the noisy upstairs neighbors which the hotel tried to resolve the overall experience was great. We would stay again. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. It seems you really made the most out of your trip to Jersey and we are glad you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Debbie GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ok, clean, fantastic staff, but needs updating, the biggest down side was the noise from every angle. You can hear other guests all round you talking, tv's, walking past your room in the corridor, above you,. Paper thin walls. . We had balcony room over the front, great views of the ocean, but the floor of the balcony moved under your feet. It was rotten. ( worrying) .
Will say again though, staff are fantastic.
Ps. Good luck trying to park your car.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel De Normandie. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to stay with us again in the future. We are completing our refurbishment this winter so we hope you will be pleased when you come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here as two couples for 4 nights. Booking in was easy as was all dealings with the staff. The pool and Jacuzzi were nice, we used them daily, and the bar was welcoming and a nice place for a quite drink. Breakfast was good with waiter service on hot meals not the usual buffet and the choice was yours, even extra sausage and bacon was no hassle. Our rooms looked out to sea, I didn't notice the pubic toilet much far too much to see out to sea. Would I recommend this hotel, definety yes. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth having, 66 and 67 excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel De Normandie in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Well, lets start this review off in the same way as many ...
We booked late and looked for the best price we could find so really took a chance and hoped for the best!
And so we booked the Hotel de Normandie:
Location: Spot on. 15 minutes from the town centre with the bus stop right outside which takes to to the station.
Staff: very nice people, friendly and helpul.
Room: Great - large, two single beds together to make a double = large bed so as long as you don't want to hold on to each other all night it is lovely to spread out !
Breakfast: FAB full English (with vegetarian option) or you can choose any mixture you want, bacon, sausage, eggs fried, scrambled or poached etc .
Pool: small, quiet, warm and nice Jacuzzi !
Bar: No cocktails but great food, very clean and good service.
What else can I tell you ... the pub across the road is fantastic with the best view from a beer garden you could wish for and the restaurant bit is tremendous!
If you have booked to stay here... don't worry, you will love it !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandiejersey, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel De Normandie in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St. Helier
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 31 in St. Helier
881 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $50 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing