We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a short trip to Jersey - 3 nights. We travelled with another couple having flown with easyjet from Southend. (Brilliant service) The Hotel fully met our needs - it was a base to visit a number of attractions on the Island by car,but also close enough to St Hellier to be able to walk in when we wanted.
The rooms were clean, although relatively plain. It was good to have tea and coffee making facilities. We did find the beds a bit too soft, but thats a personal thing and to be fair there is never a bed like your own!
We had a good breakfast every morning and no issues with getting a table for 4. The car park is small, but if everyone leaves their keys as asked the hotel staff do a good job of moving vehicles around (without any damage) and you can always get out with help when you want. We would suggest a mirror to aid a safe exit from the car park as you cant see cars coming from your right until they fly round the corner.
We were very lucky with the weather and had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 739 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a short weekend here in April and had two rooms, they were comfortable but a little tired. The staff were very attentive and the pool was great. Breakfast was excellent. Not far from St Helier, and a great Thai take away just opposite!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suejohnhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location - 20 minutes stroll from St Helier town centre, BUT that is great if you can get a sleep..... This must be the worst bed that I have ever slept in - oooppps tried to sleep in. 3 nights with very little sleep doesn't bode well for a relaxing break. Other than that, the hotel was a bit tired (excuse the pun), but it did look like it was having some work done on it at the moment. The big plus though - the staff were all lovely, each and every one of them. I would go back if they got new beds......

Room Tip: Request a new mattress he! he!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsrizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. It is by no means a 5 star establishment BUT for the price paid it is an excellent option. The room we stayed in (77) was a bit tired but spotlessly clean, although there were a few stains on the carpet. The bed was really comfortable with good quality sheets etc. The towels were replaced daily in the adequate en-suite. ALL the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Having read some reviews I can't understand how they can make negative comments about breakfast. The breakfast service was really good and very well organised by attentive staff. The choice was adequate (again don't expect 5 star choice). There was choice of cereals or grapefruit or prunes and fresh fruit on the buffet and a made to order cooked choice which arrived very quickly. It would have been nice to have had a choice of yoghurt or muesli, but then again is the choice restricted because of the price paid? I was a little disappointed that there was no green or herbal tea on offer, particularly as before we went I read the managers response to a reviewer saying that the provision of herbal teas would be addressed at a management meeting. I thought that by this comment the hotel would have by now provided such teas, as most establishments do these days. I therefore had to buy some from a nearby shop - just a little niggle. We had a couple of evening meals in the bar. The food was excellent, although on both evenings my husband wanted the lasagne but it was not available on either. The Roseville Bistro just a short walk away (on a side road just opposite the open air swimming pool) was a lovely find. Can recommend this but it gets very busy so its advisable to book. We had thought about hiring a car but in the end there was no need. The bus stop is right outside the hotel with a service into St.Helier about every half an hour. There are then buses to the whole island from Liberation Station. We got a 3 day pass which enabled us to step on/off as often as we liked. We didn't use the pool but would have liked to use the sauna but this was still out of action! All in all we had a really good time. We will be returning to St Helier with our families and grandchildren and will definitely stay at this hotel again, children seemed to be very welcomed. Well done De Normandie!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We Just returned home after a long weekend on Jersey. This hotel is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent. We used the indoor pool each evening and whilst the water temperature was a little cool, we warmed up in the jacuszi.
Represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Would recommend a local restaurant called Moita's (Potugeese/Continental) and a great Chinese in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

just returned from a four day break to this hotel,Great Hotel in an ideal location, Staff Very Helpful ,rooms spotless, beds made daily also fresh towels. excellent selection for breakfast.Excellent value for money.

The bus stops outside, Take the Number 1 to Centre of St Hellier. Main Bus Terminal .We used three day travel passes to go all around the Island ,You can hop on and hop off wherever takes your fancy.Very reliable bus services

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the travelling man 2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great service at all times from reception, thank you. The hotel was full, and breakfast was a bit chaotic - jose told me I could,nt have a table for 4, but there were lots of 2's next to each other- no vegetarian option. Bar service slow and snappy.
Rooms old but very clean- allow extra time for a shower as the water runs slow! The beds were comfortable and I slept well, tho woken early as there was a fire escape outside my door, loud banging door. Not impressed with the 10am checkout, especially as breakfast was slow, and even then, I had a maid knocking at 9.40.
Pool area tired but our children spent hours in the pool enjoying themselves.
Sounds like I am being negative, but for the price, I was impressed and would stay there again.

Room Tip: See view rooms are available, but lots are noisy due to being road side, or having fireescapes outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Jo, Thank you for your review and comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and if you do decide to return I can asure you that all our rooms will have undergone renovation which should be completed in the near future. We have also included a vegetarian breakfast option in our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St. Helier
897 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St. Helier
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $58 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing