We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We Just returned home after a long weekend on Jersey. This hotel is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent. We used the indoor pool each evening and whilst the water temperature was a little cool, we warmed up in the jacuszi.
Represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Would recommend a local restaurant called Moita's (Potugeese/Continental) and a great Chinese in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 737 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

just returned from a four day break to this hotel,Great Hotel in an ideal location, Staff Very Helpful ,rooms spotless, beds made daily also fresh towels. excellent selection for breakfast.Excellent value for money.

The bus stops outside, Take the Number 1 to Centre of St Hellier. Main Bus Terminal .We used three day travel passes to go all around the Island ,You can hop on and hop off wherever takes your fancy.Very reliable bus services

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the travelling man 2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great service at all times from reception, thank you. The hotel was full, and breakfast was a bit chaotic - jose told me I could,nt have a table for 4, but there were lots of 2's next to each other- no vegetarian option. Bar service slow and snappy.
Rooms old but very clean- allow extra time for a shower as the water runs slow! The beds were comfortable and I slept well, tho woken early as there was a fire escape outside my door, loud banging door. Not impressed with the 10am checkout, especially as breakfast was slow, and even then, I had a maid knocking at 9.40.
Pool area tired but our children spent hours in the pool enjoying themselves.
Sounds like I am being negative, but for the price, I was impressed and would stay there again.

Room Tip: See view rooms are available, but lots are noisy due to being road side, or having fireescapes outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Jo, Thank you for your review and comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and if you do decide to return I can asure you that all our rooms will have undergone renovation which should be completed in the near future. We have also included a vegetarian breakfast option in our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The staff are very welcoming and provide a great level of service. The the room was a bit 'tired' but a good size and very functional. The facilities are good with a nice a indoor pool (Sauna was not working). The location is good with town centre being only a short walk.

The hotel provides great value for money and great service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, Owner at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have nearly completed the full refurbishment of all our rooms so we hope if you return you will find our rooms to be satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The reception is excellent and the staff on duty always have a cheerful and bright outlook on the mundane routine questions they must have to field. I being ancient, needed a computer to link with my home computer, and whilst I found great difficulty finding any in St Hellier (go to the library, or better still the airport departure area) the Manageress lent me her laptop, which did the job. This is an old building, but is well kept. Definitely a beach side hotel, and able to put up a large volume of guests, families being predominant. It has a large and clean indoor swimming pool and jacusi, which was well used by the younger guests. The hotel management are well motivated, efficient and keen to be of assistance, always positive, polite and cheerful, and made my stay a good one. Car parking, as I came over with own car, is available on site, but it is the luck of the draw as to whether there is a space available. I had no problem at all. My room (76) was a double room en suite. It was adequate in all respects. The matrass and pillows were very comfortable, and I slept well. The carpets need a good clean, and the net curtains in the bathroom also need changing, but otherwise it had all one needs for a short stay. The en suite bathroom was small but as far as I am concerned, just right for me on my own. I quickly learned the art of making a cup of tea using the equipment supplied..!! (Not used to doing this..!) I ordered an egg sandwich for dinner one night, in the room. The best egg sandwich I have ever had arrived, and well done the galley for the effort put into this great success. The dinning room is very clean and well ordered. You are met by the Maitre'd and shown a table. The self service corn flakes and fruit layout, was adequate. The main course is ordered, and then delivered freshly cooked, to your table. I ordered poached eggs, and to my wonderment they were cooked as the should be, in a vinegar water, just like Union Castle Liners used to do them. The only slight drawback was the rotary toaster. The toast does one rotation , but then needs a second rotation to get it properly toasted. I did not try the evening eating arrangements. The hotel is a short walk, about 20 mins easy walk, from the town centre. The walk is along the sea front, so well worth the effort. Overall, a very pleasant experience, and I would certainly recommend this hotel, as well as stay there, again. Well done the Normandie and thank you all.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pisces616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel de Normandie, we are currently replacing all carpets and upgrading all our room. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Organised chaos at breakfast under staffed in the bar. A ridiculous set up with the car parking arrangements. One very rude elderly handyman employee. Very grotty swimming pool area. The only good thing about staying at this hotel was discovering the excellent Roseville Bistro around the corner!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy Hazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Crazy Hazey,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. To address one comment, we advertise free on site LIMITED parking and assist our guests so everyone is able to park. We are sorry you were not happy this arrangement. When I spoke to you regarding this, you told me everything had been fine with the rest of your stay and you had no other complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just had a long weekend at the Hotel Normandie for a wedding, could not fault the place, staff were extremely helpful, polite and couldn't do enough for us. They even let me check in slightly early due to travelling with my 3year old daughter. Rooms were adequate and very clean, the weather outside was not great and the room was very warm even needed tonopen the window at one point. Breakfast was great with a good choice and the staff were great. Great location for a stroll along the beach and near enough to town centre. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MissXtina74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Tina, thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel de Normandie. We appreciate your comments and are encouraged by your positive feedback which I will pass on to all our staff. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
798 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St. Helier
887 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St. Helier
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $47 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing