We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel with friends. We both had superior rooms with balcony and sea view. They were recently refurbished to a reasonable and comfortable standard with everything needed for a comfortable stay. This is an older building with a two star rating but better than we had expected for the money. The staff both on reception and at breakfast were nothing but first class. The weather was cold and miserable and without hesitation or delay we were provided with extra heaters and duvets, given ideas to fill our days at places under cover, they arranged reasonably priced car hire, booked reservations at restaurants each evening. Thank you all very much. The hotel restaurant food was reasonably priced and not bad at all. If you want the Ritz then dont stay here but if you want a clean hotel, friendly staff, in a good position for St Hellier then I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Of the two superior rooms, 62 has a six foot bed and is a larger room with larger balcony than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, General Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel de Normandie. We appreciate your comments and are encouraged by your positive feedback which I can assure you that I will pass on to all our staff. I am pleased to inform you that we have now been upgraded to a 3* rating. I am are glad enjoyed your stay with us and found us good value. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 742 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and i stayed for a week. the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble,the room was clean with clean towels every day, the breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel for many years, plenty of tea and coffee in the room. TV, and a lift to all floors. we cannot fault this hotel in anyway, wonderful value will return,

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the sea and had a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Across the road from the beach and 5 mins from town, this place is a cheap option. The room was big with flat screen 20in TV. The bed was amazingly comfy. There is tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. The water pressure in the shower is not that good. Round the indoor pool was a bit dated and the pool was very cold, but the jacuzzi was ok. Changing rooms however I would avoid. They are filthy, dark and dingy. The breakfast waiter is unfriendly and abrupt. as is one of the receptionists with ginger hair. The hotel houses single builder type men throughout winter which is off putting if you have children.

Room Tip: Room 97 is big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joobyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over a weekend. Had a room for three but the first room just a double bed so we moved into a family room. The room we moved into had one towel and one cup for tea/coffee. We had to ask a few times to get more.

Although advertised there is no wifi in the rooms. The ironing room is a disgrace! Dirt and burn marks all over the ironing board and the irons were filthy.

Staff were friendly but this place feels like it has had it's day and is falling into disrepair.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rory I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

nice location,lovely big clean room,nice cooked breakfast,swimming pool and hot tub,and £23.00 per night! beat that? impossible!
theres no wi-fi in rooms,only in downstairs looby area,but hey for the money i cant fault the place.ample carparking and the staff even take your keys incase your vehicle needs moving.even if it was double the price i would stay here again!

Room Tip: any! great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Feared the worst after booking this purely because it was the cheapest option (£28 per night) but need not have worried.

Nice big room, flatscreen TV, sea view, lovely cooked breakfast, friendly staff, I really couldn't have asked for more.

Didn't try the restaurant or the pool due to short business stay, so can't comment on those.

It's a little bit out of the main St Helier town centre, but the No18 bus is only £1.40 or so and takes you there in 5mins, or it's a 15-min walk.

Shop, pub and Thai takeaway right next to it if that's your thing, and would definitely stay here if offered the same price again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markismith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As I arrived early, my room was not ready, but the lovely lady at reception upgraded my room from a single to double. The room was a reasonable size and very clean, as so was the bathroom.

Only 2 minor faults I can make - no WiFi in the rooms, and it was a long walk from my room to reception.

But I was very pleased with the service, cleanliness and friendliness.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St. Helier
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 30 in St. Helier
902 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,758 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
483 reviews
1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#13 of 30 in St. Helier
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $52 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing