We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Normandie
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Reviewed October 27, 2007

part of a package deal through premierholidays/channel islands direct. found the hotel to be excellent value for money. We found the staff to be friendly, everything to be clean and tidy. OK the breakfast could have been a little hotter but there was plenty of it, as much as you wished. The evening meals had a choice of meat, fish or veggie and the 3 of us found something to eat easily each night. Ok the outside of the hotel looks a little worn as did some of the decor inside but we found no problem with traffic noise mentioned in the earlier review and really can't think what the september reviewer expected from a 2 star hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wishee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2007

We booked for a week at this hotel before reading the reviews here, and after doing so we worried that we had made a huge mistake. This was not the case though. We found it was a well run hotel, the staff friendly and the rooms kept to a very high standard. Okay, it wasn't a palace, but it had everything we needed and a nice relaxing atmosphere. The highlight was the breakfast meals. The only minor issue could have been the limited parking, but I really found no problem with this. Overall, the service was excellent and I certainly had no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KentMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

REASONS NOT TO BOOK THE HOTEL DE NORMANDIE

The hotel is situated on a busy road, bang opposite the local toilets, and the "rough" local pub, where the customers made a racket every night. Not the sort of people to address alone!

Extremely RUDE head Receptionist (married to the owner)

Dated and old furniture, GYM...what a joke!!

Terrible food, breakfast hot food cold, dinner was disastrous, staff do not speak English and do not know what they are doing.

Sack the chef!!

Bathroom shower head dripped out water when on full power, mould alongside shower basin. Extractor fan had a mind of it's own.

Double glazing windows not fitted properly, blowing into the room a very cold draught which made the curtains blow wildly. Window did not open properly.

Toilet and fixtures loose making you feel you would fall into the floor below.

Rude housekeeping knocking on my door morning of my departure to empty bins and leave fresh linen/towels in room for next room guest ( i threw them (the linen etc) outside the door, HOW RUDE!!!!)

Hardly any parking for your car. Big hairy workmen abandoning their vans not caring whether you can exit car park in your own car!!

The list is on going. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. IT IS AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Secret78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

August 2007

We had not stayed in this hotel for over 20 year. Reading some of the comments prior to going could have put us off .

The room & ensuite had been recently decorated and updated

Food choice was really good and plenty of it . - breakfast only lacked fresh fruit!

Car Park is small - but many hotels don't have parking on the island - I had no problem any night parking -

So much to see on the Island I really did'nt use the rest of the facilities - Gym, Pool, & evening entertainment. - comments from people i spoke with in the hotel were the facilities suited the customers that used the hotel - I wouldn't suggest you take your Teens there looking for a lively week.

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday on a budget then this is a really good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJHDBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

if this is a 2star hotel i do not want to see a1star or ungraded hotel.outdated being the word.
extractor fan inbathroom coupled to light which ran for half an hour after light was switched off dont use loo during the night.
badly fitting door to room light pouring in off hallway light like a saints halo
lack of power points in rooms 2 behind mirror on dresser.
hot or cold breakfast due to candleburners under hotplates?
leaking roof in cocktail bar .
threadbear seats/sofas in lounge also need new springs.
car parking a disaster too small/on a bad bend Two reports of damage to cars during our stay,cars moved round by staff on2 different car parks.
extractor units on roof noisy even with double glazing to room.
nice polite staff who are fighting a loosing battle.
would not reccommend hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Was relieved that the hotel was not as bad as the reviews, in fact
it is in the process of being refurbished.New bathroom suites new bedroom furniture and freshly painted.Staff are very good, food ok.
Hotel was noisy, could hear next doors occupants and doors being
slammed. Bus network excellent and cheap, if you purchase an all day rover ticket., we didnt hire a car for this reason.

1  Thank Caznot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

The food here is excellent and the staff are all very friendly and helpful! However we were a little dissapointed with the swimming pool. we knew it was indoors before we booked, but we didnt exect it to be so dark and dull. the atmosphere in it was quite depressing. apart from this everything about the hotel is excellent. it is in an excellent location, just accross the road from the beach, which is nice to go for a walk on at night time after dinner. it is within walking distance to the city centre which is convienent when you do not have a car. there is a balcony around the front of the hotel, which is a nice place for relaxing if you're not into beaches. I would definately go back, if they had an outdoor pool : )

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank christine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St.Saviour
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St. Helier
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range: $61 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing