We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“five nights”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Peter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheatlands Hotel, Gastropub & Golf Course
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“five nights”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Excellent value hotel. Breakfasts are superb with a choice for most tastes. Rooms a good size and clean. The best part was the golf course which is free to residents. You only need your irons and a putter but its a good test.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnhambly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
20
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

As always we enjoyed our stay at The Wheatlands. The staff and Ian are very friendly and welcoming. There is a good menu choice for breakfasts and the cooked brekkies are excellent. The hotel could do with an update but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The golf course is excellent and don't let the fact that it is a par 3 course make you think that it's just a little pitch and putt, it's far from that. It's quite a challenging little course and a pleasure to play. Lynn is the golf professional there and is very friendlŷ, my husband had a golf lesson with her one day to iron out a few habits he'd gotten into.
St Aubin is around a 20 minute walk from the hotel and it has lots of eating houses and bars. We walked down every night and got a taxi back ( around £7.00)
Jersey is a lovely island, don't hesitate to go and take a look

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is my third visit to this superb little hotel, were one is always made to feel welcome by Ian who runs a very tidy and professional establishment. Lovely comfortable room at the front of the hotel with views overlooking St Helier and Elizabeth Castle and a guaranteed good nights sleep. Breakfast and all other meals are served in the Gastropub and you can be assured of first class food, well cooked, hot, nicely presented and most importantly well priced. Ian is slowly revamping the hotel room by room but the rooms are clean, adequately equipped with tea & coffee facilities, plenty of storage space and again well priced. This establishment is a must for the business traveller on a budget. Having booked again for February 2014 would recommend this to anyone and can guarantee you will be "made to feel welcome"

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of hotel offer the views towards St.Helier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCAgencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First holiday in Yonks made more than comfortable by Ian and his staff. Good varied breakfast menu ( the veggie one was great havn't had Haloumi in years ). Nice big comfortable room overlooking the golf course ( more later), the only drawback is that the airport wakes up at 0700 most mornings, but I would imagine that a large number of more expensive places are worse in this aspect as they are nearer.
Also had a couple of evening meals at the hotel too, superb. I was a little worried when I saw the word gastropub, as past experience of gastropubs means "a little bit of nothing on a big white plate". No such problem here, a ruddy great plateful, well prepared, well presented and homemade bread to die for if you have the soup. Can't comment on the sweets as too full to contemplate.

The Golf course is a gorgeous little par 3 only let down by the tees which are mats, challenging in lineand club selection with huge rolling greens. Realy enjoyed the course, and with its elevation changes I had been also been given a good work out. The course is in good condition and very picturesque. Don't let the fact that it is a par three course effect your choice of stay it is not a pitch and put by any stretch of the imagination.

Message for Ian met an old freind of yours at Samoures manor named Brian who learned his golf at Wheatlands said to remember him to you.

Thanks for making our stay very pleasant and a great base to see this wonderful Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

As the previous posts have already commented on the dated décor, I can only say that the location,cleanliness and friendliness of the staff made our stay here very enjoyable.I would recommend to any of my friends a stay at this Hotel if they were visiting Jersey, with the caveat of if you want 5 star you have to pay 5 star

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Wheatlands 8 years ago and had two lovely holidays. What a change this time and how disappointing. The place is completely run down. Whilst the two staff were friendly and helpful the place was filthy, with no cleaning in the main areas. The bedrooms were OK and beds were made with clean linen, but it was only a £30 a night hotel, not the £80 charged. There was no wireless and the television didn't work.
I spoke to the owner and he said that he was "struggling with the recession". No wonder he doesn't get return visitors as he doesn't seem to understand how a hotel business works. If you can't be bothered to do the basics then don't charge customers for something they are not getting. The golf course was in the same condition and looked thoroughly neglected.
Quite sad really as we won't be returning to Wheatlands!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanWheatlands, Owner at Wheatlands Hotel, Gastropub & Golf Course, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I seem to be defending myself a lot recently.

I believe the rate was £40 per person B&B, not £80. I did not say we were struggling with the recession, I said we were struggling to raise additional finance in the recession in order to make the improvements we would like to make. There is a big difference.
We do not have wireless in the rooms, and have never advertised that we do. We do however have limited wireless access in the common areas of the two bars.
I am absolutely amazed at your comments about our golf course which is one of the most beautiful in Europe!! We have two full time greenkeepers who work full time making it so.
All of our televisions work. If you had a problem with it we would have come to fix it if informed.
As for the common areas cleanliness, I will take this up with the staff, as we do try to make sure we are clean and tidy at all times.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked, but I am not sure what more I can say.

Kind regards
Ian, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and found Jersey to be good value for money and very child friendly. Wheatlands is in an excellent position to tour the island with easy access by foot or car to the beach. Breakfast is outstanding and the staff very helpful. The room we had for 4 was large clean with a fantastic view but decoration is tired. Very good value for money. The outside space gives kids room to run and play. The smallish pool it serves its purpose my two children loved the space. Meals at the hotel were good value and the surrounding area gives loads of reasonable choices to eat out. On a cloudy day we found loads to visit and do. Really good family break.

Room Tip: So much to do in Jersey I felt that we spent little time in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter
0.3 mi away
The Lyndhurst Jersey
The Lyndhurst Jersey
#12 of 16 in St. Brelade
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Greenhills Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
511 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Hotel, Gastropub & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Hotel, Gastropub & Golf Course

Property: Wheatlands Hotel, Gastropub & Golf Course
Address: Les Grupieaux, St. Peter JE3 7ED
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Wheatlands St Peter
Wheatlands Hotel, Gastropub & Golf Course Jersey/St. Peter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing