We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greenhills Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel was in a very good location, ideal for a relaxing few days, not far from anything. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a great breakfast with plenty of choice. We would stay again if we were back in Jersey.

Room Tip: Garden view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norn_iron89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    79
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
367
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful location...

Charming and delightful hotel...

Superb hospitality, professional, polite, courteous staff who are friendly and warm...

Excellent service...

Quality food....

Mmmm, a real pleasure to escape the autumnal blues....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent another fabulous five nights here recently. Sadly we had to spend two nights elsewhere and the holiday only started for us when we landed in Greenhills. It was every bit as good as I remember and this time we had superior rooms by the pool which were absolutely fantastic. Because this was our third time to Jersey we were in no rush to sightsee and made the most of the hotel pool and grounds. It is the most relaxing place I have ever been. The staff haven't changed over the years and remain the most professional and friendly staff I have ever come across. The food has improved, if anything.

It was funny to meet up with other guests who remembered us from our previous visit. This really is a place where people return year after year.

For me, the best hotel ever, the memories keep me going from one visit to the next.

Room Tip: 28 and 29 are superior rooms, poolside. (I shouldn't be telling you this!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Weekend 2 of the Tennerfest has brought me here.A wonderful entrance through well kept grounds and a warm welcome at reception.Room was very comfortable although a little hot,good wi fi, and a nice view of the courtyard.Dinner was superb and the service was excellent.Very good guest lounges and overall a well kept establishment.A must for a future visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinfells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed as a couple for 2 nights with a Groupon offer this weekend gone. Check in was easy with friendly staff and our cases were whisked away to our room with us following. Initial impression of the room was that is was bigger than average with ample drawer and wardrobe space, comfy seating, a large flat screen TV which had loads of channels including BBC radio, and a lovely looking bed. The view was out to the gardens which are beautiful. The bed turned out to be as comfortable as it looked, with feather pillows, one soft and one firmer each, and feather duvet.
The bathroom had a bath which is a plus for me as we don't at home and I made good use of it with a book and a glass of the complimentory sparkling wine. Bliss. I have to mention the towels at this point which are EMORMOUS and thick and fluffy. No mean, skinny, hard towels here! The shower over the bath was a bit iffy though, coming through at varying intensities and temperatures in the same session but adequate and not suprising in an older hotel at 8am. I will let that go as everything elso was spot on, especially the service which was attentive, friendly and immediate. From the taking of bags to and from the room, fetching a fresh ice bucket when we didn't use the wine until the second night, to relaxed ordering of food and prompt service. I must recommend the chips in the bar while I am mentioning food, as they were far the best cooked chips I have had for a long time. We ate the first night in the bar, my moules were very good as were my partner's fish and chips. We didn't eat here again, except for another bowl of those chips on Sat night, as we took advantage of the Tennerfest and ate at Shaun Rankin's Bohemia.
The lounge/bar areas were comfortable and intimate, and the restaurant islarge and airy and all tastefully furnished.
I have a couple of cons to mention, though nit picking really. 1. Annoying local radio just too quiet to hear (thankfuly, I suppose) at breakfast, anything else would have been fine. 2. The room was really too warm at night, even with the windows open and no heating. I find this is a common problem in hotels and do not know what to suggest. Oh, and one other point, free hire car is not actually free as you need to pay insurance, exess waiver, if you choose to, and £15 a day for petrol, even if you don't use it, which is unlikely on a small island. Not the hotel's fault but beware 2 days 'free hire' cost £60!
Overall we had a lovely time, not least because we stayed at Greenhills. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJFSamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday in Jersey having stayed at The Greenhills for the first time. We chose this hotel purely on the reviews from Tripadvisor and this wonderful hotel lived up to all our expectations. Joe and Carmelita certainly know how to run this business and made us very welcome when we arrived very early in the morning. They gave great advice on places to see and how to get to them. Above all the hotel was immaculately clean, the rooms extremely comfortable, the breakfasts very generous and cooked to perfection. All the staff were extremely pleasant, attentitive and looked after us in a way which made us feel important. The dinner menu is fabulous and the presentation of the meals is worthy of a michelin star. The gardens, although late in the season are ablaze with colour. Many thanks for a great week and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mow26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really nice hotel! Beautiful gardens and building as you walk into the hotel from the car park. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms are very old fashioned (maybe not to everyone's taste) but are very comfortable and well equipped.

The best part of the hotel, by far, is the restaurant. There are plenty of options for breakfast and they are all delicious, as is the dinner served in the evenings. The service was always superb.

The only reason that I have not given this hotel 5 stars is due to a problem we had with our room. The bathroom had a heated towel rail that would not turn off (even after they sent a plumber to look at it). We stayed for a week and this problem was never resolved and most nights we were far too warm in bed, even though the weather was not that hot. I did manage to negotiate free room service because of this problem but, considering how expensive the rooms are in this hotel I would have expected better (as they were a rather reluctant to even except that the heat was causing us a problem). A real shame for such an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 20 if you don't like it too hot. Do try the restaurant and room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
986 reviews
4.7 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
819 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,905 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
2.8 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country House Hotel

Property: Greenhills Country House Hotel
Address: St. Peter's Valley Le Mont de L'Ecole, St. Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenhills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country
Greenhills Country House Hotel Jersey/St. Peter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing