We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Walk and Great Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devil's Hole

Ranked #3 of 3 things to do in St. Mary
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Walk and Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was the last hour of our trip before heading to the airport, the rain was lashing down and the wind was gusting but we braved the elements and walked down to the blowhole. Yes, we saw the unexpected and creepy statue too! It's not a difficult walk, but not suitable for people with mobility issues or who couldn't manage an uphill walk all the way back.

Despite the weather, the views were still good and I'm glad we made the effort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    22
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Devils hole quite a walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Not a walk to be undertaken if you are not fit enough to negotiate steps up and down.
Interesting walk but not exceptional

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojobeezley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stop at the Devil”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Long walk down (then back up) for not much. I wished I had stopped at the devil and skipped the hole.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lunel_celt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
845 reviews
506 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

After you have parked the car, it is a 10 minute walk to the end, but it is well worth it. The path is rocky and steep, especially on the way back, but the views are tremendous. At the end is a board which gives information on the collapsed cave and that brings the story to life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
614 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Fabulous views - the walk is well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Walk past the devil statue (which has moved several times since we started coming to Jersey!) and continue down the steps to come to a viewing platform from which you can see for miles on a clear day. Lovely blue sea and rugged cliffs and so peaceful. We could have stayed here for hours! There is a pub in the car park as well if you need a drink after all that walking, and a bus stop too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Hole also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing