We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping & touring club bar b que”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jersey Accommodation and Activity Centre
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“camping & touring club bar b que”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

As a local camping club with 30 motorhome owning members it is difficult to find somewhere to all get together for social events in high season, as the camp sites are full. We recently held a bar b que and sleep over at the activity centre Tula and John were the perfect hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them or their staff. The facilities in the centre a spacious and immaculate and the views from the site are stunning, the weekend was a roaring success and members have been asking when the next one will be. We will certainly be making good use of this site in the future and i would recomend it to anyone thanks again to Tula, John & staff we will be seeing you again soon John Du Heaume. Camping&touring club jersey

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnduheaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Attending a wedding in St. Helier, two others and I shared a room at the JAAC and couldn't be happier. Our room contained a double and a single bed, and, although we did not have an en-suite bathroom, it was just down the corridor and we never saw anyone else use it. The venue was very accommodating to us and other members of the wedding party, and we had a good breakfast on the three mornings we were resident.

Room Tip: Ask for an en-suite room for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As part of a stag weekend, we decided to stay at the JAAC near Gorey, and had an absolute blast. We found the accommodation to be exactly what we expected and exactly what we needed, and the service we received from the staff, John and Tula was first class, making us feel very welcome. The activities we took part in – Coasteering and Abseiling – were well organised and expertly delivered. Every member of our party would happily recommend this, and a number of us are already planning a longer return trip in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in hostel-style bunk rooms, but these were excellent and exactly what we needed on our sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abitgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Eleven of us stayed here for four nights B&B in August 2007. The blokes stayed in room 99 which overlooked the bay -beautiful views! Bunk beds as you'd expect - but a lovely room with en suite separate shower, toilet and sink.

The hostel overall is above average. Very clean. Spacious. Recently renovated to good standard. The buffet style breakfast was good quality and eat as much as you like (cereal, fresh orange, apple, fruit, cheese, toast, beans, hash brown, bacon, croissant, chocolate croissant, tea coffee hot chocolate). We had evening meal on three nights again good wholesome food -good portions and good value. We had our final evening meal at the restaurant part way up the hill on the way up from Gorey - Castle Green Gastropub - highly recommended for home prepared good quality food. They do some unusual dishes as well as some excellent value basics such as burger and fish and chips.

One thing that made our stay so pleasurable was the hostel staff - every one went 'the extra mile' to be pleasant, polite and helpful - it makes such a difference :o). The hostel has a TV lounge (a bit small given the size of the hostel), a games room with table tennis and pool, a kitchen for self catering, a dining room, and a conference style room. The only thing missing was a common room or TV free lounge for chatting, reading relaxing. There are extensive grounds surrounding the hostel - some used by those who prefer to camp.

The hostel is situated up the steep hill from Gorey Pier - about a 10-15min walk. You can get the No. 1 bus from St Helier or the Green Explorer bus. The bus service across the Island is excellent and very reliable. They do an unlimited 5 day pass for £22.

The hostel is on the east side of the island. Gorey Pier and castle are worth a visit so are the bays around the island. We especially like Plemont Bay and the coastal paths to other bays east and west -highly recommended -but on the north west of the island.

You can hire bikes at the hostel.

Remember though - this is a youth hostel you are staying in - not a hotel or B&B

  • Liked — atmosphere created by staff - clean and cared for
  • Disliked — no internet or wi fi - also no TV free lounge or common room
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank themilkybarkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in March with my 7 year old daughter. Weather was pretty grim but the youth hostel was lovely and warm. There is a TV lounge with videos and books, a games room with pool, table tennis and some board games. There was a self-catering kitchen and a restaurant where they have lovely coffees, hot chocolates and tea for 50p a cup, free at mealtimes.

The breakfasts are exceptional with warm croissants, chocolate croissants, warm rolls, cereals, jams, cheeses, meats, fruit etc.
The evening meals had not started fully, there was one the first evening as they had a group of people staying but not the second night. They had emailed before I got there to say that evening meals didn't start until the 1st April really. Breakfast is included in the price.

The room where we stayed was an ensuite and was BIG. Bunk bed with a double bed underneath the upper single and then another single bed, the bathroom was large as well.

The hostel is situated on the top of Gorey with lovely views. Bit of a hike down to Gorey, but lovely scenery on the way.
Will probably visit again at a warmer time of year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness/friendliness
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martin
2.5 mi away
Chateau La Chaire
Chateau La Chaire
#1 of 5 in St. Martin
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beausite Hotel
Beausite Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grouville
191 reviews
7.8 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#10 of 16 in St. Brelade
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
750 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,666 reviews
2.5 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#4 of 5 in St.Saviour
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Accommodation and Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Accommodation and Activity Centre

Property: Jersey Accommodation and Activity Centre
Address: La Rue de La Pouclee et des Quatre Chemins, St. Martin JE3 6DU (Formerly YHA Jersey)
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St. Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique combination of hostel and budget accommodation set in rural St Martin. Perfect for sports, school / college or specialist interest groups. We have single, twin and family rooms as well as traditional dormitories. Full activity programmes can be arranged (free of charge) for school groups including logistics and entry to visitor attractions, meals and adventure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jersey Accommodation and Activity Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Accommodation And Activity Centre Hotel St. Martin
Jersey Accommodation And Activity Centre St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing