We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St. Martin
nuneaton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a little gem”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

what an absolute little treat! If you are after a little pampering,beautiful location,fantastic food and great service, book here.

Even in the busy run up to Christmas, with terrible Gale 9 weather, this was a great stay. nothing too much trouble, great room,quiet but not graveyard dead.
great choice of breakfasts and restaurant is gorgeous, lovely food and a good wine list. roaring log fire,overlooking the boats in the harbour...bliss

car parking not an issue, they give you a free parking disc and parking is right outside the front door.

I had room 2, sea view, french doors onto a balcony and great view from the bed!

Tell you what, I stayed in the Royal yacht in August and apart from the Spa, wasnt a patch on this place. I stayed on my own as I was visiting my son but will be back with my husband

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busybeeNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
58
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Had an overnight stay with a bunch of friends at this lovely hotel, delicious food, wonderful staff and the warmest welcome you could ever ask for. Top notch and will be returning very soon :)

Room Tip: The Sea view is beautiful it as like I had never seen Gorey before :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Well worth a visit. the Restaurant was very friendly, the meal was excellent and the room had a massive bed, en suite and to look out of the windows was like looking at two paintings.

Room Tip: No 12 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianejsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Having endured a very wet,cool West of Scotland summer ,some late season sun was needed..
Not too long a flight,we have the annual long-haul to family in Oz in January to look forward to..Jersey seemed like a good idea and Gorey looked like an attractive option.We found The Moorings on TA and what a find it was..Everything was delightful from the friendly welcome at reception,spacious sea-view room (no.6) with the most comfy beds and well appointed bathroom..Best of all..the fantastic food,all fresh home cooked and prepared by Simon and his kitchen staff..I can still taste that walnut bread..yum..We had a wonderful half-board week with great attention from Jo and her staff..The situation of the hotel is so convenient with lots of easy walking,very reliable bus service to St.Helier and all over the Island..lots of WW2 History(Hubby's great interest) and enough shopping to satisfy anyone..Also saw lots of people swimming in the sea from the rocks behind the harbour...we could see France from our small terrace..We hope to return to this wee gem of a hotel sometime soon..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmaglasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Well what can I say, our return was well worth the delayed Ferry, a rough journey and the demise of the Air Show,eventually arriving 2 days late we were glad to be back. Once again Jo and Simon and the staff did themselves proud. A superb and very varied menu perfect choices something for all. Wonderful fresh fish, juicey steaks, try the cheeseboard with the smelly tete de moine, make room for the Petite Fours all home made absolutely devine.

Room Tip: Sea View well worth the extra few pounds all well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THECHOCOLATECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed at the Moorings for a week from 4th September.
We had a room on the top floor with sea veiw overlooking Gorey bay.
Accomodation was very spacious with large comfortable bed.
The food in the restaraunt was superb including breakfast.
Standard menu was so good that we didnt need to venture on to al a carte.
Staff were very friendly and attentive.
Would recommend to all who would like a quiet break in lovely location.
Plan to visit again next year

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed for three nights to attend the Air Show which unfortunately was cancelled due to the weather. Staying at the Moorings made up for the disappointment. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast served was substantial and varied, excellent.
Make sure you book early to get a table for evening meal or you will be disappointed. Gorey is a tranquil location best on the island.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the harbour. Its a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graval007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martin
0.0 mi away
Chateau La Chaire
Chateau La Chaire
#1 of 5 in St. Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Gorey Pier, St. Martin JE3 6EW
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St. Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel St. Martin, Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing