We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD QUALITY 'GUEST HOUSE'”
Review of Chateau La Chaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau La Chaire
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY 'GUEST HOUSE'”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here as a 'last minute getaway' for four nights and encouraged to do so by the 4 star rating. We have taken many trips to Jersey for the past 35 years and have stayed all over the Island in varying grades of hotels.

Although there are three car park spaces available for residence by the hotel, these are normally taken leaving you no alternative but to park in the overflow car park down the hill. However, during our stay the overflow car park had at least three local vehicles that appeared not to have been moved for quite some time and on occasions we had to park on the road illegally.

The idea of afternoon cream teas on the terrace is very nice, but on the two occasions we took advantage of this, some regular locals were very loud and obviously the merrier for drink which spoilt the occasion for us.

Our room was on the second floor and although it was comfortable it was certainly not four star quality. We counted the steps one morning and found there were 71 steps from our car to our second floor accommodation.

It was not all bad as the staff were very friendly and polite and the breakfast was very good, but we did find that the hotel lacked atmosphere and was more like an 'old peoples home', so never took advantage of the evening meal.

Rozel Bay is a beautiful place and well worth a visit, but we would not stay here again as we found the hotel to be too remote, its position is too steep and this hotel does not do the area or four star rating justice.

Room Tip: Not suitable for anyone remotely disabled or convalescing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau La Chaire, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Chateau following your recent stay.

As experienced travellers to Jersey for 35 years it is difficult to understand why you would choose to stay in our location if it was unsuitable for your needs. Its location on the island is one of the hotels assets and generally attracts those wishing peace and quiet. It's still only 4 miles from St Helier and only 2 minutes walk from the beach and sea.

We are aware that on occasion people have difficulty with walking and parking and we accommodate this by offering a valet parking service. You can just leave your car close to the hotel entrance, drop your key with reception and they will arrange to have it parked for you and returned when needed. This is detailed in your booking confirmation and guest information folder within the room.

The Standard rooms on the second floor contain exactly the same facilities as the Superior rooms on the first floor other than spa baths and feature beds so I am not sure why you would not consider your room 4 star quality. The rooms and facilites are detailed individually at our website with pictures and descriptions of each and are highly graded by the AA on a regular basis. We are not a purpose built hotel with average rooms but a 170 year old country house. The Chateau as a business is designed to be a home from home and not an everyday hotel.

With regards to the noise on the Terrace I can only apologise for the noisy diners. The Chateau is a popular dining location for locals and like all restaurants they can become loud, particularly in quieter areas like ours. I hope it did not spoil the enjoyment of your cream tea too much. On the other hand you also mention its lacking in atmosphere like an old peoples home... If you had taken advantage of the bar & restaurant facilities I am sure you would not have formed that opinion.

Guests at the Chateau tend to stay because its a complete experience of a generally peaceful location, quality bedrooms, great food and friendly service. It is unfortunate that it did not suit your requirements on this occasion but I do hope you visit Jersey again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    83
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
298
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having read the other excellent reviews we decided to stay overnight on a "Quidsin" deal at this hotel and we were expecting something really special. However from start to finish it was a disappointment. The best thing about this hotel is its location - Rozel beach is beautiful and the grounds were very nice. However, that's about it. The room wasn't clean and there were 5 spiders in the room. The double bed was actually two single beds pushed together. The room was small and cramped and the outside area was a joke - the furniture was covered in leaves and it looked onto the side of the hotel with noisy drains and a wall where bin bags were lined up. We asked the gentleman on the desk to see if the room and outside area could be cleaned properly and he said there was no one available to clean it as it was late afternoon. We asked to change rooms and he said it wasn't possible. We insisted it should be cleaned so someone eventually did it while we had afternoon tea.

We had dinner at the hotel, which was included in the deal. They asked us if we could come down to dinner later on as the hotel was full and they were busy which we agreed to. However, when we did arrive at the designated time, we were made to sit in a drab lounge where tedious elevator music played. We asked if we could go to dinner but had to wait about half an hour. When we were allowed into the dining room, instead of it being busy, there was hardly anyone eating. We ordered wine which was in a cooler across the room and although there were hardly any guests, the waitresses didn't top up our wine, we had to keep asking them to do it - I wish they'd just left the bottle near us so we could have done it ourselves. Same elevator music played throughout a very quiet dinner room. Food was on the whole very underwhelming and nothing special.

This hotel lacks atmosphere, charm, cleanliness and customer service.... a bit Faulty Towers. I have to say I cannot understand how this hotel has so many other great reviews - perhaps we were just very unlucky with the room and service, or perhaps people's expectations are quite low. I can honestly say my overnight stay at the gatwick travel lodge was 100 times better than this place. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and I definitely won't be going back.

Room Tip: I think we had room 7 - I would definitely not recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank avas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau La Chaire, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am obviously disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at the Chateau especially since the 'Quidsin' overnight deal that you had taken was an absolute bargain at less than 50% of the normal price.

Part of the deal was 'BEST AVAILABLE ROOM ON THE DAY OF ARRIVAL' as stated in the offer terms so I am not sure why you would you would now write adverse comments about it. Room 7 bedroom and bathroom is completely refurbished and is like new. It has its own outside deck area which is surrounded by trees therefore leaves are inevitable. The entire hotel is quite literally surrounded by woodland. We are so proud of our rooms that we detail them all individually with pictures and descriptions at our website.

Dinner is served from 7pm and everything is cooked to order. With nothing being processed or bought in ready prepared it takes time to cook for a full hotel from scratch. Therefore rather than leaving diners waiting at the table we stagger the arrival time to the restaurant.


Reading through your comments and your comparative to a travelodge leads me to believe that the country house style of hotel is simply not to your taste. The vast majority of the hotel is newly refurbished to a high quality and our staff are one of the biggest assets judging by other reviews, so although there is always room for improvement I am confident that we have an excellent hotel with high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What Fantastic Hotel, Staff was very Friendly a real good laugh. Bedroom big plenty of room plus having a door on to the balcony table and 4 chairs plus 2 loungers with sun in the early evening, great to sit with the Pimms. Fresh milk and fresh Fruit every day. Breakfast was first class didn't need to eat the rest of the day, afternoon cream tea, The hotel was in a great location my early morning walk to Rozel bay to watch the sun rise fantastic place to take photographs. You could leave the car and get the bus at the bottom of the road very cheap to use. Will return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Great Location for getting around the Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have just returned from the most wonderful two-week holiday at the Chateau La Chaire made all the more enjoyable by the entire staff. This was our fifth visit to the Island but our first to the hotel who arranged the flights and car hire which took the pressure off us having to research them. The hotel is in a peaceful, relaxing location away from the hustle and bustle and benefits from a wonderful terrace with a gentle breeze just right to sit in and enjoy a jug of Pimms or a traditional afternoon tea! On arrival you are welcomed with a drink of port or sherry whilst you are checked in. The hotel is a beautiful old chateau with many original features. Our room was a complete delight and had everything for a comfortable and relaxing stay including our own private terrace complete with sun beds, patio table and chairs and umbrella. Individually furnished, it had a jacuzzi bath plus shower, soft bath robes, slippers and luxury Elemis toiletries. There was also a hairdryer, trouser press, tv/dvd, radio, alarm and telephone. There was an honesty bar with complimentary mineral water, a beverage tray with daily fresh milk and fresh fruit. There was even fresh flowers in the room! There should be a special mention about the chefs.The food, breakfast and dinner, was to die for, such a wonderful infusion of tastes and textures beautifully cooked and presented. All the staff, from management, reception staff, bar staff waitresses and not forgetting the cleaning staff were a complete delight! They gave a five star service and above. Nothing was too much trouble and they quickly picked up on peoples preferences and accommodating them thus providing a friendly and efficient service and a welcoming and relaxing ambience. N.B - as there are no lifts and rooms on the top floor may not be suitable for those with mobility problems. Also there is a small car park next to the hotel which has enough space for about three cars. However, the overflow car park is lower down. The hotel staff are happy to help with any luggage, so drive up to the upper car park and drop off your luggage rather than lugging them up flights of steps to the hotel as my husband did!!
We are looking forward to our return visit and would Highly Recommend Chateau La Chaire for a relaxing, peaceful holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the front are probably the best but all are equally delightful. Do go to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepymummy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau La Chaire, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent holiday at Chateau la Chaire. I am so glad that you found all of our facilities and services to your liking. All the team at the Chateau try hard to ensure our hotel is the best it can be and we enjoy reading the positive comments after all the hard work.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel (1st was ten years ago). The hotel arranged flights and hire car, making our life ridiculously easy.Tasteful refurbishment has taken place and the welcome and service by all staff was friendly and efficient, helpful, yet low key. Fresh milk was provided for coffee and tea in the room each day, the cream teas each afternoon were to die for. The room had everything we needed to make our stay a comfortable, relaxing escape. The food (breakfast and dinner) was not over-fussy and was extremely well cooked and presented. The choice was good, with a changing menu each day. We certainly aim to return, preferably before another ten years has passed.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website, as each room has its own page
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the hotel and our fifth in all to Jersey.

The hotel has undergone a tasteful refurbishment of the ground floor public rooms since our last visit.

As always, the service is unfailingly polite, the ambiance just right and the food beautifully cooked and presented. My wife eats little meat and no fish and has found the choice of vegetarian-based dishes limited in the past. This time, however, she had a much wider choice and enjoyed her meals on each of the four nights.

Afternoon tea on the terrace is a bit of a hotel tradition and we had perfect weather to enjoy.

We will be back for visit number five next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to CLC for Sunday lunch for several years when on holiday. What can we say? Such peaceful setting and what a place to have a delightful relaxed lunch. Good service, good food and good company! And all for an unbeatable price. Check it out! Excellent! We go twice whilst on holiday! Keep up the good work! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cufflinkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martin
3.8 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
832 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,945 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,005 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
759 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Chaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Chaire

Property: Chateau La Chaire
Address: La Vallee de Rozel, St. Martin JE3 6AJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau La Chaire 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 1800’s as a gracious private home, nestled against the cliffs of the wonderful wooded valley of Rozel, the Chateau La Chaire Hotel is now recognised by the major guides as one of the finest small luxury hotels in the British Isles.The hotel offers a range of stylish accommodation, including a spectacular split level suite and many rooms with feature beds such as four posters, private balconies and ensuite spa bathrooms. Luxury Elemis toiletries and soft towelling robes are provided in all rooms together with a host of other extras you would only find in a first class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau La Chaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Chaire Hotel St. Martin
Chateau La Chaire St Helier
Chateau La Chaire St. Martin, Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing