We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I've had in a long time!”
Review of Aromas

Aromas
Ranked #2 of 225 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in a long time!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Although we hadn't booked in advance and it was an extremely busy Friday night, Carolyn went out of her way to find us a table - and boy, weren't we pleased she did!
Service was first class but not in any way pushy, despite the table being needed 90 minutes after we had walked in. The food was stunning - full of flavours which complemented each other and beautifully cooked and presented.
The best in St Helier!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    157
    35
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

food was super staff super prob the best meal we have had anywhere

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank happynannyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An great place to dine”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This little restaurant hides in plain sight in one of the St. Helier's streets. Very nice and welcoming ladies with a food that left us wanting more. It was pretty busy for a week night but everything went smooth and we were very happy. We will definitely go back when we are next in Jersey...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James Russel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could be difficult to find a better restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Visited this restaurant on the 23rd of September with my wife after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed - it was an excellent experience from start to finish and certainly one of the best meals we have had during a number of visits to this island, which is a bit of a gourmet's paradise! The cost was reasonable for the superb quality of the food provided and proves that you don't have to visit other more high-profile (and often considerably more expensive) restaurants to enjoy really good quality food, well prepared and nicely presented. The restaurant is relatively small and cosy with a very pleasant atmosphere and all of the staff (particularly Catherine from County Cork) were most welcoming and friendly. It will definitely be on the top of our list to visit (probably more than once!) on our next trip to Jersey.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scianoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What a great little find...will definitely return”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I came across this restaurant by reading the reviews here on tripadvisor. I am Jersey born and have been living in Dublin for the past 11 years, so had not dined at Aromas before. To be honest, I had not heard of it either, but thats probably due to my abscence from the island. Turned up at about 6pm and was shown to table (walk in). Nice space, cosy nothing fancy but a nice ambience. Was offered both early bird and a la carte. Went for early bird which was great value at £13.50 2 course and £16.00 for 3. Started with crispy duck roll and plum sauce. Nice portion, a little more duck would have been nice. Main was pork in white wine and mushroom sauce, chunky chips to die for and a small selection of veg which was sufficient for me. Tiramisu with black cherries for dessert. One thing I did observe was how well the 2 front of house staff managed the room. Both were attentative, on the ball, observed empty wine glasses that needed topping up, plates needing clearing etc...it is so refreshing to see 2 people getting it so right when you can find the complete opposite in some restaurants with more staff. Please do not be put off by the interior, its not chic and its not trying to be. But what it is is excellent value for money, great food and service to boot. Keep up the good work and well done to all involved at Aromas. Look forward to a return visit

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flynn1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aromas also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Aromas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing