We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Radisson - but better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Radisson Blu at The Waterfront in St. Helier Jersey over the August bank holiday weekend. The hotel is well located between the beach (which is very tidal), the marina (nice to look out onto at Breakfast) and town (7 minutes). The car park is just about big enough - allowing for a small amount of illegal parking!

A little concerned on arrival that there was a fun fair next door but good soundproofing in the rooms and sensible closing times meant no issues. In fact it turned out to be a food and music festival that made for some interesting evenings.

We booked a Business Class room, which was on the 4th floor and faced the beach. The room was very spacious and typical of the Radisson Blu 'brand'. The room had all you could ask for including a good size bathroom with bath / shower (with movable shower head), Flat Screen TV (with Sky Sports), air con, safe, iron / ironing board, trouser press, fridge, etc. Hanging space is limited but adequate and draws of a good size. Usual tea and coffee plus a Nespresso. The bed was a good size and comfy but pillows far too soft (for me).

Breakfast was as good as I've had anywhere in this sort of hotel - the choice is all you would expect plus a few extras (like smoke salmon). Had eggs cooked to order each day and once I'd sorted the timing out you could be waiting patiently for your toast (usual hotel toasters were the bread requires three trips through the machine to get any colour) whilst they were being cooked and all would come together quite nicely!!

All of the staff we made contact with were first class and a special mention for Rosie (Trainee) for sorting us out on arrival and wit a couple of questions thereafter.

The Spa was very good with treatment prices similar to that paid at home.
The Martello bar was reasonably priced but not my thing and for me lacked any real atmosphere - even when they had music (which was of a pretty good standard).

So for me - It's a Radisson (those of you who have used them in other places will know what to expect from a big corporate) but in my view better, in as much as it recognises that it is not just a business hotel but a holiday hotel as well. I'd recommend and I'd stay there again.

NB: Didn't eat in the restaurant of an evening as there are so many great places to eat across the island. However we did talk to a few people that had and they said it was very good. Two of the best places we ate at were Banjo and Merchant House - see reviews.

As for places to visit on Island:

- Durrell's
- War Tunnels
- Beach for children (St Brelade)
- Beach for space (Gorey/Grouville)

I know the management read the reviews so a couple of things for them - Depending on settings the A/C unit / ventilation can be noisy - it was like sleeping in a wind tunnel on a couple of nights, but equally fine on others. The TV's are not configured correctly for wide screen viewing so large elements of data / text get lost.

Room Tip: High Floor Marina or Beach View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello and thank you for commenting. We're so glad that you were satisfied with our products and services during your stay and that our complimentary car parking facilities were convenient for you. We'll pass on your positive words to our staff.
Fantasic that you had the chance to explore some of island's best attractions and sample some of our finest restaurants too. There is so much to see and do in Jersey!
We'll follow up your comments about our A/C and the Televisions with our maintenance team who will address this immediately.
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to your next visit! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is one of the best relaxing weeks my wife and I have had in several years. This hotel is well situated overlooking the marina, and as other guests have mentioned it is well worth the extra to book business class with a view of the bay. I can't think of a single downside to our stay. Of particular note is the friendliness of all the staff, and the quality of food was of excellent. If you go to Jersey stay at the Radisson.

Room Tip: Sea view - definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blertygerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi and thanks for sharing your positive feed. We're delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing break and that our staff looked after you so well. We'll pass on your positive comments and appreciate your ringing endorsement! :) We hope you had a chance to take a stroll along St Aubins Bay and the marina too. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Room excellent, best roast beef 'Sunday lunch' ever! Staff very helpful, very clean. Bed very comfortable, Would happily go again. The view of the castle and the bay is stunning. Close to entertainment and town centre

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello and thanks for your glowing review! We're delighted that you were satisfied with everything and we do agree that St Aubins Bay is stunning and we hope you had a chance to take a dip in the ocean. We look forward to your next stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

my wife and i spent a week here for our usual pilgrimage to jersey for our holiday.
having read some other tripadvisor reports i was a bit dubious if i had done the right thing, and for the first time stayed in a different hotel from the previous six times we had spent our holiday in st hellier.
on arrival ( we were far to early to get into our room which i gathered ) the receptionist was a delight to speak to and we were informed of the situation which i accepted without fuss , the only thing i could say was the the girl said she would phone when our room was available but hadnt phoned when we returned about two oclock, ok, perhaps the room had just come available, however the staff at reception were always very helpfull and polite as were all the staff in the dinning area , bar and the room attendants,and always with a smile, very pleasant to see.
the hotel is expensive but i expected that from a radisson and had paid a little extra for our room which was spotless and had a great view of st aubins bay ,we had courtesy paper in the morning, fridge , safe, slippers and housecoats, with the bed being turned down for us in the evening. the room was a treat.
the dinning area is very spacious and can get very busy,so service can get a bit slow, however, there is two menus to choose from , a la carte and the fixed menu, but neither of them changed the week we were there, the meals were very good, but a change is even better and even though we were half board we did eat out on one occasion. there is a good wine list but its expensive as you would expect, from £17.50 for a bottle of house rose to £22.50 for a bottle of what could be bought round the corner for about £7 or £8 , but, it was holiday time, and the fridge did come in handy. the bar prices reflect the fact that it is a radisson hotel.
breakfast is a buffet and most of what anyone wants to eat is available , although you will have to ask for your egg fried if thats what you want, but no complaints from me , well, it did cool down quite quick, but, it was enjoyed.
the bar area is kept clean even though meals are served there so the staff can be kept going , there isnt much entertainment , but there was a singer and guitarist a couple of evenings, the only other thing is people watching......which can be ......emmmm.....interesting, no more to be said there.
one last thing, when you pay your bill at the end of your stay, just check to see if its correct, i paid mine on friday evening after dinner and found i had been charged for it, the error was corrected that night, but, on check out in the morning it was still there and i had been informed that the night staff would make sure it was taken off once again i had to remind them i was half board and the only thing you have to pay for from a la carte is the extra portions and we didnt have any, but then again there was no extra portions costing over £40.i wouldnt recommend the half board, there are plenty places to eat round about. but i would still have a dinner or two.
however, my wife and i had an excellent stay once again in st hellier and in particular this hotel , mistakes can be made and i have no serious complaints whatever, great hotel, great staff and a great stay.
yes, we will be back.
if the manager reads this, thank you, i have already told my friends and we will be back next year

Room Tip: business class and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello and thanks for taking the time to share your positive comments. We're so glad we're a site of pilgrimage on your Holiday! ;) It sounds like we were able to treat you during your stay which is always our aim and we hope you had a good chance to explore our beautiful island.
We do apologise for our oversight in calculating your bill but we're pleased that the problem was resolved. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to your next visit. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location for Jersey - what you want from a generic hotel like this, business suites all have view of the castle, we would stay there again. Perfect for walking into st helier and the beach. Also great for Elizabeth castle. The food in restaurant wasn't amazing, but breakfast buffet was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi, thanks for taking the time. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your views of the castle. Hope you found time to visit Elizabeth Castle while walking along St Aubins Bay - fascinating place! We look forward to your next stay with us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first time in jersey and we booked a package with british airways which included 5 nights at the Radisson blu and all i can say is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location.
We had a sea-view room overlooking. The marina which was very nice clean and the most comfortable beds you could imagine.
The food in the hotel is excellent from breakfast which is a magnificent everything you could want buffet to the dinner which was outstanding as i can only imagine has been cooked by only the best chef.
The reception has an enormous fish tank which is a beautiful focal point which separates the reception from the bar area.
Without going into detail. My opinion of this hotel is excellent and we will be coming back.
The only small downside is that there are no balconies at all which would have made so much difference especially on the sea view side.
But overall excellent hotel nice staff good location good food very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi and thanks for sharing. Firstly, many happy returns to your wife! :) We are very lucky with our location on the waterfront and we're so pleased you enjoyed your views over Elizabeth marina and St Aubins Bay. We'll pass on your glowing review to our Executive Chef Vincent Duffy and his kitchen team who'll be delighted with your comments! IT sounds like you had a relaxing break and we hope you ofound time to explore the island and that your wife enjoyed every minute of her birthday. We're looking forward to your next visit! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Radisson Blu at The Waterfront, Jersey is in an excellent location with a large car park. It is perfectly located for a walk around the harbour early evening or a walk on the beach early morning and is an easy walk into town.

The room was very spacious and the high ceilings made it feel even more so. Although large, the room does not contain any draws at all, and has a very small hanging area. Anything that is not hung up must be placed on a couple of shelves within the wardrobe. The décor is extremely plain, a little pattern/colour introduced on cushions or curtain trim would have given a warmer feel. However the bed and the pillows are very comfortable and that is the main thing.

The bathroom was good size and very clean, the real bonus being a heated towel rail. Normally hotels request you to reuse your towels but there is no way of drying them, so the heated rail was good. Towels were large and decent thickness. The room had a good view over the harbour and out to the castle. Just wish it had a balcony.

Although we did not include breakfast with our booking we requested it at check in for the three days which was fine but proved to be a problem. Each day when we arrived for breakfast this seemed to cause total confusion with the breakfast staff and hotel reception staff were needed each day to clarify the arrangement/rate. Eggs to order requests, i.e. poached, fried etc. also proved difficult, although they did arrive, we wondered if they would. The breakfast was a standard buffet but of good quality food. An attention to detail that we noticed was that the chef had put bread in the base of the buffet containers to absorb any grease.

The Martello bar was very well run and to our surprise provided live music on Friday and Saturday evening. On Friday evening free snacks (Olives, stuffed peppers, breaded mushrooms, and pretzels) were provided, this coupled with male and female vocalist, and a great view, made for a very pleasant evening. Prices in the bar were reasonable for a hotel for both food and drink.

Overall this is a very good hotel and made for a comfortable stay. If we returned to Jersey we would choose the Radisson Blu again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPoloUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi there, thank you for sharing your feedback. All our bedrooms are purpose-built and spacious and we do have various types of rooms of varying colours and designs. We're delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable sleep in our beds! We're glad the views were to your liking and that you had fun in our Martello Bar on the weekends with live music and summer snacks. We're very sorry for the confusion over your breakfast, we can only apologise for this misunderstanding and thank you for directing it to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager who will address this. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay overall, however,and we do look forward to your next stay! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey

Address: Rue de l'Etau, St. Helier JE2 3WF (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $111 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish captivating views at this waterfront hotel in Jersey. Explore unspoilt beaches, magnificent cliffs and picturesque landscapes from this attractive Channel Islands locale. Located directly on the bustling waterfront promenade, this hotel offers Jersey visitors premium accommodation. Enjoy amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet as well as the convenience of an in-house health club. Savour a meal alfresco at the Waterfront Restaurant and Terrace, and take advantage of easy access to nearby attractions like Elizabeth Castle. To top it off, this venue's five fully equipped meeting rooms make it the perfect place for mixing business with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey Hotel St. Helier
St Helier Radisson
Radisson St. Helier
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing