We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SACO Jersey - Merlin House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a party of 4 we hired 2 apartments and found them to be extremely well equipped, conveniently located, and surprisingly spacious. We had 2 rooms at the back so they were quiet although a little dark in one of the rooms. The staff were very helpful and made an excellent first impression. If you want sizable accommodation within a couple of minutes walk of St Helier and with the ability to cater for yourself then I would recommend Merlin House.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshire_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

I could not fault the Apartment itself. It was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Both the Manager and her assistant were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The downside of the location being so close to bars, restaurants and other facilities, was the noise. The excellent weather meant the nights were warm, but sleeping with the windows open was not an option because the noise of both cars and passing people. Even with the windows closed, it was still noisy.

I'd stay here again, but I think I'd request an apartment facing away from the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williams_tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a great holiday in Jersey, the icing on the cake, our stay at Merlin House in St Helier. A lovely well appointed apartment in a fantastic location, quality furnishing throughout, with attention to detail. Everything we could possibly need to compliment our stay. Best of all - the exceptional service from SACO from time of booking, prior to our arrival, during our stay and before we sadly departed, we felt really looked after. A great holiday experience! Special thanks to Fanny for her kind assistance prior to our stay and particular thanks to Amanda, a very special host who impressed our varied travel group of mature couple, late 20s sibling, and 82yrs young Mum! We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerryFifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have stayed at SACO Jersey - Merlin House for about 10 weeks and really liked my stay over there. The apartment was nice and I had more than enough space. Proper shower, large and perfectly equiped kitchen and a good bed.

SACO Jersey is not the most luxourious apartment but the staff does make the difference. I had some last minute requests and they managed to arrange everything!

All in all I really liked my stay and if you consider staying in St. Helier for a longer period of time I can certainly recommend SACO Jersey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were three and had an apartment on the first floor. The rooms were spacious, the welcome pack complete. There is a Spar and a Checkers right on the corner of the street. Shopping streets are at a 5 min. walk, as is the harbour. You can park your car in a garage 200m up the street. So far the good news.
Now the less good. Merlin House is just one street away from the outgoing neighbourhood with restaurants and bars. If you're planning to go out, that's great. When you have an apartment on the first floor, right above the entrance, and want to have a good sleep, it's a problem. Shouting, arguing, singing, people throwing up, a concert of empty bottles thrown in containers at 7am... except for the bottles concert, we had it all, right under our window. So be sure to ask for a room as high as possible, and you'll have a perfect stay.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanda c, Manager at SACO Jersey - Merlin House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Many thanks for you feedback, both good and less good; we very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us of your experiences at SACO Jersey.
One of the key benefits of Merlin House is the central St Helier location and excellent access to local amenities as you have appreciated in your comments. We regret the unfortunate experience you have reported with respect to the downside of being in a central location, namely that there can be excessive noise late at night over the weekends. We have therefore contacted the St Helier authorities and requested that additional police presence be provided in our local area at appropriate times to try to reduce this disruption: they have immediately promised to add our location onto their regular beat and have informed us that this problem has also been reported by other hospitality outlets in the town centre and they are actively planning longer term more holistic solutions.

I hope that this will not prevent you from returning to Merlin House and look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment for a weekend visit to Jersey. As we arrived late, the reception was not staffed, and we followed the straightforward instructions emailed to us on how to access the building and, once inside, on how to find our apartment details and the key.
The apartment was very spacious - both the living room and bedroom were a good size and with large windows facing onto the street at the front. There was ample storage and hanging space for clothes and for suitcases. The beds were comfortable, and made up with white duvets and extra pillows.
The apartment also had a full sized kitchen, which was very well equipped and stocked with a useful welcome pack for breakfast.
The apartment was not air conditioned, but the living room and bedroom both had effective ceiling fans.
The shower room had a large shower unit, l'Occitane toiletries provided and had a large supply of wonderfully thick and fluffy white towels.
The only drawback with the location was a lot of noise from outside between 2am and 3:30am on the Saturday night/Sunday morning as a large number of drunken/drugged up clubbers made their way past, arguing and swearing, etc. Not the apartment building's fault of course, but it meant sleep was not possible during this time. If you are staying on a week-night, it might be perfectly quiet outside all night.
Overall, the apartment was very good value compared to a hotel room, with high standards and friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We decided to book an apartment as opposed to staying in a hotel and being confined to one room, and we found SACO and booked directly with them which was easy enough. We were greeted by Amanda who was superb and we couldn't fault her in any way at all, a consumate professional!! The apartment itself was clean and modern, the lounge was a tad sparse, it had all the mod cons but no iPod stereo but that was no show stopper we still enjoyed the facilities. There was a car park nearby and access by foot to town was easy. The welcome pack we thought was over priced for what it was and it wasn't explained on the website what was included in it, and the Wifi was sketchy but when it did work it was good after a phone call to the broadband supplier. Other than that it was all good and we'll stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.2 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,594 reviews
1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
798 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Jersey - Merlin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Jersey - Merlin House

Address: Merlin House Pier Road, St. Helier JE2 3WR
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in St. Helier
Price Range: $108 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Jersey - Merlin House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to the Marinas waterfront and town centre, this is an exclusive collection of studios, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments. The apartments each have spacious living room and dining area, a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and a large double bedroom. The penthouse apartment has two shower rooms. Reception is by arrangement. Saco operates a no smoking policy within this building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your SACO Jersey - Merlin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SACO Jersey - Merlin House St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing