We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A JEWEL IN JERSEYS CROWN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
tynemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A JEWEL IN JERSEYS CROWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Jersey so chose The Norfolk based on Tripadvisor reviews.
On arrival reception staff were very friendly and helpful and continued to be so throughout our stay. Every member of staff at this hotel had a top class approach to customer care and were the friendliest we have encountered for a long time.
The hotel was spotless clean throughout and our top floor room was spacious,clean and well decorated.We had daily maid service regular towel change flat screen TV, tea & coffee facilities and plenty of storage space.
The location is great-a few minutes walk into town for bars and restaurants and shopping and close to Howard Davis Park.
Yes the majority of guests were elderly but the reference to the film "Cocoon" by a couple of reviewers is totally unfair. It is an insult to the guests and potentially damaging to the owners and staff who work extremely hard to ensure you enjoy your stay. Please dont be put off by their reviews.
We are fortunate to be able to take lots of holidays and i can assure you if you want a hotel in a good location that is spotless clean with friendly staff this is for you.
We were B&B and the food and service we had in the dinning room was very good. We were always served quickly and with a smile.
For eating out the Park House Thai cafe next door is great and the Caffe Ristorante Italia in the Colomborie precinct just down the road is great.
We used the Hotel bar and found the service great. Guisepe was very helpful and made a special cocktail for my wife when she didnt know which to pick. The prices were very reasonable but for those who want a change their are plenty of bars and hotels nearby.
The hotel has entertainment on Tues,Fri,& Sun. Mike Scott on Fri was a good entertainer.For those who want more shows the Merton is only a 10min walk away and has shows everynight.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and everyone we spoke to at the hotel said the same-both young and old!
This Hotel has a lot of repeat business because of the top class friendly service,cleanliness & location and NOT because of the price as one reviewer suggested.
Thanks to everyone at the Norfolk for a great holiday ( Jim & Marlene 2nd-9th July ).

Room Tip: Top Floor-pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TynemouthSafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    144
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
242
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just returned home after a weeks holiday, staying at the Norfolk hotel. I cannot understand the recent reviews on this hotel. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in, & I have stayed in many so called 5* hotels, where the staff at the Norfolk could teach them a thing or two, about customer service & cleanliness. Yes, there was a majority of senior citizens staying there, but with the quality of service, & customer care that it delivers, I'm not surprised many people return time & again. I would like to thank everyone of the staff, from the reception, to the cleaning ladies, for a lovely holiday. Mrs. Pat bridges. 9 th July 2013

Room Tip: Was advised by trip advisor to request top floor room, good advice, room very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trishbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel with my wife for a week found the hotel like the film cocoon and we were the only people in or 30s.We didn't really look this hotel up, it was just chosen due to its location so is our own fault really so please read this if your under 60.

THe rooms reminded me of an old people's home so dated like stepping into a time warp , the smell in the room was damp we had to buy an air fresher and even then was strong , if you do go to this hotel get a top floor room or you will be sorry the old people are sooooo loud maybe due to their hearing aids also walls are like paper so light sleepers no sleep for you.
We had to ask to get moved due to the noise and the manager moved us to top floor so much better,

The bar well same as the room really , but this time you get a bar man that insults your wife yes I did just say that we asked for a cocktail list he gave us a big book told her to choose one for the next night so she did next night we went there stood at the bar beside an older gentleman the bar man then asked what we wanted the wife said a jersey cocktail thinking we might get it , so wrong instead he said "not now!" and turned and spoke to the other gentleman stating jersey cocktail like we were some kind of little kids mind you we were a lot younger but still , you are not meant to be just treated like that by a bar man......

So to round up if you're younger go somewhere else or don't and expect the above .

Room Tip: Book top floor a lot quieter , book somewhere else if under 60
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fun154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor after sorting on price, this one was the cheapest, so I didn't turn up with massive expectations, so I wasn't disappointed at all. Please don't get me wrong here, I was after a bed, a bathroom and a TV, all of which were included, big room as well so no complaints. But, if you are after a hotel experience as part of your trip, this place is not an option. Breakfast starts at 8.30am and the restaurant area was heaving by about 8.35am and resembled the recreation area in the movie 'Cocoon', I guess the prices are bound to attract people on a fixed budget, which is fair enough, but with a fixed menu which would appear to repeat week after week and a choice of one meal per evening at a price of £12.50 per head, it felt more like a residential retirement home than a hotel.
That said, the Mancunian/Portuguese girl on reception was a joy and the restaurant manager couldn't have been more helpful. Turns out if I'd have wanted breakfast earlier, before the 8.30 start, I just had to ask and he would have sorted it for me. So despite my unflattering comments, it's a 2 Star budget hotel, probably no better or worse than many others, but it is right in the middle of town, so I could walk everywhere and the staff were fantastic!

Room Tip: Ground floor room essential, otherwise big demand for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dentheprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent, clean and comfortable 2 star hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant staff also very friendly and efficient, but limited time means that meals are rushed affairs. Sweets wonderful.
Hotel is convenient for bus tours and walk into town. Very close to Howard Davies Park for gardens and occasional music. Hotel entertainment in June limited, but bar and hotel café are friendly meeting places.
Guests, including ourselves are mainly older, mature people which suits us but perhaps not younger couples.
We have been several times now and will probably be back.
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AberdeenMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A well placed hotel. Just a short walk to centre of town, bus station,Howard Davis Park, restaurants and bars. Staff were excellent, very polite and helpful. Some of the reception staff were not fluent in English but always tried to help or asked other people to deal with our queries. Breakfast/waiting staff were very polite friendly and professional. Rooms were very clean with tea and coffee facilities.No biscuits supplied. Bathrooms were clean with plenty of hot water available. No toiletries provided but you could request these from reception. Room had TV and very comfortable beds. Pool available but did not get time to use it and it is very overlooked but looked clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Been here twice and would recommend it to anyone staying in Jersey for a long weekend or longer. Good value for the price, great location, close to the city centre + beach. Staff is very friendly and helpful, always smiling and they are funny, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Szidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Hotel
Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St. Helier JE2 4QA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing