We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have just returned after a week at the Norfolk Hotel. From arrival to leaving we were treated like 5* guest. Your cases were brought up to you room after you had booked in @ receiption. The room was very clean and tidy. You had tea/coffee making items which were topped up daily. The towels in the bathroom were also changed daily.
The food again was like 5* treatment. Both at breakfast and evening dinner the safe were brilliant and would help in anyway required (silver service). It paid to go half board due to the variety of the food which was serviced and when you priced up what you would be paying in town for a 4 course evening meal we couldn't come close.
The hotel is only about 5 to 10 mins walk in to town and about 10 to 15 mins to the beach. On some of the the bus routes they even stop right outside the front door(ie the 23 bus route).
We had evening entertaiment in the bar on 4nights in the bar or there was other rooms you could sit at if you did not wish to be there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorilla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    144
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
242
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mabou, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I enjoyed my three nights very much. Welcoming, great breakfast, good location, great place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Norfolk is ideally situated, a five minute walk from the High Street. The staff was really polite and pleasant. I really appreciated they accepted to postpone my stay by 24 hours as my ferry was cancelled. The man in charge of the dining room speaks English, French, and Portuguese, is really friendly and professional. My room was plain (no painting or decoration of any sort) and I had a view on the car park, but with a monument in the distance. It was clean, with perfectly clean sheets and towels. A real effort has been made in the decoration of the common parts of the hotel. I enjoyed my stay there and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the norfolk hotel and found the staff very friendly and helpful.The rooms were very clean and towels were changed everyday. I would recommend this hotel very much.
MRS C Walters and Mrs M Jones.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

How anyone can find fault with this hotel is hard to understand. It far exceeds the 2* rating given.I have travelled to alot of places and in most found one or two staff who are happy, welcoming and go that extra mile to make the stay enjoyable. However in the Norfolk i did not encounter one member of staff who was not happy, thoughtful, helpful and respectful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, ok there was not a view from the window but so what ,i did not go away to stand looking out of a window. The breakfast consisted of cereal followed by full english , toast, tea or coffee.At breakfast you could book to have evening meal, go for it, a three course menu with a selection of three choices per course followed by tea or coffee. All for £10. All the food was well cooked ,plentiful and served by well mannered waiters.Situation of hotel, near the Howard park,very nice tea room there, close to town and shops. Value for money, a big YES.

Room Tip: rooms appeared very similar so difficult to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank taisonSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel as mentioned by others is a Little dated but everything extremely clean and all staff are Very friendly . If you want the Ritz luxury then pay for it !, but for what we paid this place was perfect , clean friendly nice place to stay .
Would return no problem , very good location too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a warm welcome at the hotel - and throughout our four night stay the staff did all they could to make our holiday enjoyable. Everything was spotlessly clean and well cared for. The bathroom and shower facilities were a little dated, but everything was in good working order and there was always plenty of hot water. We would certainly stay at the Norfolk again if we returned to Jersey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Norfolk Hotel
Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St. Helier JE2 4QA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing