We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, friendly helpful staff”
Review of The Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I spent a week over Easter at the Norfolk.
The staff were friendly, helpful and very courteous. Joseph, Manuel and Ricardo in the restaurant are real stars; nothing is too much trouble for them.
The food was very good, with enough choice to keep most people happy. It was served quickly and with deference to your speed of eating, never too hurried or too slow.
The room was spotless, (and larger than expected) the bathroom in the same was excellent with a bath and shower, a plentiful supply of constant hot water and it was cleaned to a high standard everyday by the Chambermaids. The whole Hotel was clean and tidy at all times.
The desk staff and receptionists were friendly, helpful and informative. You can’t ask for more!
As for location, it’s close to all amenities such as shops and restaurants and is also within easy walking distance of the Marina and beach. Particularly handy is the proximity of the local bus stops, you can find a bus to just about anywhere on the island within a few minutes walk.
The only caveat I would add is that the hotel didn’t seem have many children staying, but as a middle aged couple my wife and I were quite grateful for that. We left our kids and grandchildren at home and it was quite relaxing to mix in mainly adult company for a change. I think the Norfolk is perhaps more suited to "older" couples rather than those with young families.
If the Norfolk is an example of a 2 star Hotel then the bar must be set very high on Jersey. We’ve stayed in 4 star Hotels that could learn much from the Norfolk.
I can’t praise the hotel highly enough. It was our first visit to Jersey and the hotel contributed in a huge way to the enjoyment of our holiday.
We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simonparkinson586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 516 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

My partner & I spent Easter at the Norfolk hotel. We found it brilliant value for money. Clean, spacious room, walking distance to restaurants, shops and sea front. The staff were great, so friendly. The Italian manager was ever so helpful and has a good sense of humour. Joseph the Portuguese waiter is lovely. Everyone made us feel so welcome, there is definitely the personal touch. Breakfast was excellent.
We booked this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. Good advice. Anyone considering booking this hotel must remember that it is only 2 star and very reasonably priced. We think it is one of the best for its class and will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Schnuckiputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

the service was excellent from the waiting staff.
thhe food was very bland though.
the rooms were a good size and clean but a very hard matress.
the staff was very freindly, all but one who very rude to me in front of the other diners when he was speaking on the micophone to make an anouncement. which was uncalled for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank violettas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

we had 4 nights at this hotel which is in the very centre of town.
we were greeted by the most friendly of staff we have ever come across and it was a pleasure to stay here. we have been travelling for the past 7 weeks around the world originating from Australia. the staff are also very funny. the food was excellent and we shall be sorry to move on as we feel like we are part of the hotels extended family. we would definately stay again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gingernut047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hotel was very welcoming. The food was excellent. Close to many lovely shops and souvenirs of Jersey. The staff would do anything to be of help. Would recommend Jersey and the Hotel to anyone.

Mrs Bedwell from Bow in East London.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobcasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Very pleasant friendly hotel in quiet location very close to the beautiful Howard Davis Park, St. Helier town centre and the sandy bays of St. Clement and St. Aubin. Staff where all very friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms where comfortable and clean as was the bed. There is an excellent tea garden and outdoor pool, though it was too cold to take a dip in early April.
The breakfast was very generous, consisting of a choise of cereals and fruit juice followed by full English breakfast, toast and tea or coffee. If you are only B&B you can order a 3 course evening meal at a cost of £10 per person which is served between 18.30 and 19.30. Evening meals are beautifully cooked and served, though the portions are very generous so we opted to go out for a main meal earlier in the day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gerryatric10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Based conveniently in La Comomberie, 10 mins walk from the town centre.
Friendly staff, good food, and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longbranch262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St. Helier
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St. Helier
1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St. Helier
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#13 of 30 in St. Helier
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St. Helier
2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 30 in St. Helier
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Hotel

Address: 60-61 La Colomberie, St. Helier JE2 4QA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $86 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from the beautiful Howard Davis Park, the Norfolk Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the island of Jersey. The hotel is located in the Island's capital St. Helier making it convenient for shopping yet is still only a few minutes walk from the sandy beach at Havre des Pas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing